Newbuild laptop...Need your help

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by davidconway1@sky.com, Dec 29, 2008.

1. davidconway1@sky.com

davidconway1@sky.com Private E-2

Hi all, I am a total newbie to posting so I hope that I stay within the rules and that my post sparks some interesting discussion. From looking through old posts I see that the main thing that pisses you off is lack of information up front so I'm going to try to give you what I know (shouldn't take long):) but I suspect in doing so I may give more than is necessary, if so bear with me.

I have a laptop at the moment that I bought for the sole use of running a software programme called "Showmagic" it is used for musicians who want to run backing tracks, dmx lighting and video, via an external sound card..(Edirol ua 25) from USB to play the .wav files, another USB output to a DMX interface and a DVI- output for the .avi video files to a projector.
    My existing laptop has been in service for a few years now and is beginning to go wrong, including during my act (not a place I ever want to be again!!!)
    It is the model Clevo D900T and has been a wonderful machine. It came with an Intel pentium 4 560 processor LGA775 (775 pin) 4 gig DDR 2 ram, two 60 gig Hitachi 7200rpm hard drives, NVidea 256 mb video card, four USB ports, two firewire ports, S video, serial, parallel, one DVI-D port and all of the various other ports. for the internet and networking etc, some of which are superfluous as it is imperative to the software that the machine remains dedicated for the job..(I must stress that point)
    As you can see considering I've had it for three years it is very well specced and It's only the passage of time and normal wear and tear that is causing it to malfunction, in all of the time that I've had it it has never before let me down, but I have now lost confidence in it and I can't afford for it once to act up at a gig, so the writings on the wall :cry