MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-20-09, 17:19
tomsmg tomsmg is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Zone Alarm Update Nag Screen?

Helllo: I just started getting this, I am using Vista Home Premium with zone alarm and zone alarm is sending a pop up wanting to know if I want to update and if I say NO it keeps popping up so I clicked on Remind me in 60 days, but it still pops up all the time.
How can I disable this pop up? No problem with using a registry hack if necessary, Thanks
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 02-20-09, 20:26
Bugballou's Avatar
Bugballou Bugballou is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 1,070
Thanks: 0
Thanked 101 Times in 97 Posts
Default Re: Zone Alarm Update Nag Screen?

I would check out services through Administrative Tools or by a start>run>"services.msc" without the quotes. Find the zone alarm update service, if there is one in the list of services, double click it and stop it, then set it to Manual if it is set to Automatic. Thereafter you will need to update ZA manually through the GUI. Have never used that particular program but this might do it. <insert rant here>
Bug
  #3  
Old 02-21-09, 05:52
tomsmg tomsmg is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Zone Alarm Update Nag Screen?

Bugballu:

I dont see it in there, Thanks
  #4  
Old 02-21-09, 21:48
plodr's Avatar
plodr plodr is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: at my computer
Posts: 14,504
Thanks: 209
Thanked 2,643 Times in 2,447 Posts
Default Re: Zone Alarm Update Nag Screen?

Download Startup Control Panel
http://majorgeeks.com/Startup_Contro...ion_d4359.html
go through the tabs and if you see anything showing ZA update service, uncheck/untick that.
I'm running an old version of ZA and in one of my sections,when I open the ZA Control Center there is an option to check for updates. I also have this unchecked.
__________________
7" ASUS eeepc lubuntu 14.04
Aspire V5 7 HomePremium
  #5  
Old 02-21-09, 23:54
Nedlamar's Avatar
Nedlamar Nedlamar is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: I'm not sure, but it's damp
Posts: 2,570
Thanks: 260
Thanked 290 Times in 246 Posts
Default Re: Zone Alarm Update Nag Screen?

Open Zone alarms
Click "Overview" on the left panel
Click the "Preferences" tab at the top right
Check for product updates, check "Manual"
You'll get a warning box telling you if you do not update you will be at risk from hackers etc
Click "Yes"
Done.

It's right there if you have one of the last 2 versions of zone alarms (aquired within the last 12 months)
__________________
I'm as clever as a stick in a bucket of pig swill.
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 02-22-09, 06:41
tomsmg tomsmg is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Zone Alarm Update Nag Screen?

Thank You both for the new suggestions and I will keep them handy in my tip collection, I am sure both of the suggestions would work, but I already found a utility called "AutoRuns" from sysinternal.com and it worked great. Thank You Guys again, Tom
  #7  
Old 02-22-09, 06:47
tarmin8or's Avatar
tarmin8or tarmin8or is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 110
Thanks: 24
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Re: Zone Alarm Update Nag Screen?

Just curious...Why would you not want to update your ZA virus definitions?
  #8  
Old 02-22-09, 07:13
tomsmg tomsmg is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Zone Alarm Update Nag Screen?

Who said I did not want to update, the nag screen would not go away no matter what and I like to update when I am not doing anything!!!
  #9  
Old 02-22-09, 08:25
tarmin8or's Avatar
tarmin8or tarmin8or is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 110
Thanks: 24
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Re: Zone Alarm Update Nag Screen?

Sorry!!! You didn't indicate you wanted the update, you selected "remind me", so that said to me you did not want to update, at least for now I guess...???
Didn't mean to upset you....sorry!
  #10  
Old 02-22-09, 10:31
Nedlamar's Avatar
Nedlamar Nedlamar is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: I'm not sure, but it's damp
Posts: 2,570
Thanks: 260
Thanked 290 Times in 246 Posts
Default Re: Zone Alarm Update Nag Screen?

Yeah ZA does have a tnedancy to bug you when you least want it, as in my above post, you don't need any special progs to stop it, the options are right there in ZA itself.
__________________
I'm as clever as a stick in a bucket of pig swill.
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 02-22-09, 11:33
tomsmg tomsmg is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Zone Alarm Update Nag Screen?

Tarmin8or: I am not upset at all we are just talking things over, and I guess I did not make myself clear, was so upset with as Nedlamar mentioned the nag screen can be a pain in the butt when it wont go away. I also know how to take care of it from within Zone alarm itself now , Thanks to you Guys.
  #12  
Old 02-22-09, 13:24
tarmin8or's Avatar
tarmin8or tarmin8or is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 110
Thanks: 24
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Re: Zone Alarm Update Nag Screen?

I understand. I know what you mean. I have ZA and it is a bit touchy, but all-in-all, after learning how to adjust the settings to fit my system set-up, it runs pretty troublefree.
I have had it get stuck in some strange loop that required me to re-install, but only on a couple of computers one or two times in the last 3 years i have been using it.
It has saved my butt several times.
I hope you get that problem figured out, you may have to re-install.

Also, I am running XP Pro SP-2 and not that new Vista stuff.

Take care...
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zone Alarm Program Update Problem Oooops! Software 8 09-22-07 11:29
Latest Zone Alarm Update md2lgyk Software 3 03-21-07 15:52
Latest Zone Alarm Update md2lgyk Software 4 03-21-07 11:32
Zone Alarm won't update? comperroruter Software 7 11-25-05 16:03
BE AWARE Zone Alarm 5.0 Update Issues waxace Software 46 05-29-04 17:23


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:24.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger