MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 04-25-12, 12:44
thedon01 thedon01 is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 235
Thanks: 90
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Went to bed with working computer, woke up with the opposite

i went ahead and uninstalled all of the proset using ccleaner, then reinstalled via the link you provided. Ran ipconfig and got the same results.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #22  
Old 04-25-12, 15:52
handygal handygal is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Beachy and warm
Posts: 808
Thanks: 83
Thanked 103 Times in 101 Posts
Default Re: Went to bed with working computer, woke up with the opposite

Let's try setting a static IP in the computer.

(I'm going to go fast here because you seem to know where all of this is and I'm at work)
On the computer that WORKS when plugged into the router, go to the command prompt and type in ipconfig /all
note the results for the Local Area Connection

Go to the computer that does not work. In the Network Connections, right-click on Local Area Connection and select properties. In that box scroll down to Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) select that and Properties. In here you will enter static settings based on what the results from the other computer.

(be right back, emergency)
__________________
If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough -Mario Andretti
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04-25-12, 16:12
thedon01 thedon01 is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 235
Thanks: 90
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Went to bed with working computer, woke up with the opposite

am i just to enter the exact info such as ip address, subnet, etc from the working into the non working?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-25-12, 16:26
thedon01 thedon01 is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 235
Thanks: 90
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Went to bed with working computer, woke up with the opposite

the working pc had
IP Address: 76.189.144.6

i used ip address: 76.189.144.9 on the non working pc

the connectivity error went away, but i still couldn't bring up a site, say google.com
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04-25-12, 20:34
thedon01 thedon01 is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 235
Thanks: 90
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Went to bed with working computer, woke up with the opposite

I called Time Warner since im using road runner cable and i think we've successfully isolated the problem. I'm currently typing this message via the problematic PC. The problem seems to lie with the router.

I can only connect 1 pc at a time to the internet and may have to reconfigure the router or replace it. How would i reconfigure?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #26  
Old 04-26-12, 09:41
handygal handygal is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Beachy and warm
Posts: 808
Thanks: 83
Thanked 103 Times in 101 Posts
Default Re: Went to bed with working computer, woke up with the opposite

I am so sorry to bail out on your like that. Hubby had a car accident but everything is fine.

You went on and did exactly what i was getting to, so that's great!

Can you tell me what equipment you have for modem/router?

The point of a router is to share the single connection that you have to the internet with multiple machines. The router stores the login information for the connection and accepts the single IP that can connect -- that is called the WAN side (wide area connection). The computers and devices are the LAN, (Local Area Connection) and they will have IP's from the router in a range that has been assigned for LANs. The most common that I've seen are 192.168.X.X or 10.0.X.X but there are more. Either your equipment is missing a component for this or it isn't set up to issue LAN IPs and route your traffic.
__________________
If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough -Mario Andretti
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04-26-12, 09:45
handygal handygal is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Beachy and warm
Posts: 808
Thanks: 83
Thanked 103 Times in 101 Posts
Default Re: Went to bed with working computer, woke up with the opposite

Weird that Time Warner wasn't more helpful. Usually they will tell you if your equipment will do what you want or try to lease you a wireless router.

No matter, we will be able to tell by the model of what you have.
__________________
If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough -Mario Andretti
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 04-26-12, 12:55
thedon01 thedon01 is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 235
Thanks: 90
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Went to bed with working computer, woke up with the opposite

1. Your family is more important than my computer so that comes first. No need to apologize what so ever.

2. Time Warner is never really helpful so it's not a big surprise to me, however they actually helped me narrow down the problem to the router. I visited 2 other sites dealing with this issue and i wasn't able to isolate the problem. now we know that the Router is to blame.

3. This router is very old (at least 7 years) and it may very well need to be replaced. The Router is a Linksys WRT54G Wireless Router and the modem is a Scientific Atlanta DCP2100.

4. I tried to log into the Router settings to check on the configuration, even though i wouldn't know what to exactly be looking for, but typing in 192.168.1.1 gets me no where. nothing connects, so where do i go from here?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 04-26-12, 18:16
handygal handygal is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Beachy and warm
Posts: 808
Thanks: 83
Thanked 103 Times in 101 Posts
Default Re: Went to bed with working computer, woke up with the opposite

I still have one of those routers too, one of many though.

Unplug everything from the router except the power and one ethernet cable running to a numbered port, the other end of the ethernet plugged into a computer. You computer should get an IP address from it and a gateway. The gateway is the same as the IP for the router. If your gateway is 192.168.5.1 then put that in your browser. The default is 192.168.1.1 but it doesn't have to be that now. It should take you to the configuration pages.

If you need to reset it with the reset button on the back, you will lose the saved user and password for your connection but the default ip will be back to 192.168.1.1 and the default password (user is blank, password is admin).
__________________
If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough -Mario Andretti
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 04-27-12, 23:20
thedon01 thedon01 is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 235
Thanks: 90
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Went to bed with working computer, woke up with the opposite

I'm going to get on it tonight or early morning and get back to you asap
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #31  
Old 04-28-12, 20:28
thedon01 thedon01 is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 235
Thanks: 90
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Went to bed with working computer, woke up with the opposite

here is a quick ipconfig after speaking with time warner:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : gateway-clteqjg
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : neo.rr.com

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : neo.rr.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
on
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-F1-E0-5B-CD
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 98.27.239.29
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.240.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 98.27.224.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.9.128.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.18.47.61
209.18.47.62
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, April 28, 2012 9:21:34 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, April 29, 2012 9:16:49 AM

The default gateway is 98.27.224.1. i entered that into the search bar and came back with "unable to connect".

I tried to reset the router using the "reset" button on the back. I held it down for 10 seconds, nothing occurred. Held it down for 30 seconds, nothing occurred. Held it down for a minute, nothing occurred.

I then tried logging into the router searching with the default ip as suggested and came back with "unable to connect".

I also tried this using 2 different browsers, firefox and ie

lastly, i tried to use the setup cd that came with the router, and i get "unable to connect to the router! please check that the router has been connected to the pc, or reset the router to factory default settings, by pressing the router's reset button for 10 seconds".

Last edited by thedon01; 04-28-12 at 20:33..
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 04-30-12, 09:29
handygal handygal is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Beachy and warm
Posts: 808
Thanks: 83
Thanked 103 Times in 101 Posts
Default Re: Went to bed with working computer, woke up with the opposite

Hi thedon, you did good, your router, not so much!

Just to double check, the ethernet cable from the computer to the router, that is in one of the numbered ports and not the internet port, correct?

If the only cables connected to the router are the power and the ethernet from the computer to a numbered port, you reset the router for 30 seconds, can you browse to 192.168.1.1 ? Can you tell me what the ipconfig /all says when you are connected like this?

I really want to suspect the router but there is one number that appeared (255.255.255.255) that has me wondering if there is a static dhcp server setting lingering in that computer. The test above should show that number again if that were the case. You said you have a second computer that connected through the router? We might need to test and configure the router with that computer, if possible.

There is not much left to do. Either
1. the router passes the test or
2. the router fails the test but there are numbers appearing in ipconfig /all to suggest the computer is causing it.
3. the router fails and nothing in the ipconfig /all seems to be the cause.

If we get to 3, you definitely gave that router every chance.


(don't try to ping 192.168.29.1, that was an example from my own network, it won't work on yours)
__________________
If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough -Mario Andretti
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 05-01-12, 00:33
thedon01 thedon01 is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 235
Thanks: 90
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Went to bed with working computer, woke up with the opposite

thank you for getting back to me.

Let me begin with what i have so far.

1. The computer is connected through LAN port #1

2. The cable modem is connected in the WAN port titled Internet

I color coordinated the cables ensure they were correct.

Currently as of 5/1/12 1:26A.M. The only cables connected to the Linksys Wirless WRT54G ver. 2 router are:

(A). The power cable
(B). An ethernet cable connected from the WAN port to the cable modem.
(C). An ethernet cable connected from the LAN port #1 to computer's ethernet port.

Resetting:
1. I've tried to reset by pressing the reset button in for 30 seconds and nothing happens, meaning the lights on the front of the router do not cycle. They just keep blinking including the power light.

2. When trying to browse to 192.168.1.1 it takes approx 60 seconds to connect and i receive "problem loading page", so i can't get into the router settings.

Second computer
I've tried substituting computers (by hard wiring the second in the place of the first and keeping the first disconnected) and the same "problem loading page" happens.

I have no idea if or how a static dhcp server is on my pc as i simply shut the computer down and restarted the morning after with this problem.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 05-01-12, 13:43
handygal handygal is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Beachy and warm
Posts: 808
Thanks: 83
Thanked 103 Times in 101 Posts
Default Re: Went to bed with working computer, woke up with the opposite

I don't think i've ever seen a router not reset. Shall we call it Toast!
__________________
If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough -Mario Andretti
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 05-02-12, 11:04
thedon01 thedon01 is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 235
Thanks: 90
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Went to bed with working computer, woke up with the opposite

well i plan on buying a new router anyway, so it's not a big deal if this one becomes a frisbee.

Would replacing the router and or reformatting solve all of the problems?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #36  
Old 05-02-12, 14:16
handygal handygal is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Beachy and warm
Posts: 808
Thanks: 83
Thanked 103 Times in 101 Posts
Default Re: Went to bed with working computer, woke up with the opposite

I can't guarantee it but i give you better than 9 in 10 odds.
__________________
If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough -Mario Andretti
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 05-02-12, 20:49
thedon01 thedon01 is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 235
Thanks: 90
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Went to bed with working computer, woke up with the opposite

for my knowledge what would or could prevent a new router and a reformat from solving the problem?
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 05-03-12, 11:13
handygal handygal is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Beachy and warm
Posts: 808
Thanks: 83
Thanked 103 Times in 101 Posts
Default Re: Went to bed with working computer, woke up with the opposite

I would not reformat, i don't think it had anything to do with the computer.

What would keep a new router from fixing the problem? Nothing that I can think of. You established that the router was not directing traffic any longer and would not reset to allow access.
__________________
If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough -Mario Andretti
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 05-03-12, 11:26
thedon01 thedon01 is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 235
Thanks: 90
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Went to bed with working computer, woke up with the opposite

okay new router it is. as soon as i get it and set it up (within the next week) i'll post the results. Thank you!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OW!!! Woke up this morning with a toothache. Publius The Lounge 9 03-18-08 21:35
My computer is working slow!! HELP!! ArPa Hardware 4 02-01-08 10:30
Woke up this morning to a flooded basement OverCooked The Lounge 19 01-10-08 09:53
computer is not working cindybreedlove Majorgeeks Welcome Center 1 10-08-07 04:57
Animations not working on my computer krazeeaunt Software 1 02-12-05 21:22


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:20.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger