Possible failing PSU/Not enough power...

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Zmodem, Dec 8, 2009.

1. Zmodem

Zmodem Private E-2

I have a coolermaster 600w PSU. Unfortunately, I can't seem to find it on the website, as the model I have has NO 6-pin PCI-e connector, nor does it have an 8. Anyways, on to more specs:

Mobo: Asus M3N78 Pro
    CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 7850 Black Edition 2.80Ghz
    Ram: 2x2GB Corsair extreme
    HDD: 1xMaxtor 300Gb SATA II; 1xSeagate 160GB EIDE; 1xMDT (Magnetic Data Technology) 320GB (Yes, I know this is a junk drive. Didn't know at the time)
    PCI-e: 1xEVGA GeForce 8600 GTS 512mb, needs additional power from 12V Rail, not a 6-pin PCI-e
    PCI: 1x802.11 Wireless Linksys Network Card
    USB: 1xLinksys Compact Wireless-G USB Adapter
    Drive: 1xLG Internal Super Multi DVD RW 22x Drive

Case: Thermaltake Armor VA8003BWS
    Fans: 1x25CM side fan (Blowing in); 1x12CM Silent Front fan (blowing in); 1x12CM Silent Rear Fan (Obviously, blowing out); 1x9CM Top Fan (Blowing out); 1x9CM Rear Fan (Blowing out)

PSU: CoolerMaster Cooling Power 600w w/fan, blowing out (der?)

OS: Windows XP Professional SP3 & Windows Vista Ultimate SP2

The reason I have 2 network cards is simple: The PCI one works in XP, but not in Vista (no vista compatible drivers). Read on for the explanation of why I can't stand using the USB one for either OS.

The motherboard+cpu+ram are all only 4 months old. I bought them all in August when I built this. Video Card is ~1 year old, and the HDs and PSU are about 3 1/2 years old.

Here are the 3 crazy situations that are happening that lead me to believe it's the PSU: