MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-11, 17:32
Rikky's Avatar
Rikky Rikky is offline
Wile E. Coyote - One of a kind
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thin line between the ideological and the pragmatic
Posts: 10,158
Thanks: 572
Thanked 737 Times in 637 Posts
Default Any PCI-E X16 slot for video card?Any PCI-E slot for sound card

Does it matter which PCI-E X16 slot you use? My board has 2 full X16 slots and I want to run my GTX590 lower down in the case to move it away from my soundcard.

Here's my board

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/pro...d=3449&dl=1#sp

Also does anyone have any experience running sound cards ect. in full size PCI-E X16 slots? they obviously don't engage the clips on the socket but do they still work?

I've never had reason to try either of these configurations and my computer is in pieces ATM while I'm upgrading it so I have no way to test for any problems but everything I've read on the subject so far says there shouldn't be any problems with either of afore mentioned configurations.

Thanks
__________________
"No one panics when things go according to plan, even when the plan is horrifying." The Joker
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 11-12-11, 20:31
Digerati's Avatar
Digerati Digerati is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,844
Thanks: 6
Thanked 360 Times in 322 Posts
Default Re: Any PCI-E X16 slot for video card?Any PCI-E slot for sound card

When all else fails, RTFM! Note on page 12, Note 2, it says,
Quote:
For optimum performance, if only one PCI Express graphics card is to be installed, be sure to install it in the PCIEX16_1 slot
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
MS MVP, Windows Expert-IT Pro 2007-2014
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Digerati For This Useful Post:
Rikky (11-13-11)
  #3  
Old 11-13-11, 10:04
Rikky's Avatar
Rikky Rikky is offline
Wile E. Coyote - One of a kind
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thin line between the ideological and the pragmatic
Posts: 10,158
Thanks: 572
Thanked 737 Times in 637 Posts
Default Re: Any PCI-E X16 slot for video card?Any PCI-E slot for sound card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digerati View Post
When all else fails, RTFM! Note on page 12, Note 2, it says,
Reading's so last season Thanks Digerati

I've put my computer back together and the sound card will fit above the video card in the PCI-E X1 slot the only problm being I will have to drain the system and disconnect the hose from the video card to add or remove it.

So would still like to know if sticking my sound card in a X16 slot is feasible.
__________________
"No one panics when things go according to plan, even when the plan is horrifying." The Joker
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-13-11, 10:16
Digerati's Avatar
Digerati Digerati is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,844
Thanks: 6
Thanked 360 Times in 322 Posts
Default Re: Any PCI-E X16 slot for video card?Any PCI-E slot for sound card

Well, since you've told us absolutely nothing about your sound card, I'd have to say, RTFM for your sound card!
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
MS MVP, Windows Expert-IT Pro 2007-2014
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-13-11, 11:21
augiedoggie's Avatar
augiedoggie augiedoggie is offline
The Canadian Loon - LocoAugie (R.I.P. 2012)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mirabel, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 10,091
Thanks: 194
Thanked 975 Times in 910 Posts
Default Re: Any PCI-E X16 slot for video card?Any PCI-E slot for sound card

Hehehe Rikky, you should know better than to supply a dearth of info. My eVGA mobo balks with no video card in the first slot, can't you stopper up your cooling tubes and try different slots? Like digerati said, RTFM first. Just slap the sucker in a PCI-EX1 SLOT on top. What's the problem?
__________________
i7 930 @ 2.8GHz, GTX470/GTX260, 6GB RAM:

Last edited by augiedoggie; 11-13-11 at 11:28..
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to augiedoggie For This Useful Post:
Rikky (11-13-11)
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 11-13-11, 17:48
Rikky's Avatar
Rikky Rikky is offline
Wile E. Coyote - One of a kind
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thin line between the ideological and the pragmatic
Posts: 10,158
Thanks: 572
Thanked 737 Times in 637 Posts
Default Re: Any PCI-E X16 slot for video card?Any PCI-E slot for sound card

lol I'm being told off It was just a general question as to PCI-E compatibility though.

http://www.asus.com/Multimedia/Audio_Cards/Xonar_D2X/

In the manual it just says requires PCI-E X1 slot

My northbridge cooler blocks the highest PCI-E X1 slot above the video card and the one below it as said means I have to remove a hose from my vid card cooler and drain the system which will be a pain.

I'm not stuck just wondering,I have other options with regard to hose placement but those other options cause other problems which will have to be addressed.

Just a general question if anyone runs X1 cards in X16 slots.
__________________
"No one panics when things go according to plan, even when the plan is horrifying." The Joker

Last edited by Rikky; 11-13-11 at 17:56..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-13-11, 20:27
augiedoggie's Avatar
augiedoggie augiedoggie is offline
The Canadian Loon - LocoAugie (R.I.P. 2012)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mirabel, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 10,091
Thanks: 194
Thanked 975 Times in 910 Posts
Default Re: Any PCI-E X16 slot for video card?Any PCI-E slot for sound card

Now I understand your dilemma, that does look like a big assed Northbridge on your mobo, like most are these days. Sorry Rikky, you'll have to test your mobo to see if a video card will be accepted into slot two, if you have enough slack in the tubing, it wouldn't hurt anything and just not boot, I'd be hesitant to install that beautiful sound card into any PCI-EXx slot before making sure.

I'm sure there's someone in your predicament on the interwebs that's gone through this. Mimsy's the only one here that has a water cooled machine and is a gamer too that I know of. Good luck mate!
__________________
i7 930 @ 2.8GHz, GTX470/GTX260, 6GB RAM:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-13-11, 22:29
Rikky's Avatar
Rikky Rikky is offline
Wile E. Coyote - One of a kind
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thin line between the ideological and the pragmatic
Posts: 10,158
Thanks: 572
Thanked 737 Times in 637 Posts
Default Re: Any PCI-E X16 slot for video card?Any PCI-E slot for sound card

Quote:
Originally Posted by augiedoggie View Post
Now I understand your dilemma, that does look like a big assed Northbridge on your mobo, like most are these days. Sorry Rikky, you'll have to test your mobo to see if a video card will be accepted into slot two, if you have enough slack in the tubing, it wouldn't hurt anything and just not boot, I'd be hesitant to install that beautiful sound card into any PCI-EXx slot before making sure.

I'm sure there's someone in your predicament on the interwebs that's gone through this. Mimsy's the only one here that has a water cooled machine and is a gamer too that I know of. Good luck mate!
Well I've settled for putting it above my video card I'll just have to drain the system if I need to remove it.

When by radiator stand is finished I'll post pics of the complete build.

Thanks for everyone's input,BTW the northbridge is even bigger now I've attached a fan to it Augie I was gonna buy a water block but they're like 50 and will probably be overkill anyway so I just removed cleaned put some AS5 on,removed the toplate to increase cooling then installed a fan hopefully that should keep it cool enough for me to bump the base clock up,I was reading 70 C when I last over clocked it 40-50 or so MHZ.
__________________
"No one panics when things go according to plan, even when the plan is horrifying." The Joker

Last edited by Rikky; 11-13-11 at 22:34..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-13-11, 23:10
augiedoggie's Avatar
augiedoggie augiedoggie is offline
The Canadian Loon - LocoAugie (R.I.P. 2012)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mirabel, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 10,091
Thanks: 194
Thanked 975 Times in 910 Posts
Default Re: Any PCI-E X16 slot for video card?Any PCI-E slot for sound card

Quote:
Originally Posted by 'Rikky
Thanks for everyone's input,BTW the northbridge is even bigger now I've attached a fan to it Augie I was gonna buy a water block but they're like 50 and will probably be overkill anyway so I just removed cleaned put some AS5 on,removed the toplate to increase cooling then installed a fan hopefully that should keep it cool enough for me to bump the base clock up,I was reading 70 C when I last over clocked it 40-50 or so MHZ.
Hahahaha! You superglued a 25mm fan on it or something? I think what a lot of folks forget is when one changes from the standard fan to a water solution that the HS/F also cools the vregs and the Northbridge. I fell into that trap when I installed my Corsair H50 on the CPU. The vreg temps went skyrocketing, like 105C. It's the highest temps anyone has seen on the eVGA forums. Removing that airflow over the vreg heatsink really kaiboshed it. It forced me not to go over 3.8 gigs on my OC and it has luckily stood up to the abuse these last 3 years. I most likely could have gotten to 4 gigs or more.

It's a good board, tri-SLI and all but I couldn't get the temps down, you can see it here, the silver heatsink between the pump and the radiator, some seven or so chromed leaves.
__________________
i7 930 @ 2.8GHz, GTX470/GTX260, 6GB RAM:

Last edited by augiedoggie; 11-13-11 at 23:15..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-13-11, 23:18
augiedoggie's Avatar
augiedoggie augiedoggie is offline
The Canadian Loon - LocoAugie (R.I.P. 2012)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mirabel, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 10,091
Thanks: 194
Thanked 975 Times in 910 Posts
Default Re: Any PCI-E X16 slot for video card?Any PCI-E slot for sound card

BTW Rikky, you said pushing your i7 by 50 megs gives you issues? You must mean on top of your regular OC, correct?
__________________
i7 930 @ 2.8GHz, GTX470/GTX260, 6GB RAM:
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 11-14-11, 00:26
Rikky's Avatar
Rikky Rikky is offline
Wile E. Coyote - One of a kind
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thin line between the ideological and the pragmatic
Posts: 10,158
Thanks: 572
Thanked 737 Times in 637 Posts
Default Re: Any PCI-E X16 slot for video card?Any PCI-E slot for sound card

Quote:
Originally Posted by augiedoggie View Post
BTW Rikky, you said pushing your i7 by 50 megs gives you issues? You must mean on top of your regular OC, correct?
Not issues just high chipset temperatures it was still perfectly stable,apparently Intel states the chipset temp is good till 100C but I have my doubts.

And I mean 180mhz on the base clock "FSB" from the stock 133mhz not CPU overclock.

I've added extra cooling just for piece of mind really,I want to be sure the chipset temp isn't killing my overclock.
__________________
"No one panics when things go according to plan, even when the plan is horrifying." The Joker
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-14-11, 01:07
augiedoggie's Avatar
augiedoggie augiedoggie is offline
The Canadian Loon - LocoAugie (R.I.P. 2012)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mirabel, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 10,091
Thanks: 194
Thanked 975 Times in 910 Posts
Default Re: Any PCI-E X16 slot for video card?Any PCI-E slot for sound card

So you're basically corroborating my experience. Even a side fan doesn't help me much. Ya, I'm at 183 FSB. I believe this is what you mean. Anyways Rikky, time for bed. Laters.

http://forums.majorgeeks.com/attachm...5&d=1277267694
__________________
i7 930 @ 2.8GHz, GTX470/GTX260, 6GB RAM:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Video card slot, PCI vs AGP neffgeek Hardware 6 05-23-10 13:00
Help PCIE Slot/Video Card ZeuZ Hardware 7 02-06-10 07:48
agp graphics card crashed - is it card or slot marpet33 Hardware 4 08-14-08 13:42
what video card slot is this? picture included conradford Hardware 5 12-22-06 19:36
Video Card Agp Slot? BeerMonkey Software 6 09-09-04 18:56


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger