MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-29-03, 22:22
pirateclem pirateclem is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default 802.11g is it ready?

I am in the process of trying to set up a small wireless network with a linksys wrt54g router and wmp54g nic's. Everything installed and setup fine, problem is that the XP-OS machines disconect from the network every 3-5 minutes and have to be manually reconected. After speaking with linksys support it turns out this is a common problem with the wmp54g cards and none of their fixes help. So does anyone know of a fix or do I take them back? Any suggestions for a low-cost wireless solution that is stable? Should I look at 802.11b?

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 08-29-03, 22:35
Vlad902
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

b is much better for home network, all g is asking for war drivers which slows down your connection...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-29-03, 22:41
pirateclem pirateclem is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

this is a small office network. Sharing a few resources, just 4 workstations. I just want it stable at this point!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-29-03, 22:54
Vlad902
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

How far away are they?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-29-03, 23:05
pirateclem pirateclem is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

about 30 ft. One hallway between the two rooms.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 08-29-03, 23:18
Vlad902
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hell for 30 feet just run wire or if it's not an option use 802.11a....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-30-03, 09:51
pirateclem pirateclem is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

wire is not an option. What would be the difference between .11a and .11g?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-30-03, 11:56
Vlad902
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Well g is much farther and usually g routers cost much more money, a is very close and their routers generally cost less... Use a or b, you don't need anything above...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-30-03, 20:33
pirateclem pirateclem is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

is a and b more stable than the newer g hardware? Like I said the setup was no prob and when it works its slick. I just cant keep a connection.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-30-03, 21:12
da chicken's Avatar
da chicken da chicken is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 1,466
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

a and b are certified standards. g is currently in draft form.
__________________
"Those who will not reason are bigots; those who cannot are fools; and those who dare not are slaves." -- Lord Byron

Windows 2k/XP Stop Error and Bug Check Codes:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/DevTest_g/hh/DevTest_g/BCIntro_ea8b9fd0-2d81-4a04-a7ed-c1c6a80bd501.xml.asp
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 08-30-03, 21:34
pirateclem pirateclem is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the help. About what I figured, take back the hardware and get something else.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-01-03, 05:29
Adrynalyne's Avatar
Adrynalyne Adrynalyne is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 18,942
Thanks: 504
Thanked 1,065 Times in 718 Posts
Default

Just to clear something up.

802.11g hasnt been in draft form for a couple months.

It is a certified standard.


http://standards.ieee.org/cgi-bin/status?wireless

Linksys 802.11g network equipment is pure garbage. Their laptop cards are fine, but the desktop NICs, what you are using, are crap. I have installed three of them, and fought with three of them on different networks. The wrt54g (worked with two of them) has broken incoming logs on every firmware revision to date, doesn't support port triggering, and has only partial UPnP support (only works through MSN messenger 5.x or 6). It also doesn't have a built in firewall.

Haven't tried any othe brand, but I can say these bite.


Vlad, how is G more susceptible to war driving? At least in the realm of Linksys equipment, 802.11b still has the greater range, by far. Two networks I set up with 54g equipment have horrid range problems. What other factors come into play here? I was under the impression they both use a WEP or WPA encryption scheme.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-01-03, 08:46
Vlad902
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hmm... I didn't know of the horrid range, never used it myself...

Well WEP is mathematically insecure, and if they capture around 7 gigabytes of data (Usual amount to crack WEP) they can get the key.... So that's gone... Also the farther they are from the network and talking the network as a whole slows down until you get closer... So there's a problem....
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-01-03, 11:30
Joe's Avatar
Joe Joe is offline
=CENSORED=
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hey you people are funny. Anyway whats the concenus on netgear 802.11g. any good. any opinion on the up and coming netwgear wirelss a802.11g dsl/cable router with built in adsl modem. Hate calling it a modem.
__________________
I felt like putting a bullet between the eyes of every panda that wouldnt screw to save its species. I wanted to open the dump valves on oil tankers and smother all those French beaches Id never see.

I wanted to breathe smoke.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-01-03, 13:17
da chicken's Avatar
da chicken da chicken is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 1,466
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Adrynalyne
Just to clear something up.

802.11g hasnt been in draft form for a couple months.

It is a certified standard.
Nifty. Didn't know they'd done that. Looks like it was certified in June, and the last time I did serious looking at it was before then.
__________________
"Those who will not reason are bigots; those who cannot are fools; and those who dare not are slaves." -- Lord Byron

Windows 2k/XP Stop Error and Bug Check Codes:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/DevTest_g/hh/DevTest_g/BCIntro_ea8b9fd0-2d81-4a04-a7ed-c1c6a80bd501.xml.asp
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16  
Old 09-01-03, 13:26
da chicken's Avatar
da chicken da chicken is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 1,466
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Joe
Hate calling it a modem. [/B]
Yeah, I never understood that. Technically, a modem is a specific type of digital-analog converter (one that is used for transmitting computer data). AFAIK, broadband cable is realized partially by using a digital signal. I dunno, maybe it's a digital signal on an analog carrier? Anybody know anything about the physical/data link layers for cable, ISDN, and DSL?
__________________
"Those who will not reason are bigots; those who cannot are fools; and those who dare not are slaves." -- Lord Byron

Windows 2k/XP Stop Error and Bug Check Codes:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/DevTest_g/hh/DevTest_g/BCIntro_ea8b9fd0-2d81-4a04-a7ed-c1c6a80bd501.xml.asp
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-01-03, 16:14
pirateclem pirateclem is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Adrynalyne --

So what type of hardware do you suggest for a small business application. Incoming cable modem, splitting the connection between 4 systems. Cheap and dirty is where I want to stay. 11.b throughput would be fine, the g hardware was the same price so I thought I would give it a spin. Who's stuff do you suggest?

Thanks,
-p-
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-02-03, 11:12
Adrynalyne's Avatar
Adrynalyne Adrynalyne is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 18,942
Thanks: 504
Thanked 1,065 Times in 718 Posts
Default

The Linksys stuff would probably be fine if you stay with 802.11b. I've only had experience with their 802.11g equipment.

Better to stick with tried and true technology, IMO. If you are short range, then I would try 802.11a like previously mentioned, but keep your receipts handy, just in case.


If you want to get a feel for what brand offers what, I think you will find these forums extrremely helpful:

http://www.dslreports.com/forums/18
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-04-03, 12:29
{wizard}'s Avatar
{wizard} {wizard} is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: *CLASSIFIED DATA*
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

like you said chicken....the term "cable modem" is used because between your computer and the so called "modem" it is digital...pure simple ethernet. but on the other side..it's mostly analog...the cable companies just run some coax cable across your city and split the frenquencies between the television and the internet...same thing applies for dsl...analog line, analog signal...but decoded and then converted by your modem to be sent to your computer...when they say...Digital Television...yeah right...it's just some digital signal...encrypted, converted, then send onto the analog cable then decoded by your "decoder" then decrypted, then sent, "digitally" to your tv...when i said "encryption" i didn't mean aes or des...i meant frequecy phasing and / or inversion with some correcting and calibrating


i think that no wireless is actually ready...you need knowledge in radiocommunication to fully understand how wireless works...it's not to put 2 antenna on some pc...and then it will magically connect to each other using the specified speed...there is a looooot of factor that comes into place...distance, are they separated by a wall, type of material used in the construction of the wall, electromagnetic interference? and so on....
__________________
AMD64 3700+
A8N-E
1024MB corsair *value* ram
evga 7800gt
2x36gb Raptor (raid 0)
lots of irrelevant stuff...
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-04-03, 16:03
Adrynalyne's Avatar
Adrynalyne Adrynalyne is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 18,942
Thanks: 504
Thanked 1,065 Times in 718 Posts
Default

You make it sound like rocket science.


Setting up a wireless network isn't difficult at all.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger