Getting data off of dead drive

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ajw81, Aug 21, 2008.

1. ajw81

ajw81 Private E-2

Hi all.
    My sister's friend had her hard drive fail and of course nothing was backed up. The drive is making some awful noises and wont boot up at all. I put it as a secondary drive on my computer and tried to boot up to knoppix. The drive was detected but it wouldn't get past the configuring hardware line. When trying to boot into windows with the primary drive it stop at the windows xp screen. So my question is there anything else I can try? It is also being detected in the bios.
    Thanks

2. ajw81

ajw81 Private E-2

Update.. I got slax to boot up but it didn't see the drive at all. I'm thinking it might be time to call it for this hard drive.

3. foogoo

foogoo Major "foogoo" Geek

4. Chaser911

Chaser911 Private E-2

Hi,

I'm just a newbie here so my advice is perhaps best not followed (disclaimer).

I have however been in this predicament before, once for myself and once for a friend with hdd's that totally gave up (after much noise and grudging performance) and weren't even recognised in the bios (In addition I have two hdd on a shelf awaiting similar treatment, when I can get the time and the materials to effect the prior remedy).

In those prior instances I used 2 programs that are far cheaper than the second link provided, (the first link I will follow up on, as its probably far safer than my method, cheers foogoo:cool), a spare drive of adequate size for the backup, some bravado or stupidity and a deep freeze!

As much as its urban legend, I found that sticking what I would term a 'mechanically stuck hdd' :eek: in a freezer, very carefully wrapped, and then re trying it in conjunction with some imaging and recovery software, plus the space to do so onto.... works a treat.

In my friends case it allowed imaging as backup of the drive, plus revived the dead drive to many months of future useage.