MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-22-10, 23:11
Nealsandman's Avatar
Nealsandman Nealsandman is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Logitech MK700 Keyboard+Mouse w/Setpoint 6.1 will not click on Vista Welcome Screen

Not sure if this is a software or a hardware issue, so I will post to both forums. I recently bought Logitech keyboard+mouse combo MK700 after reinstalling Windows Vista Home Premium on my HP Pavillion a1600n desktop computer. (I have 1gb RAM + 200gb hard drive). The problem is that the mouse (MK620?) will not click on my Windows welcome screen, on the icons for the separate desktops that I utilize for myself, my wife, and kids. Once past this welcome screen, the mouse is fine. It just will not click here. However, I have had issues with the mouse not clicking at all. I just installed Setpoint 6.1 and those problems have not resurfaced, yet. Any suggestions on how to resolve this issue are greatly appreciated.
__________________
Neal Sandman
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 06-23-10, 03:07
tunered's Avatar
tunered tunered is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: vincent,ohio
Posts: 1,469
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 35 Posts
Default Re: Logitech MK700 Keyboard+Mouse w/Setpoint 6.1 will not click on Vista Welcome Scre

Try plugging the usb reciever in one of the front usb's, possibly the signal is weak not letting it work at times, the welcome screen problem i think is OS problem. ed
  #3  
Old 06-23-10, 12:22
Nealsandman's Avatar
Nealsandman Nealsandman is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Logitech MK700 Keyboard+Mouse w/Setpoint 6.1 will not click on Vista Welcome Scre

Thanks, I will give it a try. Tier two support at Logitech is telling me to update Bios. I checked the HP website, however, a Bios update is not available for the Pavilion a1600n. Any other suggestions/insight is greatly appreciated.
__________________
Neal Sandman
  #4  
Old 06-23-10, 12:35
DavidGP's Avatar
DavidGP DavidGP is offline
MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 38,913
Thanks: 3,086
Thanked 3,125 Times in 2,836 Posts
Default Re: Logitech MK700 Keyboard+Mouse w/Setpoint 6.1 will not click on Vista Welcome Scre

Hi

What Service Pack is your Windows Vista at?

In Device Manager are there any yellow ! marks next to any devices, please name them all?

What USB port are you plugging the reciever into? the best ones as they tend to have better power are one of the back USB ports direct into the motherboard, try one of those.

Reset the Mouse and reciever (little button on both devices to allow them to re aquire each other).
  #5  
Old 06-23-10, 12:59
Nealsandman's Avatar
Nealsandman Nealsandman is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Logitech MK700 Keyboard+Mouse w/Setpoint 6.1 will not click on Vista Welcome Scre

Thanks Halo,

I just installed SP2, after reinstalling Vista last week. I do not think there are any yellow! marks in Device manager, but I will double check tonight, just to be sure. I am plugged into the right-most USB port in the back (the outside one). I have previously tried resetting the mouse keyboard connection with no luck. I will try it again tonight, after the install of Setpoint 6.1. Thanks for your input.
__________________
Neal Sandman

Last edited by Nealsandman; 06-23-10 at 13:00.. Reason: spelling
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 07-07-10, 12:48
Nealsandman's Avatar
Nealsandman Nealsandman is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Logitech MK700 Keyboard+Mouse w/Setpoint 6.1 will not click on Vista Welcome Scre

Turns out this was a hardware problem, after all. The mouse was defective. Logitech replaced it, and the new mouse is working fine.

Thanks for viewing.
__________________
Neal Sandman
Closed Thread

Tags
logitech, mk700, mouse, mx620, setpoint

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logitech MX 110 mouse and keyboard issues Dre132 Hardware 0 02-14-09 19:36
Logitech setpoint, make it go away Keyser Söze Software 0 11-20-08 20:27
How to completely remove uninstall Logitech Keyboard & Mouse zmartha Software 4 07-24-08 09:47
logitech cordless click plus mouse. chuan Hardware 5 03-27-06 00:06
how to unintall logitech for microsoft software-keyboard and mouse hateuall Hardware 0 12-12-04 18:49


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright © MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger