MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-03-09, 13:07
abz1nthe's Avatar
abz1nthe abz1nthe is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NH
Posts: 891
Thanks: 88
Thanked 36 Times in 36 Posts
Default Enter Primary Master HDD User password

Hello,

So recently one of the teacher's dropped off a laptop from our wireless cart ( Acer TravelMate 3260 Windows XP) saying it was popping up with some error. When I turned it it loaded to a screen saying: "Enter Primary Master HDD Password [ ]"

I can't get it to boot from any cd's,, I cant re-image it and I pretty much cannot do anything with it at all.

Any idea how I resolve this issue? I did a quick google and one post said to contact the Acer manufacturer for the password so I called and they no longer do free support for laptops no longer under warrenty and I was directed to the website. I tryed the email support and got the same answer asking me to call there pay service which is 60 dollars for 30 minutes lol f-that.

Any and all suggestions would be appreciated. I pondered removing the cmos battery too see if that would clear the message but I wanted to see if there was another way before I have to take it all apart.

Thanks!

Adam
__________________
"If you don't like my fire...Don't come around.. Cuz' I'm gonna burn one doooowwwwnnn."

Last edited by abz1nthe; 06-03-09 at 13:13..
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 06-03-09, 13:19
Serious Sam's Avatar
Serious Sam Serious Sam is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 229
Thanks: 17
Thanked 40 Times in 36 Posts
Default Re: Enter Primary Master HDD User password

I've never heard of a way around that one, you won't even be able to slave it to get the data off of it with a HD password. The teacher would HAVE to know the password though otherwise they couldn't use it. Someone had to manually enter that p/w
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-03-09, 14:00
Drizzles's Avatar
Drizzles Drizzles is offline
First Sergeant
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Queensland, Australia
Posts: 751
Thanks: 20
Thanked 71 Times in 67 Posts
Default Re: Enter Primary Master HDD User password

Could be a student playing a prank ... I'm not sure of any password programs that could get that either ... have you scrolled through MGs downloads section to check for such programs??
__________________
:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-04-09, 06:36
abz1nthe's Avatar
abz1nthe abz1nthe is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NH
Posts: 891
Thanks: 88
Thanked 36 Times in 36 Posts
Default Re: Enter Primary Master HDD User password

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drizzles View Post
Could be a student playing a prank ... I'm not sure of any password programs that could get that either ... have you scrolled through MGs downloads section to check for such programs??
I do not know how they even got into it. All the computers were setup with deep freeze so even if they did mess with something it wouldn't retain it on a restart, or should i say it shouldn't.
__________________
"If you don't like my fire...Don't come around.. Cuz' I'm gonna burn one doooowwwwnnn."
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-04-09, 06:37
abz1nthe's Avatar
abz1nthe abz1nthe is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NH
Posts: 891
Thanks: 88
Thanked 36 Times in 36 Posts
Default Re: Enter Primary Master HDD User password

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serious Sam View Post
I've never heard of a way around that one, you won't even be able to slave it to get the data off of it with a HD password. The teacher would HAVE to know the password though otherwise they couldn't use it. Someone had to manually enter that p/w
Is this something that was preset by Acer or you think a student some how got in to set one?
__________________
"If you don't like my fire...Don't come around.. Cuz' I'm gonna burn one doooowwwwnnn."
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 06-04-09, 06:42
collinsl's Avatar
collinsl collinsl is offline
MajorGeeks Rather Average Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 2,929
Thanks: 46
Thanked 430 Times in 400 Posts
Default Re: Enter Primary Master HDD User password

This sounds like a system start up password, commonly accessed through the BIOS. Are the BIOSes on your computers password protected?

I would think that resetting the CMOS should solve this issue.
__________________
"Tombstone has two dance halls, a dozen gambling places and more than 20 saloons. Still, there is hope, for I know of two Bibles in town." -- Judge Wells Spicer in 1881
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-04-09, 12:22
abz1nthe's Avatar
abz1nthe abz1nthe is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NH
Posts: 891
Thanks: 88
Thanked 36 Times in 36 Posts
Default Re: Enter Primary Master HDD User password

Quote:
Originally Posted by collinsl View Post
This sounds like a system start up password, commonly accessed through the BIOS. Are the BIOSes on your computers password protected?

I would think that resetting the CMOS should solve this issue.
alrighty ya that was my last resort because it's such a pain taking the laptop apart :P I'll give it a shot and let you guys know.

Thanks a bunch!

-Adam
__________________
"If you don't like my fire...Don't come around.. Cuz' I'm gonna burn one doooowwwwnnn."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Primary master fails pisapiag Software 2 09-19-06 11:35
Primary Master Disk Failure 65535 babyturk Hardware 0 06-06-06 21:36
Assy'ed new PC, how to change HDD to primary master? Loschonorg Hardware 6 04-25-06 20:18
Please guide me - confused with SATA PATA Primary Secondary master Slave...!!! sunandoghosh Hardware 0 10-14-05 07:16
I'm getting "Primary Master Hard Disk Fail" Error edi98 Hardware 8 11-29-04 11:50


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger