MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-17-12, 19:07
THESoccerMom's Avatar
THESoccerMom THESoccerMom is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 40
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Canon PIXMA MP495 Printer

I am trying to install the printer and get it so that we can use it wireless. The instructions say to install the software and run a usb cord to the computer so that you can connect it to the router. I even pulled up their online handy-dandy video instructions and I keep getting the error message:

Could not connect to specified access point.

The network key you have entered is incorrect or does not correspond to the selected access point. Enter the correct network key or select the corresponding access point.

This really should be a no-brainer and yet I can't get this to work. I'm about ready to back up the printer and take it back to the store. Is there something that I could be missing?

I have windows xp and the router is a Netgear MR814 v3. I disabled the firewall before attempting to install. All our other devises that I have connected to the router are working fine.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 07-17-12, 19:20
tgell tgell is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,598
Thanks: 208
Thanked 938 Times in 883 Posts
Default Re: Canon PIXMA MP495 Printer

Did you get to step 12 of this guide and did you see your Router SSID and encryption (i.e. WPA,WPA2) in the window shown?

http://www.usa.canon.com/CUSA/assets..._MP495_win.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-17-12, 19:23
THESoccerMom's Avatar
THESoccerMom THESoccerMom is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 40
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Canon PIXMA MP495 Printer

I only get to step 11 and then that error message occurs. I currently am using WEP setting because my kids whine that their devices don't work on WPA and the router is too old to have a WPA2 setting.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-17-12, 19:30
tgell tgell is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,598
Thanks: 208
Thanked 938 Times in 883 Posts
Default Re: Canon PIXMA MP495 Printer

Just a note: WEP is crackable in a few minutes if that now. So, I would not be doing any banking over the wireless connection.

When you got to step 11 did you see your router SSID listed?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-17-12, 21:02
THESoccerMom's Avatar
THESoccerMom THESoccerMom is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 40
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Canon PIXMA MP495 Printer

Ok...switched to WPA...they'll have to deal or log into the neighbor's wi-fi. lol

Yes, I can see the SSID listed with WPA listed next to it. It's when I then enter the network key and then click connect....that's when it searches then gives me the error message.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 07-17-12, 21:44
tgell tgell is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,598
Thanks: 208
Thanked 938 Times in 883 Posts
Default Re: Canon PIXMA MP495 Printer

Access your router's web interface. Make sure the built in firewall of the router is not enabled. Copy the network key from the router interface just to make sure you are using the correct key. Then paste it into the Canon Wizard at step 11.

Edit: If you changed to WPA in the router, you should also create a different key other than the one you used for WEP.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-17-12, 21:57
THESoccerMom's Avatar
THESoccerMom THESoccerMom is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 40
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Canon PIXMA MP495 Printer

Done....same error message.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-17-12, 22:28
tgell tgell is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,598
Thanks: 208
Thanked 938 Times in 883 Posts
Default Re: Canon PIXMA MP495 Printer

When you are typing in the password, the USB cable is connected to the computer you are running the software from, correct? I would attach the USB cable to the back of the computer if it is a desktop and try the password again. If not a desktop, try a different USB port on the laptop.

I am not sure what is going on. Press the Manual Setup button in step 11 and provide a screenshot. You can do this by press the Alt+Prt Screen. Then paste into Paint. Save the file as a jpg and attach to your post.

I am signing off until tomorrow. I will check the full manual and see if I can find anything. I did find a question on a site regarding the same problem you are having with the same printer but the problem was not resolved.

Edit: What is the OS on the computer connected to the router?

Last edited by tgell; 07-17-12 at 22:35..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-18-12, 09:12
THESoccerMom's Avatar
THESoccerMom THESoccerMom is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 40
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Canon PIXMA MP495 Printer

I uninstalled and reinstalled using the back USB. Still the same error.

I have Windows XP.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg printer.JPG (33.9 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canon Pixma MP600 printer GREYHAWKSGIRL Software 2 06-24-12 17:48
Help Me with a Canon PIXMA MP250!! itsthatgirl Hardware 2 12-01-10 10:35
Canon PIXMA MP600 won't print sierra Hardware 8 09-30-10 22:09
Can Someone Help Me Find My Old Printer Driver? (Canon Pixma IP1000) superstar Software 6 12-17-09 22:34
Canon PIXMA MX310 Printer Alignment Problems kellyplus Hardware 2 11-17-08 14:22


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:35.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger