MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Malware Removal
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Malware Removal Malware removal forum. Please see the READ ME FIRST thread before you post. Forum is staffed by a small number of volunteers, please be patient.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-09, 22:10
reb0957 reb0957 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Virtumonde.sdn spybot sees it

I have virtumonde.sdn showing up on every run of spybot. Nothing else on the Read & Run sticky sees it. Can you point me in the right direction?
TIA!
If I attached or did something wrong let me know. The crazy thing is virtumonde isnt doing anything that I can tell. It just shows up in Spybot nothing else!
Attached Files
File Type: txt mbam-log-2009-06-20 (16-15-48).txt (833 Bytes, 2 views)
File Type: txt ComboFix.txt (16.7 KB, 0 views)
File Type: txt rrlog.txt (734 Bytes, 0 views)
File Type: txt SUPERAntiSpyware Scan Log - 06-20-2009 - 15-02-08..txt (465 Bytes, 2 views)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 06-20-09, 22:28
reb0957 reb0957 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Virtumonde.sdn spybot sees it

attached is the spybot log
Attached Files
File Type: txt spybotlog.txt (2.1 KB, 5 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-21-09, 22:29
reb0957 reb0957 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Virtumonde.sdn spybot sees it

In my impatience I decided to uninstall and reinstall spybot. Reinstalled reimmunized and restarted spybot. virtumonde.sdn is still there.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-23-09, 11:47
TimW's Avatar
TimW TimW is offline
MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The recesses of my mind!
Posts: 46,666
Thanks: 445
Thanked 4,643 Times in 4,383 Posts
Default Re: Virtumonde.sdn spybot sees it

We still need the MGLogs.zip.

In the meantime, use windows explorer to find and delete:
C:\WINDOWS\system32\rpcnet.dll
__________________
Major cake licker.
YCLAHTW, BYCMHD!!

Major Geeks on Facebook

Major Geeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-23-09, 11:54
reb0957 reb0957 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Virtumonde.sdn spybot sees it

mG log
Attached Files
File Type: zip MGlogs.zip (100.8 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 06-23-09, 11:58
reb0957 reb0957 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Virtumonde.sdn spybot sees it

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimW View Post
We still need the MGLogs.zip.

In the meantime, use windows explorer to find and delete:
C:\WINDOWS\system32\rpcnet.dll
Cannot remove access is denied. I have tried this in safe mode as the administrator also. It gives me the same answer.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-23-09, 12:06
TimW's Avatar
TimW TimW is offline
MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The recesses of my mind!
Posts: 46,666
Thanks: 445
Thanked 4,643 Times in 4,383 Posts
Default Re: Virtumonde.sdn spybot sees it

Still need the MGLogs.zip.

In the meantime:

Please disable all anti-virus and anti-spyware programs while we do the following (re-enable when you are finished):

* Make sure that combofix.exe that you downloaded while doing the READ & RUN ME is on your Desktop but Do not run it!
If it is not on your Desktop, the below will not work.
* Also make sure you have shut down all protection software (antivirus, antispyware...etc) or they may get in the way of allowing ComboFix to run properly.
* If ComboFix tells you it needs to update to a new version, make sure you allow it to update.
* Open Notepad and copy/paste the text in the below code box into it (make sure you scroll all the way down in the code box to get all lines selected ):
Code:
KILLALL::

File:
C:\WINDOWS\system32\rpcnet.dll 	

Extra::
* Save the above as CFscript.txt and make sure you save it to the same location (should be on your Desktop) as ComboFix.exe
* At this point, you MUST EXIT ALL BROWSERS NOW before continuing!
* You should have both the ComboFix.exe and CFScript.txt icons on your Desktop.
If it asks you to overide the prvevious file with the same name, click YES.
* Now use your mouse to drag CFscript.txt on top of ComboFix.exe

* Follow the prompts.
* When it finishes, a log will be produced named c:\combofix.txt
* I will ask for this log below

Note:

Do not mouseclick combofix's window while it is running. That may cause it to stall.
__________________
Major cake licker.
YCLAHTW, BYCMHD!!

Major Geeks on Facebook

Major Geeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-23-09, 14:52
reb0957 reb0957 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Virtumonde.sdn spybot sees it

Here is the new log! Running SBS&D now.
Attached Files
File Type: txt ComboFix.txt (16.1 KB, 5 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-23-09, 15:29
reb0957 reb0957 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Virtumonde.sdn spybot sees it

spybot still finds it and says it is fixed. But then when spybot starts on restart it finds it again says it is fixed and doesnt fix it.
Attached is the most recent SBS&D log.
Attached Files
File Type: txt spybotlog.txt (27.9 KB, 1 views)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-23-09, 17:10
TimW's Avatar
TimW TimW is offline
MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The recesses of my mind!
Posts: 46,666
Thanks: 445
Thanked 4,643 Times in 4,383 Posts
Default Re: Virtumonde.sdn spybot sees it

Typo error, sorry.

* Make sure that combofix.exe that you downloaded while doing the READ & RUN ME is on your Desktop but Do not run it!
If it is not on your Desktop, the below will not work.
* Also make sure you have shut down all protection software (antivirus, antispyware...etc) or they may get in the way of allowing ComboFix to run properly.
* If ComboFix tells you it needs to update to a new version, make sure you allow it to update.
* Open Notepad and copy/paste the text in the below code box into it (make sure you scroll all the way down in the code box to get all lines selected ):
Code:
KILLALL::

File::
C:\WINDOWS\system32\rpcnet.dll 	

Extra::
* Save the above as CFscript.txt and make sure you save it to the same location (should be on your Desktop) as ComboFix.exe
* At this point, you MUST EXIT ALL BROWSERS NOW before continuing!
* You should have both the ComboFix.exe and CFScript.txt icons on your Desktop.
If it asks you to overide the prvevious file with the same name, click YES.
* Now use your mouse to drag CFscript.txt on top of ComboFix.exe

* Follow the prompts.
* When it finishes, a log will be produced named c:\combofix.txt
* I will ask for this log below

Note:

Do not mouseclick combofix's window while it is running. That may cause it to stall.

Now run the C:\MGtools\GetLogs.bat file by double clicking on it (Note: if using Vista, don't double click, use right click and select Run As Administrator).

Then attach the below logs:

* C:\ComboFix.txt
* C:\MGlogs.zip

Make sure you tell me how things are working now!
__________________
Major cake licker.
YCLAHTW, BYCMHD!!

Major Geeks on Facebook

Major Geeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 06-24-09, 09:10
reb0957 reb0957 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Virtumonde.sdn spybot sees it

Attached are the new logs and will run SPS&D again in a few minutes.

Was there anything in the code box below the EXTRA:: If so, How do I get below the EXTRA::? If not disregard the question.
TIA!
Attached Files
File Type: txt ComboFix.txt (18.6 KB, 3 views)
File Type: zip MGlogs.zip (99.5 KB, 2 views)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-24-09, 10:14
reb0957 reb0957 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Virtumonde.sdn spybot sees it

Thanks so much! That appears to have fixed the issue. I have run SpyBot 3 times and it hasn't picked it up again.

Since I have started this little task I have installed several things on my cpu.
I will put the list below. Which ones should be kept, which ones removed, and what is the best way to remove them?
Thanks AGAIN!

hijackthis
ERUNT
INTREGOPT (came with ERUNT)
combofix
MGtools

Again thanks for all the help!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-26-09, 11:15
TimW's Avatar
TimW TimW is offline
MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The recesses of my mind!
Posts: 46,666
Thanks: 445
Thanked 4,643 Times in 4,383 Posts
Default Re: Virtumonde.sdn spybot sees it

This is what we suggest you do:

If you are not having any other malware problems, it is time to do our final steps:
  1. We recommend you keep SUPERAntiSpyware and Malwarebytes Anti-Malware for scanning/removal of malware. Unless you purchase them, they provide no real-time protection. They are useful as backup scanners.They do not use any significant amount of resources ( except a little disk space ) until you run a scan.
  2. If we used Pocket Killbox during your cleanup, do the below
    • Run Pocket Killbox and select File, Cleanup, Delete All Backups
  3. If we had you use ComboFix, uninstall ComboFix (This uninstall will only work as written if you installed ComboFix on your Desktop like we requested.)
    • Click START then RUN and enter the below into the run box and then click OK. Note the quotes are required
    • "%userprofile%\Desktop\combofix" /u
      • Notes: The space between the combofix" and the /u, it must be there.
      • This will uninstall ComboFix and also reset hidden files and folders settings back to Windows defaults.
  4. Any other miscellaneous tools we may have had you install or download can be uninstalled and deleted.
  5. If we had you download any registry patches like fixme.reg or fixWLK.reg (or any others), you can delete these files now.
  6. If running Vista, it is time to make sure you have reenabled UAC by double clicking on the C:\MGtools\enableUAC.reg file and allowing it to be added to the registry.
  7. Go to add/remove programs and uninstall HijackThis.
  8. Goto the C:\MGtools folder and find the MGclean.bat file. Double click on this file to run this cleanup program that will remove files and folders related to MGtools and some other items from our cleaning procedures.
  9. If you are running Vista, Windows XP or Windows ME, do the below:
    • Refer to the cleaning procedures in step 3 the READ ME for your Window version and see the instructions to Disable System Restore which will flush your Restore Points.
    • Then reboot and Enable System Restore to create a new clean Restore Point.
  10. After doing the above, you should work thru the below link:

__________________
Major cake licker.
YCLAHTW, BYCMHD!!

Major Geeks on Facebook

Major Geeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spybot & Virtumonde Shadowrider Malware Removal 1 03-11-09 12:43
virtumonde on spybot only JoeyJoeJoeShabadu Malware Removal 8 02-28-09 14:11
wireless adapter sees router but no internet angerbill Hardware 2 08-21-08 19:49
Dell sees two floppy drives!!! Mliston406 Hardware 0 07-13-07 16:22
Compaq sees lan but not internet beezy green Hardware 1 06-22-07 11:28


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:02.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger