MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-06-08, 11:43
candive candive is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 250
Thanks: 9
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Windows 98 se

Windows 98se corrupted by Viruses & Spyware.
One of a kind data must be saved.
USB & CD Burner not recognized.

XP upgrade not working.
Knoppix live not working.
Ubuntu live not working.
ERD Commander not working.
Ultimate boot disk not working.

I am not very familiar with win 98.
Is there a way to reinstall windows 98se without losing data???
I will try again to download drivers for this pc.

Thanks.
__________________
Linux the Freedom to Choose
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 02-06-08, 12:14
DavidGP's Avatar
DavidGP DavidGP is offline
MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 38,263
Thanks: 2,628
Thanked 2,934 Times in 2,677 Posts
Default Re: Windows 98 se

Hi

Can you attach this HD to another PC? then access to see if you can recover the data, this way you could also use data recovery software ( Recuva is one )

Or a dirty/repair install can be done on Win98 ( BUT no repair install can guarentee that your data will be safe or saved )

Boot from Win98SE CD ( needs to be full CD not an upgrade one )
Select Start PC with CD ROM Support
Change to Optical Drive A:\>D: [Enter] where D: is optical drive ( maybe another drive like E: if multiples are installed )
Change to Win98 directory (win9x for ME) D:\>CD\WIN98 [Enter]
Run Setup D:\WIN98>setup [Enter]

Do not run let the CD Automatic go into install for Win98, you need to navigate to the directory and the setup file on the CD manually as above.
__________________
Microsoft® MVP - Windows Expert ~ Consumer


Support Majorgeeks on Facebook:

Majorgeeks Shop
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-08, 12:16
Yargwel's Avatar
Yargwel Yargwel is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pompey, UK
Posts: 1,684
Thanks: 6
Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
Default Re: Windows 98 se

Try booting to the command prompt (tap the F8 key as the PC boots pick Command Prompt only from the menu. Then type Scanreg /restore (there is a space between the g and the / ). Then pick a date prior to your problems starting (hopefully).
__________________
What if there were no hypothetical questions?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-07-08, 09:16
candive candive is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 250
Thanks: 9
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Windows 98 se

Thanks for the help!
Much appreceiated! :D

Took HDD out of P2 put into P4.
Ran ERD Commander 2005.
Saved data to Flash Drive.

Reformat & Load XP Home.
__________________
Linux the Freedom to Choose
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-07-08, 09:23
candive candive is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 250
Thanks: 9
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Windows 98 se

Halo, Yargwel,

The hard drive was not accessable using Safe mode.
I have it fixed now.

Thank you
__________________
Linux the Freedom to Choose
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG\SYSTEM corrupt, recovery console won't recognize windows dep187 Software 33 11-07-13 09:58
DAMN, I gotta vent - UPGRADING FROM WINDOWS XP HOME TO WINDOWS XP PRO Hydragon Software 2 01-11-07 00:17
End of support for Windows 98, Windows Me, and Windows XP Service Pack 1 NICK ADSL UK Software 1 07-12-06 05:53
Windows XP Home Edition VS. Windows XP Professional (For Gamers) dart321 Software 3 02-04-05 09:00
is there a way to make windows ME call the autoexec.bat file before windows loads William Software 8 11-12-04 14:12


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02.


MajorGeeks.Com Home Page
| Admin Tools | All In One | Anti-Spyware | Anti-Virus | Appearance | Backup | Benchmarking | BIOS | Browsers | Covert Ops |
Data Recovery | Diagnostics | Drive Cleaners | Drive Utilities | Drivers | Driver Tools Ergonomics | Firewalls | Games | Game Tweaks | Graphics | Input Devices | Internet Tools | Macintosh | Mail Utilities | Memory | Messaging | Monitoring | Microsoft | Multimedia | Networking | Office Tools | Process Management | Processor | Registry | Security | System Info | Toys | Video | Miscellaneous
|
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger