MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-09-09, 13:47
JAYEJ90 JAYEJ90 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: I station in Germany
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default No sound

Here is my computer info. I have no sound right now, was wondering if somebody can help.

OS Name Microsoft® Windows Vista Black Edition™ 2009
Version 6.0.6001 Service Pack 1 Build 6001
Other OS Description Not Available
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Name JAYS-PC
System Manufacturer alienware
System Model D900T
System Type X86-based PC
Processor Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.80GHz, 3800 Mhz, 1 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date Phoenix Technologies LTD 6.00, 10/25/2005
SMBIOS Version 2.31
Windows Directory C:\Windows
System Directory C:\Windows\system32
Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Locale United States
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "6.0.6001.18000"
User Name Jays-PC\Jay's
Time Zone Eastern Daylight Time
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 2.00 GB
Total Physical Memory 2.00 GB
Available Physical Memory 861 MB
Total Virtual Memory 4.23 GB
Available Virtual Memory 2.52 GB
Page File Space 2.29 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 08-09-09, 14:17
dlb's Avatar
dlb dlb is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8,568
Thanks: 422
Thanked 868 Times in 738 Posts
Default Re: No sound

Hi! The report above tells us very little about the PC, except that it has a questionable "release" of Vista installed and we don't know if it's 32bit or 64bit, and that the PC is an "Alienware", but they dion't actually make their own PCs, they're made by other OEMs, and this time, it's Clevo. Unfortunately, neither Clevo or Alienware supports Vista with this model (BTW- the Clevo model is D900T, the Alienware model is Area51 m7700). So I downloaded and extracted the WinXP drivers, poked around the INF files and then found the Vista drivers.... here's the links:
Chipset Driver (Vista 32/64): http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Deta...ista*&lang=eng
Audio Driver (Vista 32/64): http://www.majorgeeks.com/Realtek_Hi...n_7_d5513.html
Install the chipset software first, restart the PC when it's done, then install the audio driver. Since you're running an "unofficial" version of Vista, you may have consistent troubles with drivers (and other things), so be prepared, but if the Vista is stable, you should have no problems with the drivers I linked to. Good luck! Let us know how it goes!


[dlb]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-09, 17:13
JAYEJ90 JAYEJ90 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: I station in Germany
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No sound

Thanks I really didn't know what you talking about OEM and Clevo, but the

): http://www.majorgeeks.com/Realtek_Hi...n_7_d5513.html is the one I need
You is the man, Thanks again I'll try to get some more info.
Oh my friend put the window black edition, I didn't know if it unofficial or what. But I'm try what you said and get back with you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-09, 11:13
dlb's Avatar
dlb dlb is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8,568
Thanks: 422
Thanked 868 Times in 738 Posts
Default Re: No sound

Quote:
Originally Posted by JAYEJ90
I really didn't know what you talking about OEM and Clevo
Oh, I was just rambling on about how Alienware doesn't actually make their own laptops. They hire out other companies to build them, and your particular model was made by the Taiwanese company Clevo; they make laptops for other companies too. I was clearing up the fact that your laptop actually has two model numbers, one from Clevo and one from Alienware. Not a big deal.

Anyway- install the chipset drivers first, restart the PC, then install the sound drivers and all should be well.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-09, 21:07
JAYEJ90 JAYEJ90 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: I station in Germany
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No sound

Hey, it worked I would like to thank you, for the advice and everything is better, I got my sound back, yea!! Now I need to get it faster, it load slow, but I am satisfied with the help.

Thanks Jayej90 out
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Removing old sound files after installing new sound card? redryder Hardware 19 12-08-08 08:03
Minor Sound Problem - Lost Startup/Shutdown Sound arky41 Hardware 2 08-27-07 13:05
Sound not working, even after installing the sound card through mother board. NuB@Useast Hardware 6 10-10-05 09:32
5.1 Sound only working in sound-test not in action (winamp, games, etc.) Wireflyer Software 6 01-09-05 19:22


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:16.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger