MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-17-08, 17:09
Grumbles's Avatar
Grumbles Grumbles is offline
Bamboozled Geek
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,815
Thanks: 54
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Question Restoring full backup from Acronis

In January this year, I bought Acronis v10 and a USB external drive for my Desktop running XP.
Did a full backup there and then and another one in June 08. Due to some issues that I have been experiencing with software and internet connection failures, anti-virus programmes failing on me, sound and autoplay etc etc (you name it, it is in the list ) I have already done a system restore so as to get to this point.
I would like to do a system restore using Acronis - restoring my January 08 back up to the present day and see if I can 'start again'.

Has anyone done this on any Acronis version lately and give me any information on what to expect?
G
__________________
The journey of a thousand miles starts with a single step.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 06-18-08, 17:59
akhilles akhilles is offline
First Sergeant
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 716
Thanks: 0
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Default Re: Restoring full backup from Acronis

1st off, back up your OS to a file using Acronis boot CD. Restore your Jan backup to the same OS partition. If you don't like it, you can go back to your most recent backup.

It's very easy. The wizard will walk you through the process of backup & restore.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-19-08, 19:17
Grumbles's Avatar
Grumbles Grumbles is offline
Bamboozled Geek
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,815
Thanks: 54
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default Re: Restoring full backup from Acronis

Should i create an Acronis Boot CD first then?

G
__________________
The journey of a thousand miles starts with a single step.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-08, 15:17
plodr's Avatar
plodr plodr is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: at my computer
Posts: 14,181
Thanks: 200
Thanked 2,580 Times in 2,389 Posts
Default Re: Restoring full backup from Acronis

Quote:
Should i create an Acronis Boot CD first then?
YES! YES! YES! That's your safety net. If the hd won't boot into windows, you just boot from the Acronis rescue CD, it loads the program into RAM and then you just feed it the CDs or DVDs that you've burned with your backup.

I always run my create and restore outside of windows using the boot CD. I feel there is less chance of error when done outside of windows.
__________________
7" ASUS eeepc lubuntu 14.04
Aspire V5 7 HomePremium
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-08, 17:05
bigbazza's Avatar
bigbazza bigbazza is offline
R.I.P. 14/12/2011 - Good Onya Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cairns,Far North Qld,Australia
Posts: 10,768
Thanks: 891
Thanked 331 Times in 293 Posts
Default Re: Restoring full backup from Acronis

I always "Validate" my backups using Acronis TI v10. It takes less than half the time it takes to do a backup, and well worth the time, IMO. There is nothing worse than a corrupt backup, for whatever reason, when you really need it. The Validate function is part of the dropdown menus. Bazza
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 06-20-08, 17:34
Appzalien Appzalien is offline
Staff Sergeant
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 546
Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 43 Posts
Default Re: Restoring full backup from Acronis

When you first install Acronis it usually asks if you want to make a boot cd but you can open the program and make one at any time, it doesn't matter. Its necessary for backing up your active partition since you can't back up from the partition itself while its active. Once you boot to the recovery cd you will see the familar gui of acronis and can then point it to your images on dvd, other drives, or even another partition on the same drive (when drive1 is partitoned as C and D drives, you can put an image of C on D and use it to recover C).

I still use Version 6 and will only upgrade when 6 no longer serves my purpose. I have one machine now (since two days ago) where C is not an IDE drive but a Sata drive, I guess when it comes time to back it up I'll lay down the bucks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-20-08, 17:54
akhilles akhilles is offline
First Sergeant
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 716
Thanks: 0
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Default

Validation is nice, but I schedule it to back up my C every night.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
restoring files from MS backup kiat Software 1 05-25-08 01:23
restoring files from MS backup kiat Software 4 05-22-08 18:14
Acronis True Image V10.0 backup program bigbazza Software 4 11-05-06 13:47
Acronis True image to backup Reiser FS? Zaar Software 1 05-13-06 07:30
restoring backup files from a copied CD 2020 Software 4 03-28-05 21:05


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger