MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-03-09, 19:56
AlwaysInfected AlwaysInfected is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 177
Thanks: 11
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default system freezing on me randomly... why?

K so i just purchased this computer. HP pavillion 3gigs 320g HD etc...

I got it from craigslist actually. Now before all the "boos" n crooked faces lol. This system is overall prestine. It was new maybe turned on n used a few times but when it is as new when i turned it on. Now as far as i can see it runs very nicely. everything executes properly, the speed is pretty incredible etc..

I have one issue n iv'e never seen it before. It will randomly freeze on me. Now this is windows vista. Im not familiar with it so i dunno if this is an OS issue or something else. I opened the tower aswell n from what i can see it all looks mint. Maybe its the cdrom? i dunno what it is...

Anyhow i havent any patterns as to when or what causes the freezing. Now i can be on for hours at a time or have multiple programs open or none n it will just all of a sudden freeze. I mean the mouse wont move etc. if i have sound on it will just stutter.
Everytime this happens i have to pull the power cord.
(annoying as hell)

Like i said otherwise when its working properly it works wonderfully n prestinely i can be running 1 thousand things or none it will work nicely!

What could be causing this? is it fixable? How do i approach this issue to a tech if i need to bring it in to a shop? What does this issue sound like?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 03-03-09, 20:19
thebigd thebigd is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: system freezing on me randomly... why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlwaysInfected View Post
I got it from craigslist actually. Now before all the "boos" n crooked faces lol. This system is overall prestine.
If this thing is giving you issues, I would use the recovery cd's and start from scratch. You have no way of knowing what really went on with that computer. So thats the first thing I would do is backup your data and start with a clean windows install.


Quote:
It will randomly freeze on me.
Be more specific. What happens when it freezes? Does it respond to any input? Can you ctrl+alt+del? can you access the task manager? Does it happen right away or do you need to be up and running for a while?


Quote:
Maybe its the cdrom?
What makes you suspect the cdrom? If you want a quick and dirty way to rule it out, just unplug the power cable running to it ... (although nothing you have said indicates to me anything wrong with your cdrom...)


Quote:
What could be causing this? is it fixable? How do i approach this issue to a tech if i need to bring it in to a shop? What does this issue sound like?
Anything is fixable, but first you need to determine the problem before moving forward with a resolution.

Its hard to say, it might be one of the gazillion pieces of crapware HP installs on there computers in order to bring the prices down so cheap.

Make sure that your computer has adequate ventilation, you dont have books or crap piled on top of it and that all the fans that are spinning.

Other than that, the best thing you need to do is to go dig into the event viewer and see whats recorded

If you are okay to backup your data, HP provides recovery disks that will reinstall everything without any input (if it comes to that) - you might want to consider that avenue as well. The only downside to that is, HP will most likely install a bucketload of trialware junk on your pc most likely as part of th default os install. You can uninstall that manually.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-09, 20:32
RuidosoPC RuidosoPC is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 36
Thanks: 20
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: system freezing on me randomly... why?

When you had the case open, with the machine powered up make sure the fan on top of the CPU is spinning, could be an overheating problem.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-03-09, 22:00
AlwaysInfected AlwaysInfected is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 177
Thanks: 11
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: system freezing on me randomly... why?

Thanks.

The fan up top on the back works fine. i had my hand behind there before n it feels like a mini ac.

THEBIGD. It's tough to be specific about something that isn't. all iv'e noted is that it happens after running for a decent while sometimes earlier than other times sometimes later.

I know that one time when it froze i just trynna swirving the mouse aimlessly n clicking the mouse buttons n i got that long bleep sound.

Once it freezes thats it. no ctrl alt dlt etc... I always unplug the power.
Recovery cd? I wouldnt need to recover much i just got it up n running like 2 days ago n i all I DL'd was basic stuff. Ccleaner, Winrar, etc...

It didnt come with any cds. I should drop it off at a shop have them reinstall vista?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-04-09, 02:55
AlwaysInfected AlwaysInfected is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 177
Thanks: 11
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: system freezing on me randomly... why?

(Update)

Computer was in use for about 3 hours. It froze once again. I unplugged the power cord as it is my only option. When i plugged it back in i turned it on n this time after asking like it has "Start windows normally" press enter... right after that (i didn't click anything) chkdsk ran... then it went to start on its own n went back to that screen saying windows can not open properly n said it was due to something hardware or software...

What has happened?!??!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 03-04-09, 03:11
AlwaysInfected AlwaysInfected is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 177
Thanks: 11
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: system freezing on me randomly... why?

Oh wait heres the problem. I think this confirms what iv'e been hearing about vista for years when i was riding smoothly with XP2. Vista is trash.....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-06-09, 16:58
AlwaysInfected AlwaysInfected is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 177
Thanks: 11
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: system freezing on me randomly... why?

Ok so my hard drive basically was shitting the bed. I just got a new 500G one. Things are fine...

I have a few annoyances with Vista tho. I need to insall Adobe flash player. Well it was done one of those things where id'e install but the damn OS still was unwilling to recognize it. So i went into Win32 manually>macromed folder N ran the install as admin. Once it installed it said to restart for things to work. I did this 2wice and it still is not recognizing Adobe flash. Why so? How can i get this functioning?

Also I cannot play live streaming files on places like Zshare. It says it does not recognize the player or which plugin i need. Xflv player or something....

Why is Vista so lame?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-06-09, 18:56
AlwaysInfected AlwaysInfected is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 177
Thanks: 11
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: system freezing on me randomly... why?

What questions of BigD's didnt i answer!?!?!!? I couldnt explain my problem any better because its just as i explained!!

So check this member how i said the hard drive (new one) seems to have resolved it? Now i'm thinking it hasn't! After being on it for like 2 hours i was doing something n it froze on me again!

So now im ridiculously confused and aggravated with this thing! What is it the motherboard?

N whats this stuff u say about adobe? I never had issues with XP ever! I ran that OS for as long as it's been out the only issues i ever had was Malware. Now with Vista i can't instal certain programs etc... N u say these problems are not vista related?

So when i can go to adobe n download n install adobe n things of that nature on XP and it installs n works fine afterwards but then on Vista when it's the complete opposite it is not Vista related?

I downloaded and "installed" Adobe and i was still unable to see flash content even after a restart. You say this is hardware issues? So not being able to play live streaming media on Zshare when the system says it does not recognize the file type x/ Flv that is not Vista fault either?

Anyhow Im highly concerned about this thing having froze again. That caught me way off gaurd. how is this possible? The guys at CTS said they tested everything and even un plugged everything inside n repieced it together to make sure....

N now this? yet it's not Vistas fault. I'm glad XP is reponsible for having worked so well while and whenever i ever used it....

I'm confused.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-06-09, 19:12
AlwaysInfected AlwaysInfected is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 177
Thanks: 11
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: system freezing on me randomly... why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DomLuc View Post
Well thebigd suggested that, as you purchased a used system, that you do a clean reinstall of your OS using the back up/restore CD/DVD that you have, having first saved any personal data you already have since purchase.

thebigd also mentioned the frequent problems associated with a HP system (pretty much like Dell and others) that a huge amount of crap is loaded on to their systems that you can dispense with by doing a clean reinstall of just the OS and any needed drivers.

thebigd also suggested you look at your Event Viewer so that you can provide more information about what is going on when that freezing occurs.

As far as the new HD not having solved the problem - well that's a shame but you did say it had so maybe that was just a bit premature.

As far as Adobe Flash Player is concerned it works perfectly well on all versions of Vista so the issue must be on your physical system.
Ive installed it successfully on a number of Vista set ups and I'm sure many users here will have had the same experience.
Your only option is a clean uninstall and then a clean fresh install.

As far as every single one of your symptoms is concerned, they have all, without exception, been seen very frequently on a problem system with XP just as much as Vista - it is nothing specific to do with Vista, but if you want to believe that then it's fine, but it wont help you solve these problems.
Ok so here. I got no data cds with this system period. I don't know how n never have install an operating system n will not start now without a trained professional guiding me through it.

This new hard-drive was installed at the "Computer shop" they clearly installed vista on their own n it def came as naked as possible without a cluster of MS gadgets n unecessary programs. I can see the difference in it just with the way the OG OS/HD was/had.

Now as far as the event viewer can u fully elaborate on that I don't know what it is or how to work it to get the results u need. thanks

Can i uninstall adopbe completely like u say using CCleaner? or should i use that other program u mentioned?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-06-09, 19:24
AlwaysInfected AlwaysInfected is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 177
Thanks: 11
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: system freezing on me randomly... why?

Quote:
Here is a guide to the Event Viewer in Vista:
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l.../cc766042.aspx
will look into this thanks.

Quote:
It might have been a good idea to get that Computer Shop to have run some basic tests on your system since at the same time they installed a new HD.
from what i know they did run tests... I can call tomm n ask exactly which ones if ud'e like. During my frequent call ins to learn progress n updates they were telling me they were running tests etc....

Quote:
As far as doing a clean uninstall of Adobe Flash, as I said earlier, if it was me I would use Revo (if you've never used it just read its guide when you've installed it) and then after a restart use 'CCleaner > Cleaner and CCleaner > Registry > Scan For issues' (running this last one at least twice) and then do a new install of Adobe Flash.
will do.

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 03-06-09, 19:37
AlwaysInfected AlwaysInfected is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 177
Thanks: 11
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: system freezing on me randomly... why?

"Bad request"

link must be invalid..

it must be this part "/l.../" how do we get past it?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-06-09, 22:40
AlwaysInfected AlwaysInfected is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 177
Thanks: 11
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: system freezing on me randomly... why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DomLuc View Post
Don't know, that link - http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l.../cc766042.aspx - opens fine for me. But copying and pasting the link doesn't work because MajorGeeks site contracts the link. It will only work if you either click on the link, or right click and choose 'open in new tab/window', *or* right click and choose 'copy link location'.


Otherwise, just do a Google search for 'Event Viewer Vista' and you'll find it there.
Ok thanks link works fine now...
Also adobe flash installed fine aswell this time. I went to the site nwas more technical about it. instead of just clicking the DL button I clicked on pick OS type n browser n so i selected Vista/firefox n it was a clean install...

Also my pc is going on about 3 1/2 hours with no freeze and i streamed a movie from to my ps3 to my tv the whole time fine. I am heading out to get some food, I will leave it on screensaver idle n let u know how it holds up when i get back.....
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-07-09, 13:34
AlwaysInfected AlwaysInfected is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 177
Thanks: 11
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: system freezing on me randomly... why?

So the pc ran very nicely last night with no freezing. It just froze on me a little while ago after installing Javaruntime. I was looking around in event viewer once i figured out how to get to it. There is a few errors and "yellow ! shields" logged.

How do i post the logs from there here?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-09-09, 11:30
AlwaysInfected AlwaysInfected is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 177
Thanks: 11
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: system freezing on me randomly... why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlwaysInfected View Post
So the pc ran very nicely last night with no freezing. It just froze on me a little while ago after installing Javaruntime. I was looking around in event viewer once i figured out how to get to it. There is a few errors and "yellow ! shields" logged.

How do i post the logs from there here?
again how can i copy logs from eventviewer to post them here? im lost.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-09-09, 12:43
Just Playin's Avatar
Just Playin Just Playin is online now
Major Geek
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: At the bottom of Bass Lake
Posts: 3,883
Thanks: 67
Thanked 316 Times in 273 Posts
Default Re: system freezing on me randomly... why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlwaysInfected View Post
again how can i copy logs from eventviewer to post them here? im lost.
Below the text window:
Attached Images
File Type: gif att.gif (16.8 KB, 4 views)
__________________
The most dangerous man in the world is the one with nothing to lose.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16  
Old 03-09-09, 14:13
AlwaysInfected AlwaysInfected is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 177
Thanks: 11
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: system freezing on me randomly... why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Just Playin View Post
Below the text window:
Grrrr.....

I know how to attatch!!! Im sayin. How do i get a text copy of the eventviewer window to attatch here afterwards.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-09-09, 15:51
Just Playin's Avatar
Just Playin Just Playin is online now
Major Geek
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: At the bottom of Bass Lake
Posts: 3,883
Thanks: 67
Thanked 316 Times in 273 Posts
Default Re: system freezing on me randomly... why?

Open the Event Viewer. Expand the 'Windows Logs' option on the sidebar and select the log you wish to save. On the toolbar menu, select 'Action. In the dropdown menu, select 'Save Events As...'. In the window that opens, select the folder to save it in (default is your Documents folder), a name and the type of file you wish to save it as (in the 'Save as Type' dropdown).
__________________
The most dangerous man in the world is the one with nothing to lose.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please help, cpu randomly freezing at 100% usage ttttubby Malware Removal 15 01-17-07 17:48
System freezing briefly, randomly, and often chadwilson7 Software 13 08-17-06 01:57
pc randomly freezing , forcing restart andeh Hardware 8 12-29-04 12:01
Computer freezing... randomly!? SirCanealot Software 6 12-25-04 16:28
system rebooting randomly Dionysos Hardware 2 12-21-04 09:36


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 22:39.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger