Will not POST when USB mouse or keyboard is plugged in

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by tom66, Dec 25, 2010.

1. tom66

tom66 Private E-2

I have an Abit KN9 motherboard, and a USB keyboard and mouse. The computer will not POST with the keyboard or mouse plugged in, but they can be used (and they are fully functional) if you plug them in later, after POST. On the POST side of things, it hangs when it shows the installed processor, and goes no further - pressing DEL to go to setup will not work. I've tried disabling legacy USB support as recommended by others, but can't find the option anywhere in the BIOS. It will boot with a PS/2 keyboard or mouse. I haven't tried other USB devices yet.

2. sach2

sach2 Major Geek Extraordinaire

I'm no expert on BIOS so I'm just asking simple things. Are you using the rear USB ports that would be advised.

I'm curious as a test if you go to Integrated Peripherals then change fom USB keyboard support via OS to USB keyboard support via BIOS, will it POST? (I would test without a mouse connected just to eliminate one device)

3. tom66

tom66 Private E-2

Rear and front show same problems.

I tried the OS/BIOS thing already; no difference. One thing I have not eliminated yet is the mouse itself being faulty; I have a spare USB mouse I will try, but running a burn-in memory test right now to check some new installed memory and timings

Thanks for your suggestions.

4. tom66

tom66 Private E-2

Bump, any tips or ways to go about fixing this?

5. tgell

tgell Major Geek Extraordinaire

Hello,
    In your BIOS under "Integrated Peripherals" you should see "On chip USB". There are two options for both USB keyboard and USB mouse, BIOS and OS. Whichever is shown, try the other and see if it helps your boot problem.

6. tom66

tom66 Private E-2

I've tried all four binary combinations and to no avail. It does this when you press TAB. If the mouse is plugged in it is not possible to use DEL. Caps lock can still be toggled on and off.