MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-12, 17:18
Porkiepvfc Porkiepvfc is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default HP Compaq DC7600 SFF Computer Upgrade

Hi,

Ive recently brought one of these computer and have brought the parts to upgrade it.

Both 2x1gb ram and a dual core processor.

I added both sticks of ram and on start up i get this error '214-DIMM Configuration warning. Populated DIMM Configuration is not optimized. Rearrange the DIMMs so that each channel has the same amount of memory.'

And this error,

'1801-Microcode Update Error' About Processor Stepping'

Could anyone give me any help with any of these errors?

Cheers
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 06-10-12, 19:11
Rikky's Avatar
Rikky Rikky is offline
Wile E. Coyote - One of a kind
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thin line between the ideological and the pragmatic
Posts: 10,176
Thanks: 575
Thanked 744 Times in 643 Posts
Default Re: HP Compaq DC7600 SFF Computer Upgrade

Hi

For reference

http://webcache.googleusercontent.co...&ct=clnk&gl=uk
Quote:
214-DIMM Configuration Warning Populated DIMM Configuration is not optimized. Rearrange the DIMMs so that each channel has the same amount of memory.
Obviously the computer is detecting different sized modules or they are different or incompatible,can you post ALL the information from both sticks of ram please,everything written on the side of BOTH sticks even if you bought them together.

AFAICT your cpu should be supported with a bios update,if you've never flashed a bios before read the instructions very carefully one its started it mustn't be interrupted or your computer will be permanently damaged without changing the bios chip or motherboard double check your product is listed-

Quote:
HARDWARE PRODUCT MODEL(S):
HP Compaq Blade Workstation Client: All Models
HP Compaq dc7600 Convertible Minitower PC: All Models
HP Compaq dc7600 Small Form Factor PC: All Models
HP Compaq dc7600 Ultra-slim Desktop PC: All Models
HP Compaq dc7608 convertible minitower: All Models
HP Compaq dc7608 small form factor: All Models
HP Compaq dx7200 microtower: All Models
HP Compaq dx7200 Slim Tower PC: All Models
HP Compaq dx7208 Microtower PC: All Models
http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport...riesId=3249646

These are the CPU steppings the update will add support for,if you still have the box for the cpu you can match the stepping to the list.

Quote:
Updates Intel Pentium 4 Processor microcode for F34, F41, F43, F44, F47, F49,
F4A, F64, and F65 steppings.
__________________
"No one panics when things go according to plan, even when the plan is horrifying." The Joker
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-12, 11:06
Porkiepvfc Porkiepvfc is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: HP Compaq DC7600 SFF Computer Upgrade

hi,

Thanks for the detailed reply.

The sticks read,

A)
NANYA NT1GT64U8HA0BY-37B
1GB 2Rx8
PC2-4200U-444-12-B1
0629.MM0671406C.DNT6291372.X3.TW
b)
NANYA NT1GT64U8HA0BY-37B
1GB 2Rx8
PC2-4200U-444-12-B1
0624.MF0660700C.2347675.X1.MY

As for the cpu, I have downloaded the the file which then allows me to see different files such as flashbin.exe i understand the rules of flashing just a bit unsure how to start the process. I gather I would need to do it from start up? Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-12, 11:58
Rikky's Avatar
Rikky Rikky is offline
Wile E. Coyote - One of a kind
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thin line between the ideological and the pragmatic
Posts: 10,176
Thanks: 575
Thanked 744 Times in 643 Posts
Default Re: HP Compaq DC7600 SFF Computer Upgrade

Your ram sticks are identical so i would assume its a problem within the bios which the bios update may fix,I would like to know how much ram the the computer see's,how far does the computer get in the boot process,can you see the post screen does it load windows?

You will have to have a working computer so unfortunately you'll have to dissemble the computer and reinstall your old cpu if your computer doesn't work to perform the flash within windows then reinstall the new CPU.

There is no way around this really.

Quote:
HOW TO USE:

Download the SoftPaq .EXE file to a directory on your hard drive.
Execute the downloaded file and follow the on-screen instructions.
__________________
"No one panics when things go according to plan, even when the plan is horrifying." The Joker
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-02-12, 18:21
Porkiepvfc Porkiepvfc is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: HP Compaq DC7600 SFF Computer Upgrade

When i try to execute flashbin it comes up with command prompt says please wait then dissapears ?

Any ideas why this may be?

The ram sticks come up in system at being 1.99gb ?

Cheers

Sorry for the late reply
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 07-05-12, 11:34
Porkiepvfc Porkiepvfc is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: HP Compaq DC7600 SFF Computer Upgrade

any ideas?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Compaq desktop Upgrade. olmetec Hardware 2 11-18-08 02:03
Can I upgrade this? Compaq 6430NX Fuelman Hardware 1 10-23-08 11:19
compaq dc7600 sff bluekart77 Software 6 01-18-08 22:58
Looking to upgrade my factory compaq PSU spcartmanland Hardware 3 06-20-07 23:58
Compaq 7360 Upgrade - Finished! JetShack Hardware 2 01-25-07 15:07


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger