MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-25-08, 22:22
askantik's Avatar
askantik askantik is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 493
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Upgrading from 32bit Vista to 64bit Vista

Hello all,

I currently have Windows Vista Premium 32 bit. I have a buttload of stuff installed and don't feel like re-installing it. However, I do have the 64-bit media I received from Microsoft. I'm thinking about upgrading to the 64-bit, but I am hesitant to do so because I'd have to a clean install, right?

Is there any way around this, perhaps using something like making an image of my hard drive or something? I don't know much about this, but I've heard of doing something like that maybe with Norton Ghost. This may not even be right or maybe it would cause problems when changing from 32-bit to 64-bit Vista, but I thought I'd ask.

Any help you can provide is greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 05-26-08, 07:44
DavidGP's Avatar
DavidGP DavidGP is offline
MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 38,797
Thanks: 2,980
Thanked 3,090 Times in 2,808 Posts
Default Re: Upgrading from 32bit Vista to 64bit Vista

Hi

Sadly your going for a full clean install of x64 as even if you produce an image file, that resulting image when restored will be of the x86 Vista, so will overwrite the x64 Vista install files.

No easy way around this as x64 has two program files folders and registriry branches to take into account both x64 apps and x86 so trying to merge your install you have now is not going to happen.
  #3  
Old 05-26-08, 12:29
askantik's Avatar
askantik askantik is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 493
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Upgrading from 32bit Vista to 64bit Vista

Thanks for the reply

Is it worth it to upgrade now or should I wait? Are there any driver problems or compatibility issues like what I read about for Windows XP 64bit? Never used it myself...
  #4  
Old 05-26-08, 12:42
DavidGP's Avatar
DavidGP DavidGP is offline
MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 38,797
Thanks: 2,980
Thanked 3,090 Times in 2,808 Posts
Default Re: Upgrading from 32bit Vista to 64bit Vista

Hi

Going x64 does have its pitfalls at present in regards to compatability as not all software is compatible, would have to review developers system specs for this on your drivers and favorite hardware as now not only would you be looking for Vista compatible but also x64 compatible, however the majority of main common apps are x64 ready.

If all your hardware has x64 drivers for them then, that is a major step forward and going x64 is worth the test, but do double check all your hardware does have drivers first, even with the massive amount of drivers Vista already has in its database it cannot cover all. Usual suspects in not working are Audio.

What you could do as you mentioned Norton Ghost is to image your current install of x86 Vista, onto a spare HD ( mention a HD as if you have a full HD of files and apps then this may cover many DVDs ) and then install x64 Vista, so if you didnt like x64 you could re-install the image file as this would basically restore your PC to how it was before you went x64.
  #5  
Old 05-26-08, 12:48
askantik's Avatar
askantik askantik is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 493
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Upgrading from 32bit Vista to 64bit Vista

OK, I'll check my hardware. My components are all fairly new save for my video card (X1950 PRO), but I'll check just to be sure. Most of my program usage is Office, web browser, games, and an HTML editor, so that should be easy enough to check. I would also assume that as time progresses, more and more apps will be done to fit the 64-bit architecture...

I have 4GB of RAM and am currently only getting to use 3.25, so this is one of the main reasons I'm looking to do this. Do you think I will see a noticeable increase in performance (say in a game that is 64-bit compatible, if such a thing exists)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Halo View Post
What you could do as you mentioned Norton Ghost is to image your current install of x86 Vista, onto a spare HD ( mention a HD as if you have a full HD of files and apps then this may cover many DVDs ) and then install x64 Vista, so if you didnt like x64 you could re-install the image file as this would basically restore your PC to how it was before you went x64.
Ah, I might just do that. Do you recommend any particular program for this?

And thanks for all your help !
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 05-26-08, 13:14
DavidGP's Avatar
DavidGP DavidGP is offline
MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 38,797
Thanks: 2,980
Thanked 3,090 Times in 2,808 Posts
Default Re: Upgrading from 32bit Vista to 64bit Vista

Hi

Yes in time the more people go x64 the more applications will be fully compatible, in some applications you may see speed increases, bit not noticable drastic ones. Games well their are some that are x64 ready and just may need a patch to update them.

As for imaging, I use a like Acronis True Image, their is a free one thats Vista compatible but for th elife of me I cannot remember its name at this moment.
  #7  
Old 05-26-08, 14:21
askantik's Avatar
askantik askantik is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 493
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Upgrading from 32bit Vista to 64bit Vista

Cool. I'll do some researching. Thanks for the input and thanks for not telling me Vista blows. A lot of people have been doing that, despite the fact that I've been pretty pleased with it.

Cheers
  #8  
Old 05-26-08, 18:01
plodr's Avatar
plodr plodr is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: at my computer
Posts: 14,281
Thanks: 204
Thanked 2,592 Times in 2,400 Posts
Default Re: Upgrading from 32bit Vista to 64bit Vista

I always think a computer runs best with the OS installed when it was purchased. Your hardware is designed for Vista so it runs well. (I'm speaking from past experience because I was running a laptop that came with ME installed. I know ME was a joke but it ran well on that laptop for several years because the hardware and the OS got along).
Too many people take some hardware and want to "upgrade" never checking to see if the OS works on what they have. That's why you read so many complaints.
__________________
7" ASUS eeepc lubuntu 14.04
Aspire V5 7 HomePremium
  #9  
Old 08-09-08, 23:05
candyraver candyraver is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Upgrading from 32bit Vista to 64bit Vista

i would say leave it 32bit the 64bit is ok but has alot of problems with it ino from experience, i just spent $1200 on new computer and had 64bit oem vista home premium and then i had to go out and get new printer, it stuffed my new mobile phone i had to send it back to get fixed cd drives were corrupted, it was a nightmare, so i took windows back to were i got computer from told the what happend they kindly swapped 64bit to 32bit and now have no problems so i sudgest you stick with what you got unless you want hell to rise..
  #10  
Old 08-09-08, 23:44
augiedoggie's Avatar
augiedoggie augiedoggie is offline
The Canadian Loon - LocoAugie (R.I.P. 2012)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mirabel, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 10,091
Thanks: 194
Thanked 975 Times in 910 Posts
Default Re: Upgrading from 32bit Vista to 64bit Vista

You can also dual boot to test the x64, just make a separate 50GB partition and install there.
Sponsored links
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound Probs in vista 32bit Stitch Software 0 02-22-08 13:56
can 64bit video card work on 32bit pc? mackdaddy4862 Hardware 0 07-29-07 20:07
64bit on 32bit OS leoleotheiii Hardware 9 04-06-06 19:42
32bit or 64bit traveler723 Software 2 02-20-06 03:44
Compatability: 64bit processors 32bit software 64BitsOfInsanity Software 5 01-20-06 21:14


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:01.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger