some problems with network..(srry ima beginner)

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by serges16, Jan 6, 2009.

1. serges16

serges16 Private E-2

I am not really good with networks and all of that.. dont really kno difrences between switches or routers or w/e that stuff is... but i am trying to connect my laptop to our internet.. so, I had DSL internet, and my DSL modem and my linksys router were connected so that i have internet on my desktop, and my laptop could catch wireless too.. modem connected to internet, the ethernet cable went into my Linksys Broadband router WRT54G into the INTERNET slot, and another ethernet cable from one of the 4 slots from the router went into my computer... the internet worked fine, everything worked perfectly.. now we got rid of DSL and got cable.. So we got the modem for our new cable internet, (http://www.simplehelp.net/images/cable_modems/motorola_sb5120.gif), and i tried doing the same thing with it to... the cable internet was plugged into the modem, the ethernet cable went from the modem to the router Internet slot, and from the router i have another ethernet cable going to my computer.. almost same thing like with dsl except now i have cable, and a new modem... BUT now the internet doesnt work... it says that i have the local connection, but i dont have internet on niether my desktop or the laptop.. dont kno wats the problem.. i tried going in to my linksys options or something, reset everything to default and stuff, and still no progress.. tried troubleshooting to c wat the problem was, and my comp says that even it doesnt recognize it... help??? srry if i explained in a confusing way... isnt my native language lol...

2. serges16

serges16 Private E-2

well no one knows wat to do?? i tried updating my router.. also googled and changed some things in regisrty like mircrosoft told me to.. still doesnt work.. i get this error when i troubleshoot for internet now...
    *There may be a problem with the Domain Name Servers (DNS)