BSOD XP and a damsel in distress - help!!

Discussion in 'Software' started by suzi3131, May 22, 2012.

1. suzi3131

suzi3131 Private E-2

Help please!! I have an old XP HP desktop - cannot get past the blue screen to do anything. Will not boot up in any mode - safe, command prompt etc. Error message is:

Registry File Failure
    Cannot load hive
    Systemroot/syste32/cibfig/software
    corrupt, absent or not writable
    beginning memory dump

I don't care about the computer but I do want some pix!! I may be blonde but yes 95% are backed up....but not100%. I have original disc and put in the drive to run a repair but when I put in the disc - I can see the light turn on and it runs but nothing happens.....I am total novice so thought you super smart guys ;)might be able to help me!

ugh please please please help!:cry

2. tgell

tgell Major Geek Extraordinaire

If the hard drive is failing, I would recommend you get the files you need first and then we can try to restore the computer. I assume you have another computer available for downloading and installing the following program. Hopefully your CD drive will be able to boot it.

Download ERD 2007 from this site. This is a 30 day demo but will work just to get your photos off the drive. The site is in German but the file is English. When this MSDaRT50Eval.msi is installed it creates an ISO image – erd50.iso – which is located at C:\Program Files\Microsoft Diagnostics and Recovery Toolset\erd50.iso. Burn the iso file with Imgburn at 4X. Make sure when you install Imgburn that the Ask toolbar box is unchecked. Connect the USB flash drive then boot the CD. Double click My Computer and transfer the files to a USB flash drive by right clicking your photos, selecting "Copy to" not "Move to". Then select your flash drive in the dialog box. Do a copy, not a move. The USB flash drive may be listed as "D" drive or some other letter.

How to write an image file to a disc using ImgBurn

3. suzi3131

suzi3131 Private E-2