Power supply replacing help, e-machine

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Thri, Mar 31, 2009.

1. Thri

Thri Private E-2

Ok, I have an e-machine and a new cheap power supply. Will they work together?:confused

Here is a pic of the old power supply and the new one. Are they compatible? Plus a pic of a battery that I would like to know if it needs replacing or at least what it is for?

[​IMG]

Ok, here is what has happened, some people had an e-machine that started shutting it’s self down on them and wanted me to take a look at it. I checked it for software problems and checked for hard drive problems and without being a hardware expert I believe it was the power supply kicking the can, which appears to be commonplace with e-machines. I suggested that they probably need a new power supply. They decided to just get a new computer and let me keep the old one instead of trashing it. Then later on I got a hold of a cheap power supply that a friend purchased for yet another e-machine, before they went ahead and got a new computer.

If I can get this computer up and running I would sure come in handy. At least it would do more then just take up space.

thanks for any help:)

2. Thri

Thri Private E-2

Can anyone help, Please:):confused

3. ScoobySnack

ScoobySnack Private First Class

I can't tell enough from looking at your pictures, unfortunately, to answer your question, but perhaps I can help a little. With power supplies, there are 3 main things you want to look for that I am aware of: Watt, type, and motherboard/cpu connectors.

You can see on the labels, the new one is a 375 watt and the old is a 300 watt, so you are good there.
    I cannot tell from the labels what type of ps it is. By type, I mean ATX, ATX/BTX, ATX12v, etc. That information should be listed either on the power supply itself or with any documentation accompanying it... if all else fails you can call the manufacturer or google the serial # of each supply and find out.