WAN question

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by DanMan, Nov 4, 2003.

1. DanMan

DanMan Private E-2

Please have patience w/me I'm an RPG programmer who has had a LAN/WAN thrust upon him... My problem is that in my network neighborhood I can't see any of the computers at our other location. I can ping their IP address - they can ping me, but we can't see each other. We are using the same protocols(TCP/IP and NETBEUI), the same workgroup, same everything I can see. I suppose we don't run what you'd call a real server but more of a peer to peer network. We do have one machine running a firewall between both locations and the net. between the two locations we have a T1. Hope I didn't stupid the savy to death with this. ...and would appriciate some brilliant one of you to tell me what button I push to fix the whole thing!

2. Kodo

Kodo SNATCHSQUATCH

is the T1 a private line?

3. DanMan

DanMan Private E-2

When you say private - it's provide by AT&T, we do not own the equipment on the ends of the wire. I'm given to understand that we have a T1 between the two locations, and then going back to AT&T and the world. Some channels are split off for voice(1-800 etc...), and some for data. Did that answer? I told you, you'd have to have patience.

4. Kodo

Kodo SNATCHSQUATCH

yep, that's good enough. Basically I was checking to see if that T1 was ONLY used by you guys and not shared by any other people but your two locations.

Next.. in your IP configuration, make sure NETBIOS is on.

5. DanMan

DanMan Private E-2

You're gonna have to hold my hand - how do I check to see that NETBIOS is on? (just to give you an idea of the depth of my ignorance - I assumed that it was a protocol and tried to add it...) getting the picture? ;)

6. Kodo

Kodo SNATCHSQUATCH

what OS are you using?

7. DanMan

DanMan Private E-2

WIN/98 SE

8. Kodo

Kodo SNATCHSQUATCH

*digs back in brain*

right click on NETWORK NEIGHBORHOOD
    select your TCP/IP from the list and double click it.