MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-05-11, 13:44
hepemo hepemo is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default External disk problem["You need to format the disk in drive G:before you can use it"]

Hello,

I have got a problem with an external hard disk. Right now, eventhough I connect it to my PC, it doesn't even recognise it.

Yesterday, the following message showed up when it was connected:



This happened after I had this disk connected to a box, exactly this one:

http://www.azbox.com/index.php?id=3&tbl=registos&id2=14

It read and played movies just fine, but yesterday when I connected it back to the PC, it started showing up the message I posted above... and today when I plug it, it doesn't even recognise it.

I think it was no coincidence, since I had this external disk connected to the computer and it never gave me a problem.

After doing some research online, I have tried the program "GetdataBack", but it didn't work... it doesn't show up the external disk on the list...

Can anyone help me? Unfortunately I have a large amount of important files from work on this disk... I wish it was just movies or stuff like that.

Thank you in advance!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 09-05-11, 13:51
Toke's Avatar
Toke Toke is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bournemouth UK
Posts: 1,166
Thanks: 17
Thanked 75 Times in 75 Posts
Default Re: External disk problem["You need to format the disk in drive G:before you can use

Is it showing in Disk Management ?? if so right click and see if it gives you the opurtunity to 'Import Foreign Disk'
__________________
Asus M4A88T.AMD Phenom 2 X2 565 Black Edition 3.4GHz,4Gig Corsair DDR3.Asus EN210 Vid
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-05-11, 14:00
hepemo hepemo is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: External disk problem["You need to format the disk in drive G:before you can use

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toke View Post
Is it showing in Disk Management ?? if so right click and see if it gives you the opurtunity to 'Import Foreign Disk'
Right now, when I connect it, nothing show up at all.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-05-11, 14:13
Dragoon Dragoon is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: External disk problem["You need to format the disk in drive G:before you can use

I get this problem with mine from time to time. It seems to be caused by the USB cable or the drive's connector. After re-seating it a few times (gently, that is), it works fine. At this point I haven't determined whether it is the cable or the connector...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-05-11, 14:30
hepemo hepemo is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: External disk problem["You need to format the disk in drive G:before you can use

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoon View Post
I get this problem with mine from time to time. It seems to be caused by the USB cable or the drive's connector. After re-seating it a few times (gently, that is), it works fine. At this point I haven't determined whether it is the cable or the connector...
Sadly, I don't think it's down to that. I've tried many different ports...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 09-05-11, 14:33
sach2's Avatar
sach2 sach2 is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,584
Thanks: 604
Thanked 1,801 Times in 1,718 Posts
Default Re: External disk problem["You need to format the disk in drive G:before you can use

You might try this Partition Wizard Bootable CD at the bottom of page (I am getting terrible download speeds from their server today 23Kb/s so 20+ minutes for a 39mb file).

Write it to blank CD as an IMAGE file using imgburn or similar burning software.

Then boot to the CD with the USB external already attached to your computer. See if it shows up in the list of Disks and if it is showing a partition. If it does show up double click the partition and see if it lists your files.

It might work because it is Linux based CD and might see the drive where Windows won't. We would have to figure out a next step if it shows up but it should rule out a problem with the external's case.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-06-11, 13:58
hepemo hepemo is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: External disk problem["You need to format the disk in drive G:before you can use

Quote:
Originally Posted by sach2 View Post
You might try this Partition Wizard Bootable CD at the bottom of page (I am getting terrible download speeds from their server today 23Kb/s so 20+ minutes for a 39mb file).

Write it to blank CD as an IMAGE file using imgburn or similar burning software.

Then boot to the CD with the USB external already attached to your computer. See if it shows up in the list of Disks and if it is showing a partition. If it does show up double click the partition and see if it lists your files.

It might work because it is Linux based CD and might see the drive where Windows won't. We would have to figure out a next step if it shows up but it should rule out a problem with the external's case.
Hi sach,

I am going to try this soon - I don't have any blank cds at the moment.

I'll write back to see if worked(*fingers crossed*) or not ().

Thank you for the advice.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-06-11, 14:11
sach2's Avatar
sach2 sach2 is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,584
Thanks: 604
Thanked 1,801 Times in 1,718 Posts
Default Re: External disk problem["You need to format the disk in drive G:before you can use

Your first problem where Windows says it is unformatted is something Partition Wizard might be able to fix. The Windows version would work fine for that. But since Windows won't even recognize the HD anymore I think it is worth seeing if Linux can see the HD.

You could try to get the USB HD acknowledged on another computer, if you have one available, and run PW on that to check the filesystem. Sometimes it is just one computer that has trouble recognizing a USB device.

Does the Azbox still see the drive?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-06-11, 14:36
hepemo hepemo is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: External disk problem["You need to format the disk in drive G:before you can use

Quote:
Originally Posted by sach2 View Post
Your first problem where Windows says it is unformatted is something Partition Wizard might be able to fix. The Windows version would work fine for that. But since Windows won't even recognize the HD anymore I think it is worth seeing if Linux can see the HD.

You could try to get the USB HD acknowledged on another computer, if you have one available, and run PW on that to check the filesystem. Sometimes it is just one computer that has trouble recognizing a USB device.

Does the Azbox still see the drive?
Yes, that's exactly what happened. At firt there was that window with the "format message"... and now it's nothing.

I have tried it on a laptop and the disk shows up... but when I right click it, it says "0 bytes"...

I am a bit worried... I have read that recovering data can cost several thousand Euros(I am in europe). I always thought that the data would be safe...

I'll try to start in linux as soon as I can and hopefully it will allow me to see the files and save them.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-06-11, 14:45
sach2's Avatar
sach2 sach2 is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,584
Thanks: 604
Thanked 1,801 Times in 1,718 Posts
Default Re: External disk problem["You need to format the disk in drive G:before you can use

If it shows up as 0 bytes the you can try Partition Wizard for Windows.

As long as the drive shows in Disk Management (which I thought you said it didn't show up) PW should be able to work with it. Where are you seeing the 0 bytes in My Computer? If you see it there then try the Windows version of PW. It might be able to see something on the disk.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 09-06-11, 15:17
hepemo hepemo is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: External disk problem["You need to format the disk in drive G:before you can use

Quote:
Originally Posted by sach2 View Post
Your first problem where Windows says it is unformatted is something Partition Wizard might be able to fix. The Windows version would work fine for that. But since Windows won't even recognize the HD anymore I think it is worth seeing if Linux can see the HD.

You could try to get the USB HD acknowledged on another computer, if you have one available, and run PW on that to check the filesystem. Sometimes it is just one computer that has trouble recognizing a USB device.

Does the Azbox still see the drive?
Yes, that's exactly what happened. At firt there was that window with the "format message"... and now it's nothing.

I have done what you suggested. I tried it on a laptop and the disk shows up - on "my computer" - there's no dialogue box... but when I right click it, it says "0 bytes"...

I am a bit worried... I have read that recovering data can cost several thousand Euros(I am in europe). I always thought that the data would be safe...

I'll try to start in linux as soon as I can and hopefully it will allow me to see the files and save them. Otherwise I'll be in deep trouble.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-06-11, 16:07
sach2's Avatar
sach2 sach2 is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,584
Thanks: 604
Thanked 1,801 Times in 1,718 Posts
Default Re: External disk problem["You need to format the disk in drive G:before you can use

Hi, just letting you know that your last reply was a copy of your earlier one in case you meant to post something else.

And just to be sure--you do realize that Disk Management is different than My Computer? Disk Management is found in Start>Run> type in diskmgmt.msc and hit enter/ok. See if the disk shows in the graphs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sometimes I get = "DISK BOOT FAILURE,INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER" TIA4EVER Hardware 6 03-19-09 14:40
Hard Drive replacement? 200+ EventViewer "disk" errors/day..clone 1st? bee bee Hardware 3 03-11-09 20:37
Help "Primary hard disk drive 0 not found" burnout Hardware 17 03-25-08 10:13
"no disk in drive" error GStam66 Software 1 10-04-05 13:56
"Compress drive to save disk space" Strange Old Brew Hardware 1 03-29-05 05:37


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright © MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger