MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-12-11, 20:58
Colemanguy's Avatar
Colemanguy Colemanguy is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Salina Kansas
Posts: 3,520
Thanks: 149
Thanked 281 Times in 240 Posts
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

No its not like scandisk, scandisk checks for bad sectors on a hard drive, sfc checks for bad or damaged system files, which if you had an infected machine probably is lingering issues. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357 this fix doesn't mention the qc thing instead a different fix. netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt is the actual given command in that article by ms. Was there any malware found during your scans? Some of the newer malware is so damaging it can require a reinstall if not removed properly? Also, have you checked your proxy setttings in Internet Explorer to make sure thats not causing issues, even if you dont use ie, some other browsers pull that info and cause problems.
Sponsored links
  #22  
Old 02-12-11, 21:26
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colemanguy View Post
No its not like scandisk, scandisk checks for bad sectors on a hard drive, sfc checks for bad or damaged system files, which if you had an infected machine probably is lingering issues. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357 this fix doesn't mention the qc thing instead a different fix. netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt is the actual given command in that article by ms. Was there any malware found during your scans? Some of the newer malware is so damaging it can require a reinstall if not removed properly? Also, have you checked your proxy setttings in Internet Explorer to make sure thats not causing issues, even if you dont use ie, some other browsers pull that info and cause problems.
ok i do remember that kind of file checker in one of the older OS,s just cant remember were ????? so this is simular to that thanks i like the old harddrive defrag program that used to be in win 95 untill ms got sued for that one. i have OC now maybe the same old company.
I also ran trojent remover program and no finds. A registared malware program didnot find any programs either. Ran a registared reg. program alot of bad files.

Cant seem to get sfc scannow program to work
  #23  
Old 02-12-11, 21:29
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colemanguy View Post
No its not like scandisk, scandisk checks for bad sectors on a hard drive, sfc checks for bad or damaged system files, which if you had an infected machine probably is lingering issues. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357 this fix doesn't mention the qc thing instead a different fix. netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt is the actual given command in that article by ms. Was there any malware found during your scans? Some of the newer malware is so damaging it can require a reinstall if not removed properly? Also, have you checked your proxy setttings in Internet Explorer to make sure thats not causing issues, even if you dont use ie, some other browsers pull that info and cause problems.
i dont remember doing any qc thing must have been a typo error judt netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt
  #24  
Old 02-12-11, 21:32
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colemanguy View Post
what was the netsh qc command supposed to do? Who told you to run that? Google gave me very rough ideas that its used to reset some of the dhcp stuff. netsh winsock reset command only works if its windows xp sp2 or greater. The bigger concern to me is dispearing devices and rpc errors, which indicate a damaged os, I would first recommend your put in your xp cd, and at the run box type, sfc /scannow which stands for system file checker, and start with that. Are programs randomly crashing and stuff or other then the no internet is the system working normaly?
OK scannow is running wrong spacing
  #25  
Old 02-12-11, 21:44
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

HOW do i get to the netsh program and have MS fix it ????????????????????
Sponsored links
  #26  
Old 02-12-11, 22:26
Colemanguy's Avatar
Colemanguy Colemanguy is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Salina Kansas
Posts: 3,520
Thanks: 149
Thanked 281 Times in 240 Posts
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

If your using xp service pack 2 or later you can reset the winsock useing, netsh winsock reset at the command line. Can also try rerunning that above netsh int ip reset one.
  #27  
Old 02-12-11, 22:35
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colemanguy View Post
If your using xp service pack 2 or later you can reset the winsock useing, netsh winsock reset at the command line. Can also try rerunning that above netsh int ip reset one.
windows was always kept up to date what ever service pack that is now unless thats a manual download. for sure S P 2 that i have on a disc.
  #28  
Old 02-12-11, 22:44
Colemanguy's Avatar
Colemanguy Colemanguy is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Salina Kansas
Posts: 3,520
Thanks: 149
Thanked 281 Times in 240 Posts
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

SP3 is the latest, start run "winver" will tell you exact version. Sounds like your fairly clean of malware, but the rpc thing still bugs me.
  #29  
Old 02-12-11, 22:56
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colemanguy View Post
SP3 is the latest, start run "winver" will tell you exact version. Sounds like your fairly clean of malware, but the rpc thing still bugs me.
5.1 sp3 winver

Ya that caught my eye but dont know what that is. What is RPC server?????

Ah i remember now dos ver 6.0 had a nice defrag program dos 6.11 was without it after MS failed to pay they got sued. MS had to make a new release by court order hence 6.11 then whos this came out with dos 7.0 i think thats when win 95 was getting its start.
  #30  
Old 02-12-11, 22:58
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by star393 View Post
5.1 sp3 winver

Ya that caught my eye but dont know what that is. What is RPC server?????

Ah i remember now dos ver 6.0 had a nice defrag program dos 6.11 was without it after MS failed to pay they got sued. MS had to make a new release by court order hence 6.11 then whos this came out with dos 7.0 i think thats when win 95 was getting its start.
so many virtrial devices i have never had the time to keep up i lost it after win98, and never really dug into it. I kinda liked win 3.11, i was really thinking of switching to linex opps spelled wrong
Sponsored links
  #31  
Old 02-13-11, 05:26
handygal handygal is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Beachy and warm
Posts: 808
Thanks: 83
Thanked 103 Times in 101 Posts
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

By reset the router I actually meant reboot. Reboot the modem and then the router.

Did we try setting a static ip on this computer yet? You can run ipconfig on the computer that works. You don't have to change directories, the command will run from whatever one comes up. (you were looking for cd c:\ )

Take the ipconfig from the computer that is working and enter into the other one but change the IP by one number at the end.

There seems to be more going on but that is the most obvious to me. I don't see in your ipconfig that DHCP is enabled.

Can you check your services?
Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Services.
Make sure that some critical services are started. For now, don't change the settings, just start the service if it isn't started. List any that weren't already started or if they are missing.

DHCP Client
DNS Client
Network Connections
Remote Access Connection Manager
Remote Procedure Call
TCP/IP NetBios Helper
WebClient
Windows Firewall/Internet Connection Sharing (ICS)
Workstation
__________________
If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough -Mario Andretti
  #32  
Old 02-13-11, 11:39
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by handygal View Post
By reset the router I actually meant reboot. Reboot the modem and then the router.

Did we try setting a static ip on this computer yet? You can run ipconfig on the computer that works. You don't have to change directories, the command will run from whatever one comes up. (you were looking for cd c:\ )

Take the ipconfig from the computer that is working and enter into the other one but change the IP by one number at the end.

There seems to be more going on but that is the most obvious to me. I don't see in your ipconfig that DHCP is enabled.

Can you check your services?
Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Services.
Make sure that some critical services are started. For now, don't change the settings, just start the service if it isn't started. List any that weren't already started or if they are missing.

DHCP Client
DNS Client
Network Connections
Remote Access Connection Manager
Remote Procedure Call
TCP/IP NetBios Helper
WebClient
Windows Firewall/Internet Connection Sharing (ICS)
Workstation


i reset the router and rebooted it and took it out of the picture many times already and installed the modem directly to the affect computer and still no change. I will check the services and get back to you. I dont know why dhcp wont enable either. whats with the foreign language in my ipconfig????????? Iam at work 7 days aweek good old Salary but its work.
  #33  
Old 02-13-11, 12:14
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Although i would love to find this problem and beat it ive been work on this since Jan30. Would a windows 7 upgrade be the best bet and a good fix? or is that going to just give me the same problems as now by win7 just copying what i already have or would it fix the unline issues?? i dont know. Atleast this way i wont lose my programing and programs in root of C:\ i dont know just thinking out loud.
Isplit up my drives and keep my clusters set to smallest number and keep my programs stored in other then C: just because of this kind of out come. A lesson learned long ago. I could install windows again in another partition and try that, and due a dual boot and choose what boots?????
  #34  
Old 02-13-11, 12:30
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Maybe as a test i should just pull the c: drive out and install another clean H D with a fresh copy of windows and just make sure MB and cards are taken out of the picture. That way the mb buss and paths will be checked and either ok or bad.????? Whats the file name for ipconfig.bat under windows in win xp???? maybe i can look for it in my back up usb drive which is 500 gigs. i started to copy all of c: to usb drive but windows was having a fit allow me to copy files access denied.
  #35  
Old 02-13-11, 14:25
handygal handygal is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Beachy and warm
Posts: 808
Thanks: 83
Thanked 103 Times in 101 Posts
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

The netsh commands with the switches could have easily stopped a service to make a change and didn't turn it back on. I would look there, if DHCP service got turned off like that we'll be running around in circles with all of the other tests and fixes.
__________________
If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough -Mario Andretti
Sponsored links
  #36  
Old 02-13-11, 14:52
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by handygal View Post
The netsh commands with the switches could have easily stopped a service to make a change and didn't turn it back on. I would look there, if DHCP service got turned off like that we'll be running around in circles with all of the other tests and fixes.

I never touched the netsh commands other then yesterday to clear the log other then that.

looked into service and found both dhcp client and tcpip net bios helper stopped and not running. tryed to restart services and came up with erro code of 1068 for both they willnot start.

All other programs you outlined to me are running and there.

next step i guess look up error code 1068


I think this is a Bingo

Last edited by star393; 02-13-11 at 15:01..
  #37  
Old 02-13-11, 14:59
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colemanguy View Post
what was the netsh qc command supposed to do? Who told you to run that? Google gave me very rough ideas that its used to reset some of the dhcp stuff. netsh winsock reset command only works if its windows xp sp2 or greater. The bigger concern to me is dispearing devices and rpc errors, which indicate a damaged os, I would first recommend your put in your xp cd, and at the run box type, sfc /scannow which stands for system file checker, and start with that. Are programs randomly crashing and stuff or other then the no internet is the system working normaly?
ran file checker no infomation came up after it finished doing that. I dont know if thats good or bad
  #38  
Old 02-13-11, 15:49
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

How this good computer why when i run ipconfig does the screen come and go and i cannot view it?????????????? its there but goes on and off you cant view it????
  #39  
Old 02-13-11, 18:23
handygal handygal is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Beachy and warm
Posts: 808
Thanks: 83
Thanked 103 Times in 101 Posts
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

you can't run ipconfig from the "run" line. It's Start > Run type in CMD (press ok) and in the command box enter ipconfig /all.
__________________
If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough -Mario Andretti
  #40  
Old 02-13-11, 19:59
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by handygal View Post
you can't run ipconfig from the "run" line. It's Start > Run type in CMD (press ok) and in the command box enter ipconfig /all.
ok thanks confused then

how do i reinstall netbios over tcipi. i was in the network managers devices hardware and looked up nonplug and play devices all hidden the netbios over tcpip device had a yellow ? in it and i tried to reinstall it and fix it but uninstalled it because it wasnt working because rcp and dhcp reley on it and wont work without it so i figure reinstall it but it wasnt that easy so iam asking now were to find netbios over tcpip device to reinstall it.
Sponsored links
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing main hosting computer thelostonesway Hardware 4 12-21-09 10:51
Cant connect my main PC to internet Wayne82 Hardware 2 01-20-09 20:29
Wireless internet with Dlink problems? Main computer connected to internet w/ USB... saiyan_girl Hardware 0 10-08-08 15:49
Main internet connection disappeared? WildFire4 Hardware 0 08-06-08 17:56
router and main computer lamia8592 Hardware 6 05-18-07 10:39


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:27.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger