MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-12, 13:54
spirittoo's Avatar
spirittoo spirittoo is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 274
Thanks: 34
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Unhappy New Gigabyte Mobo Won't Boot Up

Ok here's the deal ... I have the M68MT-S2 Gigabyte mobo. I have the FX 8120 CPU ... the gigabyte GTX 280 GPU. I had to replace my old gigabyte mobo because this cheif max p/s burn the p4 plug causing a bad reading with the replacement P/S instead of a +5 reading I was getting a +3.66v reading. After a while the P/S died and I got another one ... still got the bad reading .... So I got the same mobo.

When I was trying to remove the fan and heat sink the cpu was stuck to it and it came out with the sink ... some of the pins were bent and I straight them out the best I could. It locked in the holder of the new mobo ... I hooked everything back up, and powered it up ... NOTHING but a clicking sound ... no system beep (s) the P/S fan is turning and the cpu fan is turning but the GPU fan is not turning ... I have the power hooked up to it, but nothing. It was working before I pulled the old mobo.

Anyone knows what's up with this?
__________________
FX 8120_GA-M68MT-S2_4 DDR3 1600_GTX280_XPx32
i7 4770k_GA-H81M-HD3_8 DDR3 1333_GTX660_7x64
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 05-16-12, 18:08
gman863's Avatar
gman863 gman863 is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,275
Thanks: 161
Thanked 469 Times in 424 Posts
Default Re: New Gigabyte Mobo Won't Boot Up

1. If the pins are bent, the CPU may not be connecting to the socket/motherboard properly. Even one damaged pin can ruin a CPU.

2. If the new board is a different model, it's possible the old memory isn't playing nice with the new board. Check Gigabyte's QVL (Qualified Vendor List) to see if your memory is listed.

Unfortunately, this will likely be a trial and error process involving swapping out the CPU and memory to see what works.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-16-12, 19:49
spirittoo's Avatar
spirittoo spirittoo is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 274
Thanks: 34
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Arrow Re: New Gigabyte Mobo Won't Boot Up

Posted this earlier, but I guess it didn't take or I didn't follow through ... anyway ... I got it working ... the cpu wasn't seated properly the cpu was stuck to the sink when I pulled it out. I made sure it was in good ...once I did that it booted up ok ... the only problem is I'm still getting the same bad voltage readings from HWMonitor ... for my +5 volts I'm only reading a 3.60 the power supply is new ... I don't get it ... that's the reason I changed t he mobo.
__________________
FX 8120_GA-M68MT-S2_4 DDR3 1600_GTX280_XPx32
i7 4770k_GA-H81M-HD3_8 DDR3 1333_GTX660_7x64
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-17-12, 19:30
spirittoo's Avatar
spirittoo spirittoo is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 274
Thanks: 34
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Re: New Gigabyte Mobo Won't Boot Up

I ran Hot CPU tester to see if there was a problem with the processor, but the results stated no errors found. I am still having problems with the computer not shutting down ... instead it reboots. I thought sure after replacing the P/S and the mobo would solve this problem ... not.

This is a real mystery ... if any of you have a clue please post.

Thanks for reading my post.
__________________
FX 8120_GA-M68MT-S2_4 DDR3 1600_GTX280_XPx32
i7 4770k_GA-H81M-HD3_8 DDR3 1333_GTX660_7x64
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-20-12, 01:08
spirittoo's Avatar
spirittoo spirittoo is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 274
Thanks: 34
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Arrow Re: New Gigabyte Mobo Won't Boot Up

Jeepers ... looks like this is a real head scratcher for everyone
__________________
FX 8120_GA-M68MT-S2_4 DDR3 1600_GTX280_XPx32
i7 4770k_GA-H81M-HD3_8 DDR3 1333_GTX660_7x64
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EZ Cool Alpine + Gigabyte GA-8I915PM mobo Squiggley_Jo Hardware 1 04-05-09 09:54
GigaByte mobo and memory recognition LowTechRedneck Hardware 0 09-30-08 20:41
RAM overclocking gone quite bad... crappy GIGABYTE mobo? begleysm Hardware 1 03-02-08 22:50
RAM overclocking gone quite bad... crappy GIGABYTE mobo? begleysm Hardware 11 03-02-08 21:13
ADVICE please on Gigabyte GA-K8N Pro mobo AMD64 3000 PLEASE STOP THE WAR Hardware 5 08-05-04 13:21


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18.


MajorGeeks.Com Home Page
| Admin Tools | All In One | Anti-Spyware | Anti-Virus | Appearance | Backup | Benchmarking | BIOS | Browsers | Covert Ops |
Data Recovery | Diagnostics | Drive Cleaners | Drive Utilities | Drivers | Driver Tools Ergonomics | Firewalls | Games | Game Tweaks | Graphics | Input Devices | Internet Tools | Macintosh | Mail Utilities | Memory | Messaging | Monitoring | Microsoft | Multimedia | Networking | Office Tools | Process Management | Processor | Registry | Security | System Info | Toys | Video | Miscellaneous
|
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger