MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-09, 11:55
augiedoggie's Avatar
augiedoggie augiedoggie is offline
The Canadian Loon - LocoAugie (R.I.P. 2012)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mirabel, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 10,091
Thanks: 194
Thanked 975 Times in 910 Posts
Default NIC doesn't see TCP/IP stack

This all started when I was upgrading my video card to a 260 which didn't work, back to a 9800GT for now. I also had a corrupted BIOS so I upgraded that without any expectations as none of that change log applied to me, just to get a fresh flash. Oh, this was before I installed the 260

Since then, the onboard NIC on my ASUS P5Q-Pro wasn't seen anymore. I then installed a NIC card and it's only seen by XP with an error stating that it can't 'Query TCP/IP Stack' and neither Vista nor W7 can even see the NIC.

I did try the NIC in the last PCI slot but that didn't work or was seen at all by anything, I then moved it up one slot and now only XP sees it, I don't have any more PCI slots to try. I did eliminate the router by going directly to the modem and it recognizes the NIC card but not the onboard NIC.

Can anyone give me a hint of what to try next? Thanks.
__________________
i7 930 @ 2.8GHz, GTX470/GTX260, 6GB RAM:
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 05-08-09, 12:46
satrow's Avatar
satrow satrow is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Waimoana
Posts: 5,233
Thanks: 500
Thanked 1,228 Times in 1,111 Posts
Default Re: NIC doesn't see TCP/IP stack

Hi augiedoggie,

Hmm, interesting ... I think I'd begin in the BIOS, remove the onboard NIC with Device Manager, reboot, enter the BIOS, reset to defaults and reboot. Test.

If that doesn't find and fix it, reboot to the BIOS again and double-check all settings related to onboard devices (perhaps disabling Serial, Firewire and Parallel?).

(at the back of my mind, I'm wondering about a PCI/mainboard problem affecting power supply, crap in the slots ...?)

Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-09, 07:46
augiedoggie's Avatar
augiedoggie augiedoggie is offline
The Canadian Loon - LocoAugie (R.I.P. 2012)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mirabel, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 10,091
Thanks: 194
Thanked 975 Times in 910 Posts
Default Re: NIC doesn't see TCP/IP stack

Thanks for the effort but nothing helped. I'm going to try a LiveCD now and see what happens. I'm out of ideas ATM.
__________________
i7 930 @ 2.8GHz, GTX470/GTX260, 6GB RAM:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-09, 13:40
augiedoggie's Avatar
augiedoggie augiedoggie is offline
The Canadian Loon - LocoAugie (R.I.P. 2012)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mirabel, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 10,091
Thanks: 194
Thanked 975 Times in 910 Posts
Default Re: NIC doesn't see TCP/IP stack

Quote:
Originally Posted by satrow View Post
Hi augiedoggie,

Hmm, interesting ... I think I'd begin in the BIOS, remove the onboard NIC with Device Manager, reboot, enter the BIOS, reset to defaults and reboot. Test.

If that doesn't find and fix it, reboot to the BIOS again and double-check all settings related to onboard devices (perhaps disabling Serial, Firewire and Parallel?).

(at the back of my mind, I'm wondering about a PCI/mainboard problem affecting power supply, crap in the slots ...?)

Good luck.
Well, seems you may have been right!!! After several moves of the NIC, it is now working properly. Jeez man, I must have rebooted 50 times trying different cables and BIOS configurations! I'm still having issues with the onboard NIC but I think I'll leave well enough alone for now, I will not try the onboard until I first understand what happened, if I can.

One strange thing is that the NIC is now called #3 and the onboard isn't even seen yet as I uninstalled the drivers. Man, three days of ! At least I can get back to folding now.
__________________
i7 930 @ 2.8GHz, GTX470/GTX260, 6GB RAM:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-10-09, 20:10
satrow's Avatar
satrow satrow is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Waimoana
Posts: 5,233
Thanks: 500
Thanked 1,228 Times in 1,111 Posts
Default Re: NIC doesn't see TCP/IP stack

Ok, glad you're up and running

I think Windoze sets a different ~ each time it picks up the same hardware with any different stats/locations/whatever - I've 1 PC with the only NIC at @ #7 now ...

How about you creating a backup image of your installation now - just in case?

Once you have done that and tested it, when you next get bored you can try the onboard again ^^ Take plenty of notes if you do - it will help us work out what's been happening there.

PS., is it working both in XP and Vista now?

Last edited by satrow; 05-10-09 at 20:12.. Reason: Addition of PS.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Tags
nic, pci, tcp/ip

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Doesn't even start up UBXMaster Hardware 2 05-03-09 13:55
MSN doesn't work I_Eat_Plastic Software 5 02-21-09 17:39
wmp bo:stack detected FAlbee Malware Removal 1 08-01-07 19:58
BO:Stack Shred666 Malware Removal 1 11-04-06 15:41
Stack Dump mpc458 Software 2 06-15-05 19:19


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:36.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger