MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-08, 13:19
MadameButterfly MadameButterfly is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default I can ping by IP but not computer name - Help!

I have just spent several days trying to find a solution to this problem, browsing through dozens of threads in this forum, and I'm at a loss.

I have three computers (let's call them laptop, server and desktop) that are connected through a router. They all run XP SP2.

Server and desktop connect to the router with regular network cables. Laptop is connected wirelessly.

File sharing works perfectly between server and desktop.

I can ping by IP between desktop and laptop, but not by name, and file and printer sharing does not work.

When I ping by name from desktop to laptop I get the following error message:

"The network path was not found"

When I ping by name from laptop to desktop I get the following error message:

"No network provider accepted the given path"

What really irks me is that everything worked perfectly a little while ago. Then I connected server to the network as well as doing some much needed Windows updating on laptop and desktop (I have scanned for viruses and malware and there is none), and all of a sudden desktop and laptop no longer communicate properly.

After I started having problems I tried Network Magic, and while that was installed everything worked perfectly. When I removed it the problems returned. I refuse to have a program like that doing something that should so easily be taken care of by Windows.

After Network Magic I tried to reinstall Windows on desktop. Problems remain.

I have ensured that all computers are on the same subnet mask. They are obviously all in the same workgroup. I have reset the TCP/IP stack on both laptop and desktop. I have made sure that all computers have their node set to 'Hybrid'. Had to run a registry fix that I found in these forums on all computers to set this right.

I'm able to "View workgroup computers" from desktop, but get the same 'Network path not found' error when I try to double-click on laptop from that screen.

When I click on "View workgroup computers" from laptop there's a long pause, and then this error message is displayed:

"Network is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have access permissions. The list of servers for this workgroup is not currently available"

Sorry for the information overload, but I'm just trying to anticipate questions I've seen in other threads.

Does anyone have any ideas what's going on here? I'm trying to avoid having to reinstall Windows on laptop, but I realize that I might have to bite the bullet on that one.

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 02-10-08, 00:56
pjknz's Avatar
pjknz pjknz is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Havelock North, New Zealand (thats down by Australia)
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I can ping by IP but not computer name - Help!

I've had a similar problem, but you can try the following...

On each computer in the \windows\i386 directory will be a hosts file.

This file is used for fixed IP address mapping, so if you have fixed IP address mapping set on your network, you can edit the hosts file on each PC / Laptop / Server to identify each network device. This way you can ping your machines by name.
The hosts file would look something like this....

192.168.0.100 Marvin #Janes Laptop
192.168.0.101 Zaphod #Desktop backup machine
192.168.0.102 Random #Mike's Laptop
192.168.0.110 Mostly-Harmless #DMZ machine

Remember each machine on your network needs the hosts file updated. So make one copy and put it on each machine.
Also this relies on Fixed IP addresses being used, so you need to set your router to fixed IP's, it's also handy to put the router, DNS, and any other network device in the file, so you don't have to remember the actual IP's.
Everything after a # is a comment so this helps you to identify machines.
Hope it helps
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-14-08, 09:58
MadameButterfly MadameButterfly is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I can ping by IP but not computer name - Help!

Interesting suggestion - thanks. I'll look into that.

I haven't had time to do anything about this for a while, but this weekend finally looks clear. I still have a nagging feeling I just have to do the reformat though...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-14-08, 11:27
Poltergiest's Avatar
Poltergiest Poltergiest is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I can ping by IP but not computer name - Help!

if you get radmin it will help you find and name everything that,the client is hooked up to.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-14-08, 17:43
LATSINT LATSINT is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I can ping by IP but not computer name - Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by pjknz View Post
I've had a similar problem, but you can try the following...

On each computer in the \windows\i386 directory will be a hosts file.

This file is used for fixed IP address mapping, so if you have fixed IP address mapping set on your network, you can edit the hosts file on each PC / Laptop / Server to identify each network device. This way you can ping your machines by name.
The hosts file would look something like this....

192.168.0.100 Marvin #Janes Laptop
192.168.0.101 Zaphod #Desktop backup machine
192.168.0.102 Random #Mike's Laptop
192.168.0.110 Mostly-Harmless #DMZ machine

Remember each machine on your network needs the hosts file updated. So make one copy and put it on each machine.
Also this relies on Fixed IP addresses being used, so you need to set your router to fixed IP's, it's also handy to put the router, DNS, and any other network device in the file, so you don't have to remember the actual IP's.
Everything after a # is a comment so this helps you to identify machines.
Hope it helps

I seem to be having the identical Problem as the other user. I have 4 computers . SVRONE SVRTWO SVRTHREE all talk and share perfectly. even using a linksys 8 port switch with linksys router. SVRFOUR, can ping using specified IP #'s but not by name. Thing is it joins my workgroup with no errors. i used The default "workgroup" name even

I tried the windows/i386, but I cant seem to find the i386 folder anywhere???? I ahve no idea. it isnt even on my other working machines. I tried in system and system32 and everything. but no i386 folder. I found one HOSTS file, but none of the computer names where on it. just gave this on all computers

# For example:
#
#102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
#38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

127.0.0.1 localhost

it was found in WINDOWS/SYSTEM32/DRIVERS/ECT

I would save a new, but I dont know if this is the rite one and if it is even in the rite folder.....


one -----> three ping by name and by IP

SVRFour pings all IP's and uses VNC and Connects to FTP and such, but wont ping by NAME.

Hopefully we can both figure out the same problem it looks like..

im so close to re installing XP PRO
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 04-22-09, 09:24
highway11 highway11 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I can ping by IP but not computer name - Help!

I had the same problem and resolved it by adding a line to my hosts file, thanks!

The file is called "hosts" and is located in c:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\ETC by the way
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-22-09, 11:07
jconstan's Avatar
jconstan jconstan is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 1,185
Thanks: 3
Thanked 103 Times in 97 Posts
Default Re: I can ping by IP but not computer name - Help!

The reason so many folks have problems with this is because there are many options to NAME resolution on a network and they all need to match. There is Nebeui, Netbios, Netbios over TCP/IP and DNS.

If you have more than one subnet (madambutterfly - I suspect you do because you have a wired and wireless network) you should probably go with the TCP/IP DNS type of network and have all of your machines configured with HOSTS files (c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts). It has to do with network "broadcasts" and network segments. The only downside to this method is that all of your machines will have to have static IP addresses.

If you have one subnet then NETBIOS over TCP/IP would work ok and the addition of an LMHOSTS file would help out the name resolution. Effectively in a one subnet network as long as all of the machines network settings match you should be good to go.
__________________
"Knowledge is useless unless it can be applied to help someone"

-JimC
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-23-09, 06:43
jconstan's Avatar
jconstan jconstan is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 1,185
Thanks: 3
Thanked 103 Times in 97 Posts
Default Re: I can ping by IP but not computer name - Help!

madambutterfly - I appologize, but my reference to your network in my previous post was INCORRECT. Just because you have a wired and wireless network is NO indication of multiple subnets. Sorry.
__________________
"Knowledge is useless unless it can be applied to help someone"

-JimC
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-16-09, 16:21
eps492003 eps492003 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I can ping by IP but not computer name - Help!

Simple solution I found is to disable the network adapter (control panel - network connections - double click your local network connection - click disable) & then enable it again. what happens is that the computer will (hopefully if you didn't give it a static IP) pick up a new refreshed IP and that should solve you stalemate. it did for me, most of the times are simple and not complicated it's just a matter of not getting excited & not overlooking the basics.

Thanks & I hope it works for you as well.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-18-09, 15:20
cat5e cat5e is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,614
Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Default Re: I can ping by IP but not computer name - Help!

The best thing is to Map Drive and folder and access them directly from any Explorer type application.
__________________
Jack (MS, MVP-Networking).
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 10-05-09, 02:52
maryam maryam is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I can ping by IP but not computer name - Help!

hi
in may office have Lan and run Dhcp, Wins server and Dns
i ping ip and Some client ping by coputer name som client not ping by computer name
idont fix problem
please help me
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-05-13, 04:13
dialtel dialtel is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I can ping by IP but not computer name - Help!

I know this is an old thread but I want to clarify some things about the posts people have made...

If you are pinging by computer name because you are testing for connectivity issues to your network then what people are mentioning here will mislead you.

For instance... I have a simple network and all computers share the same workgroup and have there own computer names..

I reinstalled win8 like I do almost on a weekly basis because it sucks... Well my file sharing was not working and I tried everything... So I came to the point where I wanted to ping the server by workgroup name because I was able to ping it by IP Address...

This was so I could see if it was resolving to the network since the IP did work... Well it was not...

So if you go and edit your hosts file in my case then it is really stupid because yes the ping will then work because I am telling the hosts file to convert the workgroup name to the IP... However this is so stupid on so many levels...

It does not solve my problem in any way since the workgroup is still inaccessible.. When I type my workgroup name to ping it I am in fact not pinging my workgroup name but I am pinging the IP address if I have resolved my workgroup name to the IP in the hosts file...

So bottom line is that if you can ping by IP and not able to access a workgroup when you have all your settings properly input then settings the hosts file to resolve your workgroup name to the IP is simply dumb and will not do anything to fix the root problem.

However if you want to be able to type in your workgroup name to access the IP for other reasons then it is perfectly fine. In my case I found the thread to be misleading....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer will DHCP but can't ping by name Temp31415 Hardware 5 02-20-10 07:21
Cannot ping a computer on a home network Yarko Hardware 10 04-15-06 18:34
Can't ping remote computer by IP or name rburchill Hardware 21 01-04-06 10:26
Can't ping remote computer by IP or name rburchill Hardware 1 01-01-06 16:08
Internet not working, can ping IP, cant ping domain rufomatt Hardware 5 08-10-05 13:28


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:21.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger