MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Malware Removal
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Malware Removal Malware removal forum. Please see the READ ME FIRST thread before you post. Forum is staffed by a small number of volunteers, please be patient.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-12-10, 12:05
Sionidda Sionidda is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Error loading C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Application Data\Adobe\update\flacor.d

I get a: Error loading C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Application Data\Adobe\update\flacor.dat
The specified module could not be found.
on reboot. I ran the MG tools exe and am attaching the log. Thanks
Attached Files
File Type: zip MGlogs.zip (124.0 KB, 14 views)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 05-12-10, 18:25
Kestrel13!'s Avatar
Kestrel13! Kestrel13! is offline
Super Malware Fighter - Major Dilemma
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: cloud cuckoo land
Posts: 28,620
Thanks: 950
Thanked 3,667 Times in 3,571 Posts
Default Re: Error loading C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Application Data\Adobe\update\flac

You have skipped many steps of the Read and Run Me first procedures. You will need to refer to the below running what you did not before, and then once completed, run MGTools.exe again and attach the zip file it creates along with the other requested logs.

Welcome to Major Geeks!

Please read ALL of this message including the notes before doing anything.

Pleases follow the instructions in the below link:

READ & RUN ME FIRST. Malware Removal Guide


and attach the requested logs when you finish these instructions.
  • **** If something does not run, write down the info to explain to us later but keep on going. ****
  • Do not assume that because one step does not work that they all will not. MGtools will frequently run even when all other tools will not.
  • After completing the READ & RUN ME and attaching your logs, make sure that you tell us what problems still remain ( if any still do )!
Helpful Notes:

  1. If you run into problems trying to run the READ & RUN ME or any of the scans in normal boot mode, you can run the steps in safe boot mode but make sure you tell us what you did later when you post logs. See the below if you do not know how to boot in safe mode:
  2. If you have problems downloading on the problem PC, download the tools and the manual updates for SUPERAntiSpyware and Malwarebytes ( links are given in the READ & RUN ME) onto another PC and then burn to a CD. Then copy them to the problem PC. You will have to skip getting updates if (and only if) your internet connection does not work. Yes you could use a flash drive too but flash drives are writeable and infections can spread to them.
  3. If you cannot seem to login to an infected user account, try using a different user account (if you have one) in either normal or safe boot mode and running only SUPERAntiSpyware and Malwarebytes while logged into this other user account. Then reboot and see if you can log into the problem user account. If you can then run SUPERAntiSpyware, Malwarebytes, ComboFix and MGtools on the infected account as requested in the instructions.
  4. To avoid additional delay in getting a response, it is strongly advised that after completing the READ & RUN ME you also read this sticky:
Any additional post is a bump which will add more delay. Once you attach the logs, your thread will be in the work queue and as stated our system works the oldest threads FIRST.
__________________
Have we been helpful? Did our services here at MajorGeeks save you a whole lot of cash? If you would like to bequest a small amount as a token of your appreciation, please look out for the yellow 'Donate' button on the top right of any page. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-12-10, 23:07
Sionidda Sionidda is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Error loading C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Application Data\Adobe\update\flac

Sorry for the skipped bit. I've now followed instructions and the error message went away. Do you still want the logs? If so, which ones? And great thanks for your mastery!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-13-10, 04:06
Kestrel13!'s Avatar
Kestrel13! Kestrel13! is offline
Super Malware Fighter - Major Dilemma
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: cloud cuckoo land
Posts: 28,620
Thanks: 950
Thanked 3,667 Times in 3,571 Posts
Default Re: Error loading C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Application Data\Adobe\update\flac

Good morning

I will need to see logs from:
  • SUPERantispyware
  • Malware Bytes
  • Combofix
  • and finally... you'll need to re run MGTools.exe and attach the log from that too.
__________________
Have we been helpful? Did our services here at MajorGeeks save you a whole lot of cash? If you would like to bequest a small amount as a token of your appreciation, please look out for the yellow 'Donate' button on the top right of any page. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-13-10, 08:57
Sionidda Sionidda is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Error loading C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Application Data\Adobe\update\flac

Thanks.
Attached Files
File Type: txt mbam-log-2010-05-12 (19-46-07).txt (2.5 KB, 2 views)
File Type: txt Combofix log.txt (22.2 KB, 3 views)
File Type: zip MGlogs.zip (127.7 KB, 3 views)
File Type: log SUPERAntiSpyware Scan Log - 05-12-2010 - 19-31-16.log (465 Bytes, 2 views)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 05-13-10, 10:40
Kestrel13!'s Avatar
Kestrel13! Kestrel13! is offline
Super Malware Fighter - Major Dilemma
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: cloud cuckoo land
Posts: 28,620
Thanks: 950
Thanked 3,667 Times in 3,571 Posts
Default Re: Error loading C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Application Data\Adobe\update\flac

1. Please go to Jotti's malware scan

(If more than one file needs scanned they must be done separately and logs posted for each one)
  • Copy the file path in the below Code box:
    Code:
    c:\windows\ADE.DLL
  • At the upload site, click the browse button.
  • Next click Submit file
  • Your file will possibly be entered into a queue which normally takes less than a minute to clear.
  • This will perform a scan across multiple different virus scanning engines.
  • Important: Wait for all of the scanning engines to complete.
  • Once the scan is finished, Copy and then Paste the link in the address bar into your next reply.

Then do the same for the below files and also let me know the results:

Code:
c:\windows\SlantAdj.dll
c:\windows\Ade001.bin

2. Could you please get this: ADE.DLL into a zipped file and attach it for me in your next post? To do this, see the below:

Please go to start > Run and paste in the following:

Quote:
%systemdrive%\MGTools\zip "%systemdrive%\collect.zip" c:\windows\ADE.DLL
log retrievable @ C:\collect.zip

3. Now we need to use ComboFix
  • Make sure that combofix.exe that you downloaded while doing the READ & RUN ME is on your Desktop but Do not run it!
    • If it is not on your Desktop, the below will not work.
  • Also make sure you have shut down all protection software (antivirus, antispyware...etc) or they may get in the way of allowing ComboFix to run properly.
  • If ComboFix tells you it needs to update to a new version, make sure you allow it to update.
  • Open Notepad and copy/paste the text in the below quote box. Ensure you scroll down to select ALL the lines:
Code:
KILLALL::

FileLook::
c:\windows\Ade001.bin
c:\windows\SlantAdj.dll
c:\windows\ADE.DLL

DirLook::
C:\Media
C:\Gair
C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Application Data\Adobe\update

File::
C:\WINDOWS\0.log
C:\WINDOWS\8F
C:\WINDOWS\9E
C:\WINDOWS\cbprj1.ini
C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Local Settings\temp\pcf1.tmp

Folder::
C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Application Data\Sammsoft
C:\Program Files\Registry Patrol
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Registry Patrol
c:\program files\Symantec
c:\documents and settings\All Users\Application Data\Symantec

Registry::
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\software\microsoft\windows\currentVersion\Run]
"AlcxMonitor"=-
  • Save the above as CFscript.txt and make sure you save it to the same location (should be on your Desktop) as ComboFix.exe
  • At this point, you MUST EXIT ALL BROWSERS NOW before continuing!
  • You should have both the ComboFix.exe and CFScript.txt icons on your Desktop.
  • Now use your mouse to drag CFscript.txt on top of ComboFix.exe



  • Follow the prompts.
  • When it finishes, a log will be produced named c:\combofix.txt
  • I will ask for this log below

Note:

Do not mouseclick combofix's window while it is running. That may cause it to stall.

4. Now run the C:\MGtools\GetLogs.bat file by double clicking on it. Then attach the new C:\MGlogs.zip file that will be created by running this.

5. Tell me how the machine is running now.
__________________
Have we been helpful? Did our services here at MajorGeeks save you a whole lot of cash? If you would like to bequest a small amount as a token of your appreciation, please look out for the yellow 'Donate' button on the top right of any page. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-14-10, 08:47
Sionidda Sionidda is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Error loading C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Application Data\Adobe\update\flac

As requested:
http://virusscan.jotti.org/en/scanre...812a728e2f78a5
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-14-10, 08:49
Sionidda Sionidda is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Error loading C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Application Data\Adobe\update\flac

More as requested
http://virusscan.jotti.org/en/scanre...2624aed6b4f43b
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-14-10, 08:53
Sionidda Sionidda is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Error loading C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Application Data\Adobe\update\flac

More:
http://virusscan.jotti.org/en/scanre...e4ac0568d3e1af
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-14-10, 08:57
Sionidda Sionidda is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Error loading C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Application Data\Adobe\update\flac

Zip file attached
Attached Files
File Type: zip collect.zip (33.7 KB, 2 views)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 05-14-10, 09:06
Kestrel13!'s Avatar
Kestrel13! Kestrel13! is offline
Super Malware Fighter - Major Dilemma
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: cloud cuckoo land
Posts: 28,620
Thanks: 950
Thanked 3,667 Times in 3,571 Posts
Default Re: Error loading C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Application Data\Adobe\update\flac

you're probably already attaching it, but I still need to see the C:\MGlogs.zip.
__________________
Have we been helpful? Did our services here at MajorGeeks save you a whole lot of cash? If you would like to bequest a small amount as a token of your appreciation, please look out for the yellow 'Donate' button on the top right of any page. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-14-10, 09:46
Sionidda Sionidda is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Error loading C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Application Data\Adobe\update\flac

More as per request (Attached).
The computer is running well. Only thing is AVG doesn't return to the system tray after reboot. Going into properties/customize/always show doesn't help. Thanks
Attached Files
File Type: zip MGlogs.zip (132.4 KB, 1 views)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-14-10, 10:07
Kestrel13!'s Avatar
Kestrel13! Kestrel13! is offline
Super Malware Fighter - Major Dilemma
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: cloud cuckoo land
Posts: 28,620
Thanks: 950
Thanked 3,667 Times in 3,571 Posts
Default Re: Error loading C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Application Data\Adobe\update\flac

With regards to avg, please try the below:

Add a program to your start up folder


Now use windows explorer to locate and delete the below bold file:
  • C:\WINDOWS\system32\8E

Reboot the machine and again use windows explorer to locate the file, if it's gone, good, if not then let me know. Otherwise I am not seeing anything else that remains to be done and will more than likely be giving you final steps in the next post I make to you.
__________________
Have we been helpful? Did our services here at MajorGeeks save you a whole lot of cash? If you would like to bequest a small amount as a token of your appreciation, please look out for the yellow 'Donate' button on the top right of any page. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-14-10, 10:38
Sionidda Sionidda is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Error loading C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Application Data\Adobe\update\flac

C:\WINDOWS\system32\8E was not found by Windows explorer search in C:\
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-14-10, 19:06
Kestrel13!'s Avatar
Kestrel13! Kestrel13! is offline
Super Malware Fighter - Major Dilemma
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: cloud cuckoo land
Posts: 28,620
Thanks: 950
Thanked 3,667 Times in 3,571 Posts
Default Re: Error loading C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Application Data\Adobe\update\flac

Now we need to use ComboFix again
  • Make sure that combofix.exe that you downloaded while doing the READ & RUN ME is on your Desktop but Do not run it!
    • If it is not on your Desktop, the below will not work.
  • Also make sure you have shut down all protection software (antivirus, antispyware...etc) or they may get in the way of allowing ComboFix to run properly.
  • If ComboFix tells you it needs to update to a new version, make sure you allow it to update.
  • Open Notepad and copy/paste the text in the below quote box. Ensure you scroll down to select ALL the lines:
Code:
KILLALL::

File::
C:\WINDOWS\system32\8E
  • Save the above as CFscript.txt and make sure you save it to the same location (should be on your Desktop) as ComboFix.exe
  • At this point, you MUST EXIT ALL BROWSERS NOW before continuing!
  • You should have both the ComboFix.exe and CFScript.txt icons on your Desktop.
  • Now use your mouse to drag CFscript.txt on top of ComboFix.exe



  • Follow the prompts.
  • When it finishes, a log will be produced named c:\combofix.txt
  • I will ask for this log below

Note:

Do not mouseclick combofix's window while it is running. That may cause it to stall.

Now run the C:\MGtools\GetLogs.bat file by double clicking on it. Then attach the new C:\MGlogs.zip file that will be created by running this.
__________________
Have we been helpful? Did our services here at MajorGeeks save you a whole lot of cash? If you would like to bequest a small amount as a token of your appreciation, please look out for the yellow 'Donate' button on the top right of any page. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16  
Old 05-15-10, 10:25
Sionidda Sionidda is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Error loading C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Application Data\Adobe\update\flac

I was not sure whether you wanted the new combofix log or not, so I attached it anyway. Thanks
Attached Files
File Type: zip MGlogs.zip (131.8 KB, 6 views)
File Type: txt Combofix log.txt (22.6 KB, 2 views)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-15-10, 10:56
Kestrel13!'s Avatar
Kestrel13! Kestrel13! is offline
Super Malware Fighter - Major Dilemma
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: cloud cuckoo land
Posts: 28,620
Thanks: 950
Thanked 3,667 Times in 3,571 Posts
Default Re: Error loading C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Application Data\Adobe\update\flac

If you are not having any other malware problems, it is time to do our final steps:
  1. We recommend you keep SUPERAntiSpyware and Malwarebytes Anti-Malware for scanning/removal of malware. Unless you purchase them, they provide no protection. They do not use any significant amount of resources ( except a little disk space ) until you run a scan.
  2. If we had you use ComboFix, uninstall ComboFix (This uninstall will only work as written if you installed ComboFix on your Desktop like we requested.)
    • Click START then RUN and enter the below into the run box and then click OK. Note the quotes are required
    • "%userprofile%\Desktop\combofix" /uninstall
      • Notes: The space between the combofix" and the /uninstall, it must be there.
      • This will uninstall ComboFix and also reset hidden files and folders settings back to Windows defaults.
  3. Go back to step 6 of the READ ME and renable your Disk Emulation software with Defogger if you had disabled it.
  4. Any other miscellaneous tools we may have had you install or download can be uninstalled and deleted.
  5. If we had you download any registry patches like fixme.reg or fixWLK.reg (or any others), you can delete these files now.
  6. If running Vista, it is time to make sure you have reenabled UAC by double clicking on the C:\MGtools\enableUAC.reg file and allowing it to be added to the registry.
  7. Go to add/remove programs and uninstall HijackThis.
  8. Goto the C:\MGtools folder and find the MGclean.bat file. Double click on this file to run this cleanup program that will remove files and folders
    related to MGtools and some other items from our cleaning procedures.
  9. If you are running Win 7, Vista, Windows XP or Windows ME, do the below:
    • Refer to the cleaning procedures pointed to by step 7 of the READ ME
      for your Window version and see the instructions to Disable System Restore which will flush your Restore Points.
    • Then reboot and Enable System Restore to create a new clean Restore Point.
  10. After doing the above, you should work thru the below link:
__________________
Have we been helpful? Did our services here at MajorGeeks save you a whole lot of cash? If you would like to bequest a small amount as a token of your appreciation, please look out for the yellow 'Donate' button on the top right of any page. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Kestrel13! For This Useful Post:
Sionidda (05-15-10)
  #18  
Old 05-15-10, 11:33
Sionidda Sionidda is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Error loading C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Application Data\Adobe\update\flac

Amazing to be guided through this process! Thanks for the patience and for the battle you are fighting.

Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-15-10, 11:38
Kestrel13!'s Avatar
Kestrel13! Kestrel13! is offline
Super Malware Fighter - Major Dilemma
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: cloud cuckoo land
Posts: 28,620
Thanks: 950
Thanked 3,667 Times in 3,571 Posts
Default Re: Error loading C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Application Data\Adobe\update\flac

You are most welcome. Safe surfing!
__________________
Have we been helpful? Did our services here at MajorGeeks save you a whole lot of cash? If you would like to bequest a small amount as a token of your appreciation, please look out for the yellow 'Donate' button on the top right of any page. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't access owner folders/documents but other folders in master HD! Please help! tomcruise3230 Hardware 2 06-16-09 19:56
help Adobe Pro 8 and scanned Documents bbwilson8 Software 1 12-05-07 23:37
C:/Documents and Settings Engine8Truck Software 5 03-28-06 22:00
documents and settings.HOSTNAME 212121 Software 0 09-03-05 22:33
Documents And Settings Shizoku Software 16 08-05-05 16:02


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:47.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger