MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-10, 21:45
ragni ragni is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default network/router issue

Hello everyone!

I am having an issue since I moved into a new house about two years ago. The problem is that I can not connect more than one computer to my network for internet.

The problem is that my cable is connected with a router, then throughout the house inside the walls and back out into the room I am in now. Now, I do have another router in this room that I bought so I could use more than one computer at a time without cable wires running loose all over the house. Unfortunately I can not get it to work.

What can I do to fix this issue?

Is it possible to connect a router to another router and into a computer for internet access?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 01-02-10, 00:37
KingSteve's Avatar
KingSteve KingSteve is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,754
Thanks: 34
Thanked 152 Times in 150 Posts
Default Re: network/router issue

Just use the switch ports on the router. dont use the WAN/internet port, and turn off dhcp on one of the routers.

or just buy a cheap switch and you wont have to mess with anything. plug it in and it works.
__________________
Internet is neat!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-10, 12:04
xratedsoldier xratedsoldier is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 77
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: network/router issue

King Steve is correct. A switch would be the way to go.

Although, depending on the make/model of the routers...

1. Connect Router 1 to Router 2 using port 1 on both router. Internet port on router 2 will not be used. Use internet port on router 1 for...of course internet.
2. Turn off DHCP and NAT on router 2

Router 1 supplies the IP addresses and router 2 essentially works as a switch.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Network/router/connection issue jamin001 Hardware 2 01-14-06 23:13
Router Issue Rossco Hardware 0 11-26-05 04:14
DSL Modem/Router Issue... Athran8 Hardware 10 09-04-05 09:58
Issue with router The Wizard Hardware 10 09-17-04 16:35
Network Card - Router Issue WorkHelp Hardware 8 07-03-04 19:56


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger