MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-21-10, 17:42
liveware liveware is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: earth
Posts: 53
Thanks: 17
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default wirelessly connecting verizon Actiontec router to a Linksys router

My existing home network is an Actiontec M1424WR router/firewall/wirless acess point and a few computers connected via ethernet or wireless-g. I bought a used Linksys WRT54GS version 4. I'd like to extend the network out to my garage via wireless so I can connect a computer via ethernet to the Linksys. I'm trying to avoid running a 50 foot ethernet cable through my home. Here is a diagram of what I'm attempting:

[ISP] -----(fios)-----[Actiontec M1424WR] ----(wireless g)----[Linsys WRT54GSv4]-----(ethernet)----[computer in garage]

I want the Actiontec router to do all the DHCP/DNS/NAT and have the Linksys router to simply relay all the communications wirelessly between it and the Actiontec. I'm working my way through Networking for Dummies but this specific setup isn't expressly covered in the book or in the manuals for these devices. Any help is much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 04-22-10, 10:16
jconstan's Avatar
jconstan jconstan is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 1,185
Thanks: 3
Thanked 103 Times in 97 Posts
Default Re: wirelessly connecting verizon Actiontec router to a Linksys router

I don't think that will work with the standard software. There is a site www.dd-wrt.com that has a project to load a linux os into the Linksys box to make it a repeater. It may be worth checking out.
__________________
"Knowledge is useless unless it can be applied to help someone"

-JimC
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jconstan For This Useful Post:
liveware (04-26-10)
  #3  
Old 04-26-10, 21:43
liveware liveware is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: earth
Posts: 53
Thanks: 17
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: wirelessly connecting verizon Actiontec router to a Linksys router

Thanks for the suggestion jconstan.

After reading the better part of the dd-wrt website I installed DDR-WRT on my Linksys WRT54GS version 4 and set up a "client bridge" between the routers.

Here are some relevant webpages:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linking_Routers

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Bridging

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Client_Bridged

If you're following the steps on the above "Client_Bridged" page, note that there's a missing step. You have to scan for your wireless network (ssid) and join the network. This is covered briefly in the "peacock thread":

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486

quote-
Go to Status Wireless Site survey and scan for ssid. Hit join. Apply.
-end quote

Here's a link to a thread about connecting a similar Linksys router to an Actiontec M1424WR. According to the thread you can connect the routers without flashing to DD-WRT:

http://forums.majorgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=160008

Here's a link for a page on how to use a (non-verizon) DD-WRT router as your primary router, and still use your Actiontec verizon router:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php...primary_router
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-30-10, 11:47
jconstan's Avatar
jconstan jconstan is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 1,185
Thanks: 3
Thanked 103 Times in 97 Posts
Default Re: wirelessly connecting verizon Actiontec router to a Linksys router

Quote:
Originally Posted by liveware View Post
Thanks for the suggestion jconstan.

After reading the better part of the dd-wrt website I installed DDR-WRT on my Linksys WRT54GS version 4 and set up a "client bridge" between the routers.

Here are some relevant webpages:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linking_Routers

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Bridging

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Client_Bridged

If you're following the steps on the above "Client_Bridged" page, note that there's a missing step. You have to scan for your wireless network (ssid) and join the network. This is covered briefly in the "peacock thread":

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486

quote-
Go to Status Wireless Site survey and scan for ssid. Hit join. Apply.
-end quote

Here's a link to a thread about connecting a similar Linksys router to an Actiontec M1424WR. According to the thread you can connect the routers without flashing to DD-WRT:

http://forums.majorgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=160008

Here's a link for a page on how to use a (non-verizon) DD-WRT router as your primary router, and still use your Actiontec verizon router:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php...primary_router

I wanted to try this myself so I bought an old WRT54G V2 Linksys router from ebay, went to the DD-WRT.COM site and downloaded the software for the V2 version router and followed the instructions.

I now have one Linksys router talking via the wireless connection to my Linksys router upstairs and can connect to each one with my wireless laptops. Pretty nice.
__________________
"Knowledge is useless unless it can be applied to help someone"

-JimC
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
just purchased a CISCO WRT160N router and i can't connect netbooks to it wirelessly barononeefdip Hardware 3 03-11-10 01:39
Actiontec MI424WR, connects wirelessly but not wired. ((KvN)) Hardware 0 05-14-09 00:09
Problem connecting to linksys router Rudy1 Hardware 2 03-31-09 17:03
FIOS router issue connecting wirelessly? xxnonamexx Hardware 1 01-09-09 13:03
Hooking up a Linksys WRT54GL to a Verizon Fios Actiontec (tutorial needed) LauraR Hardware 11 05-21-08 12:27


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:59.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger