MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-19-09, 16:13
boob boob is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Default laptop display as a second monitor problem

Hi there,

In short; I want to make my Samsung monitor behave as if it were the Laptop's MAIN monitor or Primary monitor.

In long and detailed; I can use it just fine as an extension of my laptop's screenspace with the "extend my windows desktop on to this monitor" checkbox but the problem I am having is it behaves as if the new monitor is an extra bit of space, I dont want this, I want the new monitor to behave as if it is the Master, the Primary, the Main monitor since its far better than the slowly dying laptop display I have.

I have googled this issue a fair bit, there are a few complications, like the Nvidia taking control of some of the settings which makes it strange to work with.

Or there is the Fn + F5 to switch monitor thing, when I use this feature it does it's job at switching monitor so I think 'ahh now It must be on the New monitor as the default' so I extend to the laptop and it just switches back to the laptop display being the Primary and the other monitor as secondary.

The only way I seem to be able to have the Samsung as my Primary is to have the laptop display not in use at all.

Even in the Nvidia Nview panel thing when you chose 'Dual mode', you can set which monitor is primary and secondary but the 'set as primary' checkbox is Greyd out.

There is a Drop down selector thing, where you have 2 options.


1. Primary display Laptop monitor and secodary Samsung

or

2. Primary display Laptop monitor and secondary Samsung

Yeah... -__- whats up with that?


Basically I really really dont want to be draging windows over from the laptop to the samsung monitor every time I open something up, on top of that, 3D Studio Max doesn't like operating on a secondary monitor apparently, the mouse jumps to the laptop whenever I try to rotate the view...

It can all work great but only if i use JUST the Samsung monitor, as soon as I try to use both it makes the laptop the Primary all the time. And I would love the extra space the laptop screen can add for following tutorials and stuff. ;_;
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 06-24-09, 07:42
Drizzles's Avatar
Drizzles Drizzles is offline
First Sergeant
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Queensland, Australia
Posts: 751
Thanks: 20
Thanked 71 Times in 67 Posts
Default Re: Default laptop display as a second monitor problem

if you use the fn+f5 keys you should be able to switch to the alternate screen. Also if you have the alternate monitor plugged in when you boot up, it should automatically load the external monitor as the main.
__________________
:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-24-09, 10:01
boob boob is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Default laptop display as a second monitor problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drizzles View Post
if you use the fn+f5 keys you should be able to switch to the alternate screen. Also if you have the alternate monitor plugged in when you boot up, it should automatically load the external monitor as the main.
I do have the alternate monitor plugged in when I boot and yes your right it does load the external monitor as the main but the problem is when I try to then extend to the laptop montitor.

This is as clear as I can say this; (Whenever I try to use 2 monitors) it ALWAYS makes the laptop monitor the Primary, regardless of how I booted/ extended to etc.

And Fn+F5 just alternates between monitors when only one is in use (so no good for me since I want to use both) Fn+F5 actually doesn't work when you have 2 monitors in use.

Thanks for replying Drizzles.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-24-09, 11:51
Drizzles's Avatar
Drizzles Drizzles is offline
First Sergeant
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Queensland, Australia
Posts: 751
Thanks: 20
Thanked 71 Times in 67 Posts
Default Re: Default laptop display as a second monitor problem

I don't know maybe try updating drivers from the NVidia website (that way you get their upgraded application with it), and using the Set Up Multiple Displays function again ...
__________________
:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-24-09, 12:33
fairjoeblue fairjoeblue is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 94
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default Re: Default laptop display as a second monitor problem

This will only work if you want to use the external monitor ONLY .

Set it to make the external monitor the primary then go to the Control panel.
double click the System icon
Click the Hardware tab
Open the Device Manager
Expand the listing for the Monitors
Eight click on the laptop monitor & disable it .

If you want to use both monitors but make the external the primary I don't think it will work.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 06-24-09, 12:40
Drizzles's Avatar
Drizzles Drizzles is offline
First Sergeant
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Queensland, Australia
Posts: 751
Thanks: 20
Thanked 71 Times in 67 Posts
Default Re: Default laptop display as a second monitor problem

No he def wants to use them both ...
__________________
:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap :***:crap
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-24-09, 12:55
boob boob is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Default laptop display as a second monitor problem

I did get the latest Nvidia driver and yes it gave me a new Nview control panel with which to control all my video carding needs, unfortunately the same thing as last time happens.

It always makes the laptop monitor the primary every time you either extend desktop or use 'dual view' in the nview settings. I have tried all the other modes but sadly it doesn't seem to want to work the way I want it to.

Is there some kind of lock deep inside windows that makes this happen? How about down at Bios level, I had a look in there for display options but I didnt find anything, only the usual boot from stuff, hardware enabling like multicore err and some other stuff like that >_>

"If you want to use both monitors but make the external the primary I don't think it will work." D: nuuu dont say that! (I dont actually mind Alt+tabbing I'm just after the luxoury side of things)


Thanks for the replies so far guys
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-24-09, 13:13
fairjoeblue fairjoeblue is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 94
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default Re: Default laptop display as a second monitor problem

I've offerered all the input I can.
I simply don't use nvidia video cards so I'm not familure with their settings & controls.
If it was ATI I'd know exactly how it works.

Sometimes you simply can't make a computer do what you want it to. laptops especially.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-24-09, 13:15
boob boob is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Default laptop display as a second monitor problem

/:


dam

thanks anyway
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-24-09, 14:52
studiot's Avatar
studiot studiot is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Somerset UK
Posts: 4,188
Thanks: 4
Thanked 125 Times in 119 Posts
Default Re: Default laptop display as a second monitor problem

I didn't see a note of the laptop make, but look in the BIOS for some settings.

Unfortunately the BIOS for some makes are lamentably sparse, but you may be lucky.
__________________
'If it ain't broke'
Fix it until it is'
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 06-25-09, 09:56
SomeDude SomeDude is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Default laptop display as a second monitor problem

You said you're using the NView panel. If you don't need to have the laptop screen as a secondary space have you tried running dualview in clone mode? It takes the exact same screen that you have infront of you on the primary and casts it onto the secondary. Everything you do would show up on both monitors though unfortunately because I don't believe you can turn laptop monitors off without turning the laptop itself off can you? But atleast you'll have your desktop and programs/games etc.. on the monitor. Sorry if that's no help dude.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
display, dual, laptop, monitor, primary

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broken Laptop Display - Using External Monitor volgrad86 Hardware 5 05-15-08 16:12
VERY strange laptop display problem! hopperdave2000 Software 3 05-25-07 20:10
Laptop display problem LDoon Hardware 0 03-01-07 16:45
Monitor Display Problem jeffa123 Hardware 0 09-30-06 15:29
dual-monitor display problem n_season Hardware 0 03-06-06 22:01


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:02.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger