MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-11, 09:41
kakes kakes is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default HP-DV6-3049TX with ATI Radeon HD 5450

Dear All,

I bought one HP-DV6-3049TX model with 64bit windows 7 OS. It came with ATI Radeon HD 5450 Graphics Card. Due to few of my intended softwares, i was forced to downgrade to Windows XP 32 Bit. Now the issue is that everything is working fine except to the Graphics card. The screen is simply painful for me. Donno what to do now. I am in a terrible fix, since neither I can regrade myself to Windows 7 nor I am getting a workable graphic.

PLEASE HELP URGENTLY..... further more, the MOD's are not available in internet. I tried many of the so called 32 bit drivers which quoted themself for the same graphic config, but everything was useless. HP is not ready to help since they comment that windows XP is not what they had supplied.

PLEASE .....PLEASE HELP

Best regards
Kakes

Last edited by DavidGP; 03-31-11 at 11:27.. Reason: Approved post, please try not to use .... in the .... middle of sentences as the spam filter captures them
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 03-31-11, 12:15
tgell tgell is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,598
Thanks: 208
Thanked 938 Times in 883 Posts
Default Re: HP-DV6-3049TX with ATI Radeon HD 5450

Hello,
I would uninstall the current driver you have and then run Drive Sweeper in safe mode to clean anything left over. Then reboot and install this driver for xp.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-31-11, 12:51
DavidGP's Avatar
DavidGP DavidGP is offline
MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 38,744
Thanks: 2,923
Thanked 3,076 Times in 2,799 Posts
Default Re: HP-DV6-3049TX with ATI Radeon HD 5450

Hi

Could you also let us know what if any devices have a yellow ! mark in Device Manager as some missing drivers, especially the Chipset can cause issues with other drivers.

What Service Pack level is your XP at? RTM, SP1, SP1a, SP2 or SP3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-01-11, 08:34
kakes kakes is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: HP-DV6-3049TX with ATI Radeon HD 5450

hi david,

these appear in yellow:

NETWORK CONTROLLER
PCI DATA ACQUISITION AND SIGNAL PROCESSING CONTROLLER
PCI SIMPLE COMMUNICATIONS CONTROLLER
SM BUS CONTROLLER
VIDEO CONTROLLER(VGA COMPATIBLE)

i am operating at windows xp professional SP3

Regards
kakes
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-01-11, 08:48
Caliban's Avatar
Caliban Caliban is offline
I don't need no steenkin' title!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunny South
Posts: 5,330
Thanks: 529
Thanked 1,160 Times in 1,046 Posts
Default Re: HP-DV6-3049TX with ATI Radeon HD 5450

Greetings, kakes.

Those Device Manager flags indicate that you do indeed need to reinstall your chipset drivers.

1. Download and install this file.

2. Reboot your machine (very important).

3. Install the graphics driver posted by tgell or this driver provided by HP.

4. Reboot again.

Please post back with the results.
__________________
Constantly Sharpening Occam's Razorô
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 04-01-11, 11:37
kakes kakes is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: HP-DV6-3049TX with ATI Radeon HD 5450

Dear All,

I tried everything as per your valuable suggestions. But unfortunately nothing worked of it.

I used drive sweeper to clean previous drivers. Then re-installed the chipset driver suggested. then installed the video driver suggested. all this has been done in safe mode. But nothing happened.

While installing the chipset, it commented me that i am going to overwrite the very same driver. then I cleaned the driver with drive sweeper and then re-installed. then went ahead with display driver as per procedure suggested above.

Please suggest me path forward.

Regards
Kakes
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-01-11, 12:31
DavidGP's Avatar
DavidGP DavidGP is offline
MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 38,744
Thanks: 2,923
Thanked 3,076 Times in 2,799 Posts
Default Re: HP-DV6-3049TX with ATI Radeon HD 5450

Hi

A your post lists the SM Bus driver then you are missing the most important driver as in the Chipset and while a downgrade is not always perfect, could you supply the following?

Download and install Everest to find this info, at times a summary log of your PC can help, to do this

Quote:
Install Everest and run
Click Report (top menu) > Report Wizard > Next
Choose System Summary Only > Next
Choose Plain Text > Finish and wait for report to generate
Click Save to File and leave the File Name as Report, then click the Save as Type dropdown and choose Report files (*txt) and click Save (n.b. Save to desktop is best as easy place to find it, use Browse to locate desktop)



Then attach your log to your next post as per these instructions HOW TO: Attach Items To Your Post
May give some clues as o Chipset to install as thats the most important one you need.

Sadly a downgrade will not always result in a perfect resolution as some drivers are not written for th older OS, and maybe a Virtual PC is the way to go as is Dual Boot.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-01-11, 13:15
kakes kakes is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: HP-DV6-3049TX with ATI Radeon HD 5450

Dear David,

As suggested, I have attached the report file with this thread. Just one more problem while launching Everest. In normal operation mode,when launching the everest software, the system switches itself down showing a blue screen with some kernel error and then restarts. I did this report in safe mode.

Regards
Kakes
Attached Files
File Type: txt Report.txt (32.2 KB, 6 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-02-11, 08:08
tgell tgell is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,598
Thanks: 208
Thanked 938 Times in 883 Posts
Default Re: HP-DV6-3049TX with ATI Radeon HD 5450

Do you still have exclamation marks next to the devices you mentioned?

NETWORK CONTROLLER
PCI DATA ACQUISITION AND SIGNAL PROCESSING CONTROLLER
PCI SIMPLE COMMUNICATIONS CONTROLLER
SM BUS CONTROLLER
VIDEO CONTROLLER(VGA COMPATIBLE)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-02-11, 08:14
Caliban's Avatar
Caliban Caliban is offline
I don't need no steenkin' title!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunny South
Posts: 5,330
Thanks: 529
Thanked 1,160 Times in 1,046 Posts
Default Re: HP-DV6-3049TX with ATI Radeon HD 5450

And if you do still have the flags, try this:

Download, unzip and run this Intel utility, let us know the results.
__________________
Constantly Sharpening Occam's Razorô
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 04-02-11, 08:32
Caliban's Avatar
Caliban Caliban is offline
I don't need no steenkin' title!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunny South
Posts: 5,330
Thanks: 529
Thanked 1,160 Times in 1,046 Posts
Default Re: HP-DV6-3049TX with ATI Radeon HD 5450

Just had another thought: do you have .NET Framework installed, and if so, is it at least version 3.5? Seems like I remember that the ATI Catalyst Control Center must have .NET installed to work properly. If you don't have .NET, then you might try downloading and installing just the device driver from tgell's link.

Understand that this doesn't affect the chipset problems, but there may be separate issues going on here.
__________________
Constantly Sharpening Occam's Razorô
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-03-11, 09:21
kakes kakes is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: HP-DV6-3049TX with ATI Radeon HD 5450

Dear Caliban,

I installed the intel utility as suggested. the results for device manager are still the same....no improvement. when trying for the amd utility, it does'nt allow me to download with warning "UNAUTHORISED DOWNLOAD"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI Radeon HD 5450 driver peterr Software 55 04-15-11 15:16
Radeon X1950 vs Radeon HD 3850 EXOX3 Hardware 4 12-19-09 04:14
Help with ATI radeon x1650 goina Hardware 4 07-20-07 14:53
my ATI Radeon 9250 art2d2 Hardware 9 02-17-07 15:01


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger