MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-18-10, 17:48
geekahertz geekahertz is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default I need a new wireless networksolution, cause dlink failed me.

I have two comps networked together can anyone suggest a good high speed router and network card that is reliable and easy to set up? I am going to have to reinstall windows on one of my computers and if i tried to use dlink it would be a pain. I am using the free copy of network magic that was on the driver cd so i don't rule that out as a problem but still dlink has not been good to me.

I also was hoping someone could suggest to me some other program besides network magic that i could use to network them together so they can share printers and transfer files and to secure my wireless network. I am looking for a freeware solution. But if that is not available then i will go out and buy one.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 03-21-10, 15:44
geekahertz geekahertz is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I need a new wireless networksolution, cause dlink failed me.

Its been a while sinice i have had to re-install my wireless network so i dont remember all the details of it. It was annoying and their tech support was un-help full. I was hoping someone could recomend a good 3-rd party network app that would link both computers together and also keep the wireless network secure. Also if possible i was looking for a freeware version. The router is a dlink dir-655. I cant remember the model # of the card.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-23-10, 08:53
geekahertz geekahertz is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I need a new wireless networksolution, cause dlink failed me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digitalocksmith View Post
Thats my point.....you dont really need a third party app to network your systems.

I recommend using Windows as it will do the best job and your LAN's wireless security can be set up within the routers interface.

Have a bit of read up on how its done and the D-link will shine like a bright light.

http://www.microsoft.com/athome/orga...lesssetup.aspx

http://www.hp.com/sbso/productivity/...lan/do_it.html
ok i will try that when i get my new drive installed. I just orderd it from newegg today. Ty for your help. I hope that everything goes smoothly but its the first time i have tried to use windows own network apps and on top of that i am networking a windows xp machine with a vista machine. Maybe i am being a pessimist but i anticipate running into some problems.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-10, 20:21
cat5e cat5e is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,614
Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Default Re: I need a new wireless networksolution, cause dlink failed me.

Network Magic or any other solutions are Not really solutions.

If you want trouble free network learn how to configure the Network manually it doe not take much more time than learning how to use Net magic etc.

Best wireless for the $$.

Router - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833162134

PCI card - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833315041

.
__________________
Jack (MS, MVP-Networking).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-26-10, 01:55
geekahertz geekahertz is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I need a new wireless networksolution, cause dlink failed me.

Update: the hard drives installed. But heres the probelm.
I have 2 comps the one that is directly connected to the internet is working fine but the comp that i just installed a new hard drive in and got everything installed in refuses to detect any networks with the network card. I took that comp and hooked it up directly to the internet so it could download all the drivers and updates it needed cause its has windows vista on it and that will automaticly download all the stuff i need. So my question is how do i troubleshoot its failure to detect any networks? I have tried to follow the directions on the pages that were posted here but i still am at a loss. Also i am connecting 2 computers with 2 different versions of windows. The one that's directly connected to the internet is a windows xp machine. The other one which i just got the new hard drive is windows vista. It is also the one that wont detect any networks. Idk if that makes any difference.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 03-27-10, 01:25
geekahertz geekahertz is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I need a new wireless networksolution, cause dlink failed me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digitalocksmith View Post
Might be an issue with the network adaptor?

Did you check in device manager to make sure its all above board with the adaptor?
No issues there?
Device manager shows the network adaptor. So what sort of issues should i be looking for?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digitalocksmith View Post
Can you post an 'ipconfig /all' for us to take a look at?

I have 7 / Vista and XP SP3 all talking to each other no prob's

Regards
I tried typing ipconfig into the run function and a dos window popped up. But it was too fast to read. Was it supposed to create a log file somewhere on my comp and if so where? I also found something else out. I tried to use the install disk to see if i could not jump start the adaptor but when it was finished installing the dlink net connection utility it said it could not detect the adaptor and this is even though i can see the adaptor in device manager.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-27-10, 18:42
risk_reversal's Avatar
risk_reversal risk_reversal is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: U.K
Posts: 848
Thanks: 0
Thanked 109 Times in 107 Posts
Default Re: I need a new wireless networksolution, cause dlink failed me.

Quote:
geekahertz said:
I tried typing ipconfig into the run function and a dos window popped up
Start>Run>then type command a dos window will open. At the prompt type ipconfig
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-28-10, 18:09
geekahertz geekahertz is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I need a new wireless networksolution, cause dlink failed me.

ok heres what i get when i type ipconfig/all.


Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Borg
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ct.comcast.net.
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit Ether
net Controller #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-8C-52-84-E3
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit Ether
net Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-8C-52-84-E4
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes



This is my windows vista machine with a dlink dwa-552 xtreame n desktop adaptor.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-03-10, 02:43
geekahertz geekahertz is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I need a new wireless networksolution, cause dlink failed me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digitalocksmith View Post
Disable your local area connection for a wireless network in the network and sharing centre.

Doesnt look like an ipconfig /all, lots of info still missing......run the command with a space between ipconfig and the forward slash.
I did that exactly. But that is what i get.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digitalocksmith View Post
ie. ipconfig /all

We are looking for wireless LAN adaptor, wireless network connection. If its not showing up, the adaptor isn't functioning so its got to be either faulty adaptor hardware or driver corrupt, wrongly installed, or not even installed altogether.

Which machine are we talking here? XP or Vista?
The xp machine is the one that is connected to the wireless router which in turn is connected to the cable modem. The vista machine is the one with the network adaptor card that refuses to work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digitalocksmith View Post
For Vista navigate.....start / accessories / and right click 'command prompt' and select 'run as administrator' when running this command.

Post results back.
I have admin privlages on the vista machine cause i own it and i am the only user. But i tried this anyway to see if it would make a difference and it shows exactly the same.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digitalocksmith View Post
Any yellow or red marks next to the adaptor in device manager?
There is not but the 6t04 adaptor shows a yellow triangle with an exclamation point in it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digitalocksmith View Post
Post a screen shot of device manager at the adaptor

Regards
In order to post any screen shots i would have to move the comp from its location upstairs and accross the house and hook it directly up to the cable modem.because i can not find my thumb drive. I will do that if you think it becomes necessary.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dlink dlw 132 sobeit Software 4 10-05-09 12:07
Wireless internet with Dlink problems? Main computer connected to internet w/ USB... saiyan_girl Hardware 0 10-08-08 16:49
dlink wireless router problem rkbiker89 Hardware 2 08-31-05 23:58
Hey Dlink users iwest Hardware 2 04-04-05 18:09
Weird dlink wireless router problem BluesMan Hardware 1 01-04-05 15:42


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger