MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-14-11, 14:14
Dumb_Question Dumb_Question is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Three Counties
Posts: 414
Thanks: 42
Thanked 40 Times in 40 Posts
Default tsnp2std.exe

Recently I have noticed the process tsnp2std.exe taking up about 10 - 20 % of my CPU, consistently.

I have read that this process is associated with camera software: I do occasionally plug in a USB digital camera to my PC and there is a USB webcam permanently attached, but not often on/capturing pictures. I have also read that some malware disguises itself as this process. I use AVG free edition 2011, both in real time and as a scanner.

I have found three copies of this program using explorer>search on my HD,
in C:\WINDOWS, C:\Program Files\Common Files\snp2std and as TSNP2STD.EXE-047DB94.pf in C:WINDOWS\Prefetch

In the light of this information, what should I do ? Just put up with CPU overhead ?

Dumb_Question
14.November.2011

Compaq Presario S5160UK DT261A - MSI MS-6577 - XP/SP3
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 11-15-11, 13:26
plodr's Avatar
plodr plodr is online now
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: at my computer
Posts: 13,822
Thanks: 179
Thanked 2,471 Times in 2,292 Posts
Default Re: tsnp2std.exe

No you don't have to put up with CPU usage from unneeded startup programs. Look in your startup items and remove the software from starting up when you boot windows. Chances are the digital camera is checking for updates to the software and checking to see if it is attached to the computer. There may even be a setting in the Camera software that allows you to uncheck/untick run at startup.
__________________
7" ASUS eeepc with linux
Aspire V5 7 HomePremium
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-17-11, 09:38
Dumb_Question Dumb_Question is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Three Counties
Posts: 414
Thanks: 42
Thanked 40 Times in 40 Posts
Default Re: tsnp2std.exe

Thanks, I'm working on this...

Dumb_Question
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-11, 13:35
augiedoggie's Avatar
augiedoggie augiedoggie is offline
The Canadian Loon - LocoAugie (R.I.P. 2012)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mirabel, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 10,091
Thanks: 194
Thanked 975 Times in 910 Posts
Default Re: tsnp2std.exe

Strange, second post I see on this tsnp2std.exe today, the other poster had some %15 CPU use. Do you also have a webcam?
__________________
i7 930 @ 2.8GHz, GTX470/GTX260, 6GB RAM:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-17-11, 15:54
Dumb_Question Dumb_Question is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Three Counties
Posts: 414
Thanks: 42
Thanked 40 Times in 40 Posts
Default Re: tsnp2std.exe

I mentioned tsnp2std.exe in another post of mine. The CPU usage figure of this program varies between 0 and 25%, along with variations in other programs that the task manager shows, the main ones being WD Smartware, IExplorer and sys idle process. AVG sometimes is there if it's running an update, scan, or checking a site I guess. Others I don't notice because they seem work satisfactorily and I don't have time to check them because I am too busy using them.

I have decided to try to cut CPU usage (even though I am not sure that is a problem) and hence am trying to determine which programs to cut and what method to use

Dumb_Question
17.November.2011
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 11-17-11, 16:05
augiedoggie's Avatar
augiedoggie augiedoggie is offline
The Canadian Loon - LocoAugie (R.I.P. 2012)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mirabel, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 10,091
Thanks: 194
Thanked 975 Times in 910 Posts
Default Re: tsnp2std.exe

Sys idle process is how much free CPU you have left, not used in other words. I run at %100 CPU load so my sys idle is usually %0 to %5.

Quote:
I have decided to try to cut CPU usage (even though I am not sure that is a problem) and hence am trying to determine which programs to cut and what method to use
Try this first of course, like I said. You can't screw this up as these are not mandatory programs and you flagged them as big CPU hogs. Start there man and then we move on. I have nothing more to give or say.
__________________
i7 930 @ 2.8GHz, GTX470/GTX260, 6GB RAM:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tsnp2std.exe

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46.


MajorGeeks.Com Home Page
| Admin Tools | All In One | Anti-Spyware | Anti-Virus | Appearance | Backup | Benchmarking | BIOS | Browsers | Covert Ops |
Data Recovery | Diagnostics | Drive Cleaners | Drive Utilities | Drivers | Driver Tools Ergonomics | Firewalls | Games | Game Tweaks | Graphics | Input Devices | Internet Tools | Macintosh | Mail Utilities | Memory | Messaging | Monitoring | Microsoft | Multimedia | Networking | Office Tools | Process Management | Processor | Registry | Security | System Info | Toys | Video | Miscellaneous
|
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger