MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-31-10, 18:13
deuce10 deuce10 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Need to extended wireless range - Fios / Actiontec M1424WR

I just had Verizon Fios installed in my house. The wireless range only covers about half of my house. I'm looking for a solution to extend the wireless range. Can I go purchase a Linksys wireless router, run a Cat5 cable from the back of the Actiontec router and connect it to the new Linksys router on the other end of the house? Currently, I have a Cat5 cable that feeds the Actiontec router from the Dmark (where the Fios equipment is maintained). Also, I have 2 computers that currently are wired directly in the Actiontec router. If it works to add a Linksys router, would model would you recommend? Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 08-01-10, 08:43
collinsl's Avatar
collinsl collinsl is offline
MajorGeeks Rather Average Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 2,929
Thanks: 47
Thanked 430 Times in 400 Posts
Default Re: Need to extended wireless range - Fios / Actiontec M1424WR

You could do what you suggested as long as you create 2 different networks on different wireless channels. Please note that wireless channels next to each other interfere with each other. Therefore you need to use wireless channels that are as far apart from each other as possible. In the US these would be channels 1 and 11. You also need to use different SSIDs and you would need to reconnect each time you move to the other end of the house.

An alternative is to purchase a standalone product called a wireless repeater, that, as the name suggests, repeats the wireless signals. This leads to all your wireless traffic going to the one router/access point, but it means you don't have to deal with reconnection and SSIDs and everything.
__________________
"Tombstone has two dance halls, a dozen gambling places and more than 20 saloons. Still, there is hope, for I know of two Bibles in town." -- Judge Wells Spicer in 1881
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hooking up a Linksys WRT54GL to a Verizon Fios Actiontec (tutorial needed) LauraR Hardware 11 05-21-08 11:27
Extending wireless range?? ATVracer Hardware 2 01-13-08 18:00
Long range wireless Coco Hardware 0 10-18-06 23:29
Long Range Wireless fishn Hardware 1 05-13-06 16:27
How can I extend the range of a wireless router? Britany Hardware 4 12-27-05 11:51


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger