Flash drives for saving photos?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by LauraMistretta30, Aug 26, 2008.

1. LauraMistretta30

LauraMistretta30 Private E-2

Hi all, I would appreciate some advice as I am a novice with computer issues. I just bought a U3 2GB Cruzer Micro Flash Drive 3 pack from Costco with the intention of copying my photos for back up. I have no idea how much room photos take up, but one folder has 1,028 files (pictures) and in the properties it says 3.63 GB (3,900,626,309 bytes). I have a Dell Dimension 4700 with Pentium 4 CPU 3.00GHz and 2.99GHz, 1.00GB of RAM. I thought this flash drive would accommodate my pictures, but after copying only part of one folder it said "destination drive full, insert another floppy". I have a 2007 pictures folder that in the properties says 18.7 GB, with 9,054 files and 48 sub-folders. I had no idea how much room these pictures were taking up on my c: drive and I didn't even think my computer had that much memory/space on the hard drive!

So can anyone advise me how I could save these photos, what kind of memory stick would I use? Thanks so much for any help, I'm worried about not backing all these pictures up and my computer crashing.

2. chaimjm

chaimjm Staff Sergeant

your 2GB drive is very small I would get a USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive 160 GB or higher for back up the prices are resonable. I also burn photo's that I feel are very good to CD's just to play extra safe

3. LauraMistretta30

Thanks for the advice :) I thought my dell only had about 2 gig of memory/space, can you tell me how the whole memory/hard drive space thing works? Do they not make flash drives big enough for saving photos?

4. mcsmc

mcsmc MajorGeek

The memory you refer to is the RAM. You stated your computer has 1.00 GB RAM. That's 1GB. Memory/RAM is used by the computer as a buffer for when you use the computer. Nothing gets permanently stored on the RAM.