MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-09, 17:04
keni254's Avatar
keni254 keni254 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Wine Country, CA
Posts: 183
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Missing audio codec

Running XP SP3, and a downloaded video give me to following, a pparantly an audio codec is missing but I can't tell which one it is or what I need to download.

C:\Documents and Settings\David\My Documents\Downloads\New Folder (3)\ChannelIslands.avi::Audio 1

Media Type 0:
--------------------------
Audio: 0x6771 48000Hz stereo 128Kbps

AM_MEDIA_TYPE:
majortype: MEDIATYPE_Audio {73647561-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71}
subtype: Unknown GUID Name {00006771-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71}
formattype: FORMAT_WaveFormatEx {05589F81-C356-11CE-BF01-00AA0055595A}
bFixedSizeSamples: 1
bTemporalCompression: 0
lSampleSize: 12000
cbFormat: 26

WAVEFORMATEX:
wFormatTag: 0x6771
nChannels: 2
nSamplesPerSec: 48000
nAvgBytesPerSec: 16000
nBlockAlign: 1
wBitsPerSample: 16
cbSize: 8 (extra bytes)

pbFormat:
0000: 71 67 02 00 80 bb 00 00 80 3e 00 00 01 00 10 00 qg....>......
0010: 08 00|01 02 02 20 31 12 01 20 ..... 1..

Can anyone provide guidance? I currently have K Lite codec pack installed and this is the first that it has not been able to handle.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 10-07-09, 18:27
Just Playin's Avatar
Just Playin Just Playin is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: At the bottom of Bass Lake
Posts: 3,881
Thanks: 67
Thanked 316 Times in 273 Posts
Default Re: Missing audio codec

There may be nothing you can do. I found this which seems to be the same problem you are having.
http://www.videohelp.com/forum/archi...c-t350599.html
Quote:
To whom this may interest:
:
Although FFmpeg has introduced a solution to put Vorbis audio into AVI files,
this "extension" is not compatible with existing Vorbis decoders for DirectShow and ACM.
Putting Vorbis in an AVI container is very problematic. The way Nandub stored Vorbis
audio streams in AVI files occasionally caused desychronisation when seeking.
__________________
The most dangerous man in the world is the one with nothing to lose.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-09, 00:27
Denise_M's Avatar
Denise_M Denise_M is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,352
Thanks: 30
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Missing audio codec

Installing mega codec packs isn't a good idea. Most duplicate the ones you already have installed when you installed Windows or downloaded other programs, i.e., VLC Media Player, and can cause problems.
__________________
Denise
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-15-09, 17:39
keni254's Avatar
keni254 keni254 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Wine Country, CA
Posts: 183
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: Missing audio codec

Problem sovled.
I got a copy of GSpot and it identifed an audio codec 0x6771 Ogg Vorbis 3 PLUS as not installed. I Googled that and the first page listed was someone with the same problem who had found the missing codec and posted it. Solution is at

http://www.kevblog.co.uk/114048/AVI_...Vorbis_3_PLUS/

Extract the winrar, right click the "vorbisacm.inf" file and select install. Problem file was tested and now has audio.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-15-09, 21:16
dlb's Avatar
dlb dlb is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8,568
Thanks: 422
Thanked 868 Times in 738 Posts
Default Re: Missing audio codec

Glad you got it solved, but...... for future reference, you had the audio codec info already, you posted it above in your first post:
Quote:
Originally Posted by keni254
Audio: 0x6771 48000Hz stereo 128Kbps
. . . . .
FormatTag: 0x6771
Just a heads up
__________________
PhenomII X4 955BE 3.20ghz; 750+320+250HDD; 6gbDDR2; 2xDVDRW; GTX570; 900w PSU; Win7X64
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 10-15-09, 21:51
keni254's Avatar
keni254 keni254 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Wine Country, CA
Posts: 183
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: Missing audio codec

That's why I'm still a private first class.

Thanks, next time I'll google the number and not look for a word.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't find audio codec, anyone help? Akumos Software 2 05-10-08 07:39
USB Audio CODEC maryanjo Software 0 06-18-07 15:23
looking for an audio codec Minus Software 1 01-22-05 15:06
Need help finding audio drivers (codec?) Shang Software 11 05-03-04 21:12
Missing codec? S0lo Software 4 02-24-03 12:07


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:22.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger