AMD 2100+ CPU Temp

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by kman, Aug 20, 2003.

1. kman

kman Private First Class

What is an average temp for the AMD 2100+ idle and under load? At what temp will it cause meltdown?:D

2. fleppen

fleppen Gumshoe

it'll break at 85*C

3. kman

kman Private First Class

Thanks.:D

4. Raider

Raider Private First Class

Just upgraded to a 2500 Barton from one of those. I averaged 36 C idle and 42 C really pushing it. I have a Cooler Master Heat Pipe and a Asus A7N8X Deluxe.

5. kman

kman Private First Class

With my fans turned to their lowest setting, ahhh the quiet, my temps are:

CPU:

idle 46C
    load 51C

Case:

idle 31C
    load 33C

How do these temps average? I am not using Artic Silver 3, I just have some thermal paste from radioshack. Would the Artic Silver reduce the cpu temps at all or is it a marketing tool?:cool:

6. suesman

suesman First Sergeant

I used that Radio Shack stuff at one point & yes the Artic Silver will reduce the temps. It did for me. I don't have actual numbers, but there was a definate difference.

7. fleppen

fleppen Gumshoe

AS3 reduced my temps with 6*C.

(from idling at 48*C to 42*C)

8. xopt1js

xopt1js Private E-2

AS3 reduced my temps 10 degrees on my 1700.:D

9. kilowatt

kilowatt Private E-2

I read a review of the different types of thermal paste and in the test there was no difference in any of the paste using the same heatsink and CPU. The author was very surprised that there was no difference as was I. Don't remember where I saw this though.

10. mudshot

mudshot Private First Class

I have used AMD, Coolmaster premium ans AS3

AMD approx 55C
    Coolmaster 55C
    AS3 54C

So for £15 of paste investment I got 1C reduction

For £7 investment in 120mm fan I got 5C reduction

Opening the case for free gets me 5C reduction

Im begining to believe that the only way to go with these new processors is water cooling - thats next months bonus for me :D

11. mudshot

mudshot Private First Class