MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Malware Removal
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Malware Removal Malware removal forum. Please see the READ ME FIRST thread before you post. Forum is staffed by a small number of volunteers, please be patient.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-09, 09:10
Mountaindew7up Mountaindew7up is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default No Network Connections

Hi, no network adapters appear in the 'Network Connections' window and I don't have access to the internet. Also, when I start the computer a message box appears on the login screen stating that 'lsass.exe - System Error, Object Name not found'. If I click 'OK' on the message box the computer will reboot but if I ignore the message and login I can then close the message box and the computer doesn't reboot. Also, there is no option to change to the Windows XP theme in the Display Properties.

This is my cousin's computer that was badly infected with numerous viruses and malware. When I first got the computer the login screen didn't appear just the login box and it would take several minutes to login.

I've completed the Windows XP Cleaning Procedure and I'm attaching my log files. I believe that most the infections have been removed because SuperAntiSpyware and MalwareBytes now report no infections. You should know that the logs will not show all the infections that were on the computer because I had used my UBCD4Win cd and ran SuperAntispyware, Spybot Search and Destroy, and Dr. Web CureIt before I started the Windows XP Cleaning Procedure.

Any help will be appreciated, thanks.
Attached Files
File Type: log SUPERAntiSpyware Scan Log - 11-09-2009 - 22-05-46.log (1.0 KB, 2 views)
File Type: txt mbam-log-2009-11-10 (12-30-08).txt (131.2 KB, 2 views)
File Type: txt ComboFix.txt (43.0 KB, 2 views)
File Type: txt RRlog.txt (11.7 KB, 1 views)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 11-12-09, 09:12
Mountaindew7up Mountaindew7up is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No Network Connections

Here is my MGtools log.
Attached Files
File Type: zip MGlogs.zip (114.0 KB, 1 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-13-09, 14:36
TimW's Avatar
TimW TimW is offline
MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The recesses of my mind!
Posts: 45,948
Thanks: 400
Thanked 4,456 Times in 4,232 Posts
Default Re: No Network Connections

Why is this system running without AV protection? Apparently at one time you had Windows System Defender installed.
Quote:
C:\Documents and Settings\Christina\Application Data\Windows System Defender (Rogue.WindowsSystemDefender) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.
SAS is not up to date. You will need to uninstall it and install the latest version!!

Please use add/remove programs to uninstall:
Viewpoint Media Player <-- should have been uninstalled in step 1 of the READ ME
J2SE Runtime Environment 5.0 Update 3"
Java 2 Runtime Environment, SE v1.4.2_03

You need to install an AV program asap. In the meantime, do this:

* Make sure that combofix.exe that you downloaded while doing the READ & RUN ME is on your Desktop but Do not run it!
If it is not on your Desktop, the below will not work.
* Also make sure you have shut down all protection software (antivirus, antispyware...etc) or they may get in the way of allowing ComboFix to run properly.
* If ComboFix tells you it needs to update to a new version, make sure you allow it to update.
* Open Notepad and copy/paste the text in the below code box into it (make sure you scroll all the way down in the code box to get all lines selected ):
Code:
KILLALL::

File::
c:\windows\system32\48.tmp
c:\windows\system32\47.tmp
c:\windows\system32\3F.tmp
c:\windows\system32\32.tmp
c:\windows\system32\2D.tmp
c:\windows\system32\29.tmp
c:\windows\system32\45.tmp
c:\windows\system32\43.tmp
c:\windows\system32\42.tmp
c:\windows\system32\41.tmp
c:\windows\system32\40.tmp
c:\windows\system32\3E.tmp
c:\windows\system32\3D.tmp
c:\windows\system32\3C.tmp
c:\windows\system32\37.tmp
c:\windows\system32\36.tmp
c:\windows\system32\35.tmp
c:\windows\system32\30.tmp
c:\windows\system32\2F.tmp
c:\windows\system32\2A.tmp
c:\windows\system32\24.tmp
c:\windows\system32\5.tmp
c:\windows\system32\23.tmp
c:\windows\system32\1B.tmp
c:\windows\system32\F.tmp
c:\windows\system32\20.tmp
c:\windows\system32\19.tmp
c:\windows\system32\15.tmp
c:\windows\system32\18.tmp
c:\windows\system32\13.tmp
c:\windows\system32\E.tmp
c:\windows\system32\3.tmp
c:\windows\system32\D.tmp
c:\windows\system32\8.tmp
c:\windows\system32\10.tmp
c:\windows\system32\ED.tmp
c:\documents and settings\Christina\E2.tmp
c:\documents and settings\Christina\DD.tmp
c:\windows\system32\8A08F56ED7.sys
c:\windows\system32\5048182.exe
c:\windows\system32\6769983.exe
c:\windows\system32\uses32.dat
c:\windows\system32\2172663.exe
c:\windows\TEMP\VRT1F.tmp
c:\windows\TEMP\VRT22.tmp
c:\windows\TEMP\VRT6.tmp

Folder::
C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\c945021
c:\program files\MessengerPlus! 3

FCopy::
C:\WINDOWS\ServicePackFiles\i386\spoolsv.exe | c:\windows\system32\spoolsv.exe
* Save the above as CFscript.txt and make sure you save it to the same location (should be on your Desktop) as ComboFix.exe
* At this point, you MUST EXIT ALL BROWSERS NOW before continuing!
* You should have both the ComboFix.exe and CFScript.txt icons on your Desktop.
If it asks you to overide the prvevious file with the same name, click YES.
* Now use your mouse to drag CFscript.txt on top of ComboFix.exe

* Follow the prompts.
* When it finishes, a log will be produced named c:\combofix.txt
* I will ask for this log below

Note:

Do not mouseclick combofix's window while it is running. That may cause it to stall.

Now install an AV program and run it. Then uninstall SAS and download ( or copy via cd from another computer if you still can't access the web) the latest version and run it.

Now download and install:
Java Runtime 6

Now run the C:\MGtools\GetLogs.bat file by double clicking on it (Note: if using Vista, don't double click, use right click and select Run As Administrator).

Then attach the below logs:
* New log from running SAS
* C:\ComboFix.txt
* C:\MGlogs.zip

Make sure you tell me how things are working now!
__________________
Major cake licker.
YCLAHTW, BYCMHD!!

Major Geeks on Facebook

Major Geeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-15-09, 01:20
Mountaindew7up Mountaindew7up is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No Network Connections

Thanks for the reply, AVG 8.5 was installed on the computer but I uninstalled it because I knew that Combofix has issues with AVG running and I had every intention of installing AVG 9 after I cleaned the computer.

Windows System Defender was removed when I first cleaned the computer but Security Center was still reporting that it was running as the computer's virus protection. After doing some research I deleted the Repository directory in c:\windows\system32\wbem and this cleared the Security Center false report.

I manually updated SAS and Combofix and ran the script. After completing your instructions I still have the same problems. It seems that many of the windows services can't start for some reason for example ICS for Windows Firewall.
Attached Files
File Type: log SAS- 11-14-2009 - 12-04-59.log (465 Bytes, 1 views)
File Type: txt ComboFix.txt (23.4 KB, 3 views)
File Type: zip MGlogs.zip (145.3 KB, 3 views)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-17-09, 12:02
TimW's Avatar
TimW TimW is offline
MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The recesses of my mind!
Posts: 45,948
Thanks: 400
Thanked 4,456 Times in 4,232 Posts
Default Re: No Network Connections

Please go to start / run / and type:
sfc /scannow ( note the space between the c and the / ) and have your xp cd handy. Run it twice. Then after doing that go back to start / run / and type:
services.msc....now check that the services are either set to manual or automatic. Tell me what you find.
__________________
Major cake licker.
YCLAHTW, BYCMHD!!

Major Geeks on Facebook

Major Geeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 11-19-09, 09:13
Mountaindew7up Mountaindew7up is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No Network Connections

I ran sfc twice without any issues, wasn't asked for the XP cd. In the Services window only Alerter, Messenger, Net. Tcp Port Sharing, and Remote Access are disabled all other services are either Automatic or Manual.

However, it appears that some services that should be started aren't, for example Themes. I tried to manually start the Themes service and a window popped up stating 'Error 2: The system cannot find the file specified.'. I checked the executable path and it was 'C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\VRT1F.tmp', I'm guessing this was changed by some malware or virus. However, I cannot change the executable file path from within that window. I believe this is why some of the services are not starting the file paths have been changed. I also checked the service Netman and the executable path has been changed to 'C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\VRT1F.tmp'.

Is there away that I can change back the executable path for the services that should be running.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-19-09, 09:32
Mountaindew7up Mountaindew7up is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No Network Connections

I found that you can manually change the executable file path for a service by editing the imagepath for the service in the registry. I changed the imagepath for the Themes service to the correct one and the service started. I am now able to change the theme back to Windows XP.

Do I have to manually change the execuatable path for all the services that aren't running or is there a batch file I can run or create to automatically do this for me?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-23-09, 12:48
TimW's Avatar
TimW TimW is offline
MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The recesses of my mind!
Posts: 45,948
Thanks: 400
Thanked 4,456 Times in 4,232 Posts
Default Re: No Network Connections

Let's do this as I may have caused this issue.

Please disable all anti-virus and anti-spyware programs while we do the following (re-enable when you are finished):

* Make sure that combofix.exe that you downloaded while doing the READ & RUN ME is on your Desktop but Do not run it!
If it is not on your Desktop, the below will not work.
* Also make sure you have shut down all protection software (antivirus, antispyware...etc) or they may get in the way of allowing ComboFix to run properly.
* If ComboFix tells you it needs to update to a new version, make sure you allow it to update.
* Open Notepad and copy/paste the text in the below code box into it (make sure you scroll all the way down in the code box to get all lines selected ):
Code:
KILLALL::

DeQuarantine:: 
C:\Qoobox\Quarantine\c:\windows\TEMP\VRT1F.tmp.vir
C:\Qoobox\Quarantine\c:\windows\TEMP\VRT22.tmp.vir
C:\Qoobox\Quarantine\c:\windows\TEMP\VRT6.tmp.vir
QUIT::
* Save the above as CFscript.txt and make sure you save it to the same location (should be on your Desktop) as ComboFix.exe
* At this point, you MUST EXIT ALL BROWSERS NOW before continuing!
* You should have both the ComboFix.exe and CFScript.txt icons on your Desktop.
If it asks you to overide the prvevious file with the same name, click YES.
* Now use your mouse to drag CFscript.txt on top of ComboFix.exe

* Follow the prompts.
* When it finishes, a log will be produced named c:\combofix.txt
* I will ask for this log below

Note:

Do not mouseclick combofix's window while it is running. That may cause it to stall.

Attach the two logs:
C:\DeQuarantine_log.txt
· C:\ComboFix.txt

Tell me if that resolves your issues.
__________________
Major cake licker.
YCLAHTW, BYCMHD!!

Major Geeks on Facebook

Major Geeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-17-09, 12:38
Mountaindew7up Mountaindew7up is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No Network Connections

I have to apologize for taking so long to reply to your last post (TimW). I have been very busy at work and with some home renovations. After my last post and before your last post I was able to solve all the remaining issues I had on the computer. The issue with the message box stating that 'lsass.exe - System Error, Object Name not found' was solved by going into the registry (HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services) and making sure that the services that used the file lsass.exe had the proper imagepath to the file (%SystemRoot%\system32\lsass.exe).

The issue with some of the services not starting was because the imagepath to the files were changed. I manually changed the imagepath for all services to there correct settings. I found at the website http://www.blackviper.com/WinXP/servicecfg.htm a list of all the windows services with their default settings and recommendations for some services that do not need to be running. By just clicking on the service name you get a detailed explanation of the service and the imagepath for the file; this site was really helpful.

It took awhile but I got everything working. I wasn’t able to run the combofix suggestions you had in your last post because by that time I had already returned the computer back to my cousin.
I appreciate you help and thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-20-09, 16:43
TimW's Avatar
TimW TimW is offline
MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The recesses of my mind!
Posts: 45,948
Thanks: 400
Thanked 4,456 Times in 4,232 Posts
Default Re: No Network Connections

Good to know.....and safe surfing!!
__________________
Major cake licker.
YCLAHTW, BYCMHD!!

Major Geeks on Facebook

Major Geeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Network Connections VBrave Hardware 1 04-24-09 06:57
Network connections are gone dragkhar Software 0 04-02-09 07:35
network connections sdeguzman Malware Removal 2 08-22-06 16:08
network connections for xp Tonglebeak Software 1 01-07-06 15:01
why 3 network connections? Grimmer Hardware 4 06-19-05 21:53


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:14.


MajorGeeks.Com Home Page
| Admin Tools | All In One | Anti-Spyware | Anti-Virus | Appearance | Backup | Benchmarking | BIOS | Browsers | Covert Ops |
Data Recovery | Diagnostics | Drive Cleaners | Drive Utilities | Drivers | Driver Tools Ergonomics | Firewalls | Games | Game Tweaks | Graphics | Input Devices | Internet Tools | Macintosh | Mail Utilities | Memory | Messaging | Monitoring | Microsoft | Multimedia | Networking | Office Tools | Process Management | Processor | Registry | Security | System Info | Toys | Video | Miscellaneous
|
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger