MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-11, 16:16
Blue_Arsed_Fly Blue_Arsed_Fly is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 23
Thanks: 9
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default How To Change FSB & CPU Multiplier Speeds in Windows 7?

When I access my BIOS from startup on Windows 7 i'm not getting an option to change any settings such as Front Serial Bus or CPU Multiplier speeds.

How do i do this?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 08-01-11, 17:09
Colemanguy's Avatar
Colemanguy Colemanguy is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Salina Kansas
Posts: 3,520
Thanks: 148
Thanked 281 Times in 240 Posts
Default Re: How To Change FSB & CPU Multiplier Speeds in Windows 7?

Your version of windows shouldn't have any effect on this, were you able to before?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-11, 08:43
Blue_Arsed_Fly Blue_Arsed_Fly is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 23
Thanks: 9
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: How To Change FSB & CPU Multiplier Speeds in Windows 7?

Nope. Take it this means I can't?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-03-11, 04:03
Colemanguy's Avatar
Colemanguy Colemanguy is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Salina Kansas
Posts: 3,520
Thanks: 148
Thanked 281 Times in 240 Posts
Default Re: How To Change FSB & CPU Multiplier Speeds in Windows 7?

Probably not then at that point unless there is a new bios to flash that unlocks those features. Generally speaking, cheaper motherboards won't have as many features such as you mentioned.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Colemanguy For This Useful Post:
Blue_Arsed_Fly (08-03-11)
  #5  
Old 08-03-11, 11:55
DavidGP's Avatar
DavidGP DavidGP is offline
MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 38,606
Thanks: 2,804
Thanked 3,029 Times in 2,757 Posts
Default Re: How To Change FSB & CPU Multiplier Speeds in Windows 7?

Also if its a OEM build one like DELL, HP then again very likely it will not have clock and multiplier setting options, but be weary as random BIOS versions that say they unlock options in the likes of DELL, HP, ACER etc PCs are likely to kill your PC as a bad BIOS flash on many OEM boards is unrecoverable as they dont have a backup BIOS chip.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DavidGP For This Useful Post:
Blue_Arsed_Fly (08-03-11)
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 08-03-11, 12:13
Blue_Arsed_Fly Blue_Arsed_Fly is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 23
Thanks: 9
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: How To Change FSB & CPU Multiplier Speeds in Windows 7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidGP View Post
Also if its a OEM build one like DELL, HP then again very likely it will not have clock and multiplier setting options, but be weary as random BIOS versions that say they unlock options in the likes of DELL, HP, ACER etc PCs are likely to kill your PC as a bad BIOS flash on many OEM boards is unrecoverable as they dont have a backup BIOS chip.
It's HP.

Any recommendations for overclocking software so? Preferably something that offers some sort of BIOS backup feature to external hardware, if possible.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-03-11, 13:12
augiedoggie's Avatar
augiedoggie augiedoggie is offline
The Canadian Loon - LocoAugie (R.I.P. 2012)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mirabel, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 10,091
Thanks: 194
Thanked 975 Times in 910 Posts
Default Re: How To Change FSB & CPU Multiplier Speeds in Windows 7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_Arsed_Fly View Post
It's HP.

Any recommendations for overclocking software so? Preferably something that offers some sort of BIOS backup feature to external hardware, if possible.
If it's not in the BIOS presently then I really doubt there being an update or software available, it's not worth their time to code things like that. OEM's buy motherboards that are just good enough to perform, they don't want users to try and OC their cheap yet functional hardware.

You're out of luck unless you buy an overpriced OEM like Alienware(I'm not even sure about that) or build one yourself which is what I have done since my first 'made to order by supplier' machine which was OC'able back in '02. Got my 1 gig Celeron to 1.2 gigs with an ASUS mobo.
__________________
i7 930 @ 2.8GHz, GTX470/GTX260, 6GB RAM:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to change motherboard fan speeds? supergallas Hardware 1 08-29-06 15:56
Slow upload speeds, but fast DownLoad speeds? Capped? Aynatix Hardware 1 08-02-05 23:34
mobile pentium 3 multiplier change? ACE 256 Hardware 9 07-15-05 14:39
Downloading speeds, Windows 98SE. bigbazza Software 12 03-08-04 22:28
Downloading speeds, Windows 98SE. bigbazza Software 0 03-03-04 14:09


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger