MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-16-04, 12:44
Edward Fitzgerald Edward Fitzgerald is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: KC area
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Arrow Re-boot?

When playing Flight Simulator 2004 the pc will suddenly reboot, this will occurr when I pick an airplane or making other selections. This began after I instslled a Radeon 9600xt. I have the latest driver for this card and have emailed ATI with this problem was told to read the FAQ. which I have done and made changes where applicable. After the pc reboots the error reads "just recovered from a serious error". Also recently while in other programs (non games) I get windows explorer has an error and will close down.
My PC Specs.
Intel Motherboard D865PERL
Intel pentium 4 2.4GHZ proccessor
Bus Speed 800mhz
Memory: 1024 MB Ram
DDR 320
OS: Windows XP version 5.1 service Pack 1 build 2600
Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 01-16-04, 13:08
Edward Fitzgerald Edward Fitzgerald is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: KC area
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I Have unchecked the box that says autommatically restart and write is checked. I have
I have Spybot and run it frequently. I do not have adware.
Event viewer
Application Error: Application hang. Category: 101 Event 1002
Application Category: none Event: 1000
System Error: system error Category: 102 Event: 1003
DCO Event: 10010
System Control Manager Category: none Event: 7022
Thanks for your help
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-16-04, 13:12
General_Lee_Stoned's Avatar
General_Lee_Stoned General_Lee_Stoned is offline
BuZZed Lightyear
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: In a smoke filled room
Posts: 1,293
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Default

right click my computer-properties-advanced-start-up and recovery settings-
and uncheck the box that says automatically restart and make sure the box is checked to write event to the system log this way you should get a blue screen error instead try to get as much information of this screen and post it here
also you can check your event viewer which should hopefully give some idea whats happening you can access that through control panel-administrative tools

just on a side note i fixed my m8s pc just yesterday his explorer was closing all the time but was giving problems on the net sometimes finally pinned it down to some spyware corrupting his explorer fixed it by running ad-aware
have you run a spy scan with ad-aware lately
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-16-04, 13:22
General_Lee_Stoned's Avatar
General_Lee_Stoned General_Lee_Stoned is offline
BuZZed Lightyear
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: In a smoke filled room
Posts: 1,293
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Default

in the event viewer box what is the source for these errors cos thats the really helpful bit as there are many possible causes
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-16-04, 13:23
General_Lee_Stoned's Avatar
General_Lee_Stoned General_Lee_Stoned is offline
BuZZed Lightyear
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: In a smoke filled room
Posts: 1,293
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Default

by the way ive been trying to reply but my internet went mad ::
im looking at you replying to my post at 19.08 yet my post is listed at 19.12
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 01-16-04, 14:57
Edward Fitzgerald Edward Fitzgerald is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: KC area
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

For the Application source: it just say "application error" and event 1000
"application Hang" and event 1002
For the system errors is says: DCOM and event 10010
"System control manager" and event 7022
it does not state a specific program.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-16-04, 15:08
General_Lee_Stoned's Avatar
General_Lee_Stoned General_Lee_Stoned is offline
BuZZed Lightyear
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: In a smoke filled room
Posts: 1,293
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Default

ok im having alook but theres many things that could be when you double click on the error in event viewer have you tried following the link to microsoft help and support sometimes this can reveal further info

also since you switched off auto restart have you tried that game to see what info comes up on the blue screen
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-16-04, 16:44
Edward Fitzgerald Edward Fitzgerald is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: KC area
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I just followed the event viewer to MS and it indicated it could be a corrupt systm file. Resolution; try to repair using the xp cd. Thanks for the suggestion I will try the repair suggestion and see what happens.
I also installed adware scanned and did find a few files that I deleted. I didn't mention that I also run Norton Internet security which has ad blocking. I will let you know how things progress.
Ed
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-18-04, 16:11
Edward Fitzgerald Edward Fitzgerald is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: KC area
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well, I really stepped in it now. In trying repair a possible corrupt sys. file using xp's repair console it got stuck in a loop that I could not get out of. Out of frustration I tried to install a fresh copy but it kept trying to update win xp and would not go. So I decided to install on my D: drive which I did and it worked now. however I have two os on my computer. My question is can I manually uninstall win xp from the c: drive and then change the D: drive to C: drive and the c: drive to D: drive so that I have xp on the c: drive, or will have live with winxp on the D: drive.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-18-04, 16:24
Kodo's Avatar
Kodo Kodo is offline
SNATCHSQUATCH
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Syracuse NY, USA
Posts: 11,502
Thanks: 17
Thanked 72 Times in 49 Posts
Default

disable the VPU recovery in the ATI display settings. I was getting that with my 9800 pro with the cat3.9's, I disabled this and so far so good. Could be coincidental.. could be a workaround.. who knows.
__________________
"The American people will never knowingly adopt Socialism..." -Norman Thomas
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bootvis.....Boot this! Caravan19 Software 3 01-01-04 13:32
Fresh xp install, trouble booting from cd flatline911 Software 11 12-23-03 01:48


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:57.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger