MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-12, 08:13
Mariusmssj Mariusmssj is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 28
Thanks: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Boot Config is corrupt | Error Code = 0 x 490

Hello guys,

Today i turned on my PC and it just restarted at Loading OS text



Video here



So i booted from a live CD and this is what I saw:



I clicked on System Repair and got this:



I tried usin the Bootrec but it didn't help at all.



Here is the diskpart information:

List volume-



List partition-



List partition 1 with details-



List partition 2 with details-


as you see it says no volume associated with it

If i set the partition 2 as active i get the "BOOTMGR is missing" at power up.



Can anyone help me????

Thanks

Last edited by Mariusmssj; 10-16-12 at 08:20..
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 10-16-12, 11:21
falconattack's Avatar
falconattack falconattack is online now
First Sergeant
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Greece , Athens
Posts: 793
Thanks: 2
Thanked 298 Times in 285 Posts
Default Re: Boot Config is corrupt | Error Code = 0 x 490

Hi my friend , welcome to MG's

Do you install any update ( about programmes ( acrobat reader or antivirus ) etc ) when your computer shut down ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-16-12, 11:44
Mariusmssj Mariusmssj is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 28
Thanks: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Boot Config is corrupt | Error Code = 0 x 490

Quote:
Originally Posted by falconattack View Post
Hi my friend , welcome to MG's

Do you install any update ( about programmes ( acrobat reader or antivirus ) etc ) when your computer shut down ?
Hi there, I was looking into spliting my other 1Tb drive into 2 partitions so installed Partition Magic 8.0 but it failed to open and i uninstalled it, which was yesterday my last time on the PC before shuting down. And today my PC just refuses to boot
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-16-12, 11:47
sach2's Avatar
sach2 sach2 is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,584
Thanks: 604
Thanked 1,801 Times in 1,718 Posts
Default Re: Boot Config is corrupt | Error Code = 0 x 490

Just a quick question, do you have two HD in there--a 60gb and a 1TB? If so, is the OS supposed to be on the 60gb?
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sach2 For This Useful Post:
Mariusmssj (10-17-12)
  #5  
Old 10-16-12, 12:07
Mariusmssj Mariusmssj is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 28
Thanks: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Boot Config is corrupt | Error Code = 0 x 490

Quote:
Originally Posted by sach2 View Post
Just a quick question, do you have two HD in there--a 60gb and a 1TB? If so, is the OS supposed to be on the 60gb?
Yes a 64Gb SSD (OS) and 1Tb HDD (media Drive)

Last edited by Mariusmssj; 10-16-12 at 12:14..
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 10-16-12, 12:10
falconattack's Avatar
falconattack falconattack is online now
First Sergeant
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Greece , Athens
Posts: 793
Thanks: 2
Thanked 298 Times in 285 Posts
Default Re: Boot Config is corrupt | Error Code = 0 x 490

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mariusmssj View Post
Hi there, I was looking into spliting my other 1Tb drive into 2 partitions so installed Partition Magic 8.0 but it failed to open and i uninstalled it, which was yesterday my last time on the PC before shuting down. And today my PC just refuses to boot
You must go to

Start
Run msconfig
Startup tab

untick all boxes except for antivirus

Windows is asking you about restart your machine , go for it , afterwards look what is the behaviour of your computer
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-16-12, 12:16
Mariusmssj Mariusmssj is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 28
Thanks: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Boot Config is corrupt | Error Code = 0 x 490

Quote:
Originally Posted by falconattack View Post
You must go to

Start
Run msconfig
Startup tab

untick all boxes except for antivirus

Windows is asking you about restart your machine , go for it , afterwards look what is the behaviour of your computer
Hi, I have no access to windows 7 what you saw there was do using windows live disc
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-16-12, 12:30
sach2's Avatar
sach2 sach2 is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,584
Thanks: 604
Thanked 1,801 Times in 1,718 Posts
Default Re: Boot Config is corrupt | Error Code = 0 x 490

It looks like the 59gb partition on the SSD is not being assigned a drive/volume letter.

I haven't figured out how to fix that in diskpart because you need a volume # to assign it a letter. If you have a blank CD you could burn this Partition Wizard bootable CD .iso file to see what it says about the HD. It would be the last download on the page so scroll down. You have to burn the ISO as an image file to make it bootable. Imgburn's "Write Image File to Disc" option will work.

Then boot from the CD and see what it says about your 64gb HD. See if double clicking on the 59gb partition brings up a list of files including Windows and Users folders.

Then go to the Partition Recovery Wizard and run the Full Disc and Quick Scan options. In screenshot #4, see if you have more than one entry for the 59gb partition and what the status is for them. Try double clicking on any listing for the 59gb partition and see if includes the Windows and Users folders. Don't Finish out but let me know what is in the list.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sach2 For This Useful Post:
Mariusmssj (10-17-12)
  #9  
Old 10-16-12, 13:29
Mariusmssj Mariusmssj is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 28
Thanks: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Boot Config is corrupt | Error Code = 0 x 490

Quote:
Originally Posted by sach2 View Post
It looks like the 59gb partition on the SSD is not being assigned a drive/volume letter.

I haven't figured out how to fix that in diskpart because you need a volume # to assign it a letter. If you have a blank CD you could burn this Partition Wizard bootable CD .iso file to see what it says about the HD. It would be the last download on the page so scroll down. You have to burn the ISO as an image file to make it bootable. Imgburn's "Write Image File to Disc" option will work.

Then boot from the CD and see what it says about your 64gb HD. See if double clicking on the 59gb partition brings up a list of files including Windows and Users folders.

Then go to the Partition Recovery Wizard and run the Full Disc and Quick Scan options. In screenshot #4, see if you have more than one entry for the 59gb partition and what the status is for them. Try double clicking on any listing for the 59gb partition and see if includes the Windows and Users folders. Don't Finish out but let me know what is in the list.
thanks for the tip, i don't have any CD's any way i can boot that program from USB memory stick???
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-16-12, 14:27
sach2's Avatar
sach2 sach2 is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,584
Thanks: 604
Thanked 1,801 Times in 1,718 Posts
Default Re: Boot Config is corrupt | Error Code = 0 x 490

You can use Lili to put it on USB. http://www.linuxliveusb.com/en/download

In step 2 choose ISO and browse to the PW.iso you downloaded. It will say not on list but it will work.
Step 3 is not applicable.
Step 4 tick first 2 boxes. Untick third box. (This will erase everything on USB so make sure you have copies of anything important)
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sach2 For This Useful Post:
Mariusmssj (10-17-12)
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 10-16-12, 14:32
Mariusmssj Mariusmssj is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 28
Thanks: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Boot Config is corrupt | Error Code = 0 x 490

Quote:
Originally Posted by sach2 View Post
You can use Lili to put it on USB. http://www.linuxliveusb.com/en/download

In step 2 choose ISO and browse to the PW.iso you downloaded. It will say not on list but it will work.
Step 3 is not applicable.
Step 4 tick first 2 boxes. Untick third box. (This will erase everything on USB so make sure you have copies of anything important)
I don't understand this forum, if i quote someone my reply is instant, but i go reply to thread it takes time for my posts to come up, i already posted few things but here they are again:

<snip>




after full scan:

<snip>
Attached Images
File Type: jpg zZF1l.jpg (93.6 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg dtmqe.jpg (92.5 KB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg bOnaU.jpg (102.0 KB, 3 views)

Last edited by LauraR; 10-16-12 at 14:44.. Reason: photo files WAY too large. Please resize.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-16-12, 14:43
LauraR's Avatar
LauraR LauraR is offline
MajorGeeks Super-Duper Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northeast, USA
Posts: 11,497
Thanks: 754
Thanked 1,595 Times in 1,157 Posts
Default Re: Boot Config is corrupt | Error Code = 0 x 490

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mariusmssj View Post
I don't understand this forum, if i quote someone my reply is instant,
That has nothing to do with it. New members posts are sometimes flagged because of links, attachments, words. It is all to cut down on spam.

Please stop reposting after they've gone into moderation. They must be approved and reposting will not make your post go right through.

Also, please resize your images. They are way too large. (or better yet, attach them to your post as I have)

Thank you.
__________________
It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has exceeded our humanity.
~Albert Einstein
Major Geeks on Facebook
Major Geeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to LauraR For This Useful Post:
Mariusmssj (10-17-12)
  #13  
Old 10-16-12, 14:51
Mariusmssj Mariusmssj is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 28
Thanks: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Boot Config is corrupt | Error Code = 0 x 490

Quote:
Originally Posted by LauraR View Post
That has nothing to do with it. New members posts are sometimes flagged because of links, attachments, words. It is all to cut down on spam.

Please stop reposting after they've gone into moderation. They must be approved and reposting will not make your post go right through.

Also, please resize your images. They are way too large. (or better yet, attach them to your post as I have)

Thank you.
Ok i understand, i know this will sound stupid but i can't find the edit button :S
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-16-12, 14:51
sach2's Avatar
sach2 sach2 is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,584
Thanks: 604
Thanked 1,801 Times in 1,718 Posts
Default Re: Boot Config is corrupt | Error Code = 0 x 490

Thanks Laura.

You do not need to do any partition recovery in PW. The existing partitions are the ones you want. Close out of the recovery window by hitting Cancel.

Go ahead and right click the 59gb partition in the main window and set it as Active. Hit Apply button along the top of the window.

Boot from your Windows disc and see if it will try to fix the bootmgr is missing error or if it gives you the same error details. Check if it again shows the Win7 partition as 0mb as it did in your first screenshot of your first post.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sach2 For This Useful Post:
Mariusmssj (10-17-12)
  #15  
Old 10-16-12, 15:03
Mariusmssj Mariusmssj is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 28
Thanks: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Boot Config is corrupt | Error Code = 0 x 490

Quote:
Originally Posted by sach2 View Post
Thanks Laura.

You do not need to do any partition recovery in PW. The existing partitions are the ones you want. Close out of the recovery window by hitting Cancel.

Go ahead and right click the 59gb partition in the main window and set it as Active. Hit Apply button along the top of the window.

Boot from your Windows disc and see if it will try to fix the bootmgr is missing error or if it gives you the same error details. Check if it again shows the Win7 partition as 0mb as it did in your first screenshot of your first post.
Ok here is what i see now
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 12100026.jpg (102.3 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg 12100027.jpg (103.7 KB, 5 views)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16  
Old 10-16-12, 15:10
sach2's Avatar
sach2 sach2 is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,584
Thanks: 604
Thanked 1,801 Times in 1,718 Posts
Default Re: Boot Config is corrupt | Error Code = 0 x 490

That is some progress. It seems the disc you are using is for 32 or 64bit and your computer is running the opposite. Do you have access to another repair/installation disc of the other 32 or 64bit version?
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sach2 For This Useful Post:
Mariusmssj (10-17-12)
  #17  
Old 10-16-12, 15:15
Mariusmssj Mariusmssj is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 28
Thanks: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Boot Config is corrupt | Error Code = 0 x 490

Quote:
Originally Posted by sach2 View Post
That is some progress. It seems the disc you are using is for 32 or 64bit and your computer is running the opposite. Do you have access to another repair/installation disc of the other 32 or 64bit version?
This is the disk i used to install windows 7 64bit and the disk is for 32 and 64 installation.

Could this be the solution?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-16-12, 15:30
sach2's Avatar
sach2 sach2 is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,584
Thanks: 604
Thanked 1,801 Times in 1,718 Posts
Default Re: Boot Config is corrupt | Error Code = 0 x 490

I've only had that error when I have tried to run a 32bit repair disc on a 64bit Win7 installation. It has to do with the command prompt not being compatible. You were able to get to the command prompt previously because it didn't recognize your Windows installation.

Definitely worth a try to disable the TB drive in BIOS or just unplug one of the cables from it.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sach2 For This Useful Post:
Mariusmssj (10-17-12)
  #19  
Old 10-16-12, 15:44
Mariusmssj Mariusmssj is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 28
Thanks: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Boot Config is corrupt | Error Code = 0 x 490

Quote:
Originally Posted by sach2 View Post
I've only had that error when I have tried to run a 32bit repair disc on a 64bit Win7 installation. It has to do with the command prompt not being compatible. You were able to get to the command prompt previously because it didn't recognize your Windows installation.

Definitely worth a try to disable the TB drive in BIOS or just unplug one of the cables from it.
disabling the 1Tb drive didn't do anything, i'll try to get my hands on Windows 7 64 ultimate installation disk.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-16-12, 15:52
sach2's Avatar
sach2 sach2 is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,584
Thanks: 604
Thanked 1,801 Times in 1,718 Posts
Default Re: Boot Config is corrupt | Error Code = 0 x 490

Or if you have another computer running 64bit and scrounge up a CD you can type repair into the Start/Search box and choose "Create a Repair Disc" but ti will only burn directly to a blank CD/DVD.


If you get your installation disc, you would want to get the list of 5 options by hitting the next button in your screenshot and then selecting start up repair. Let that run. Then reboot to the CD/USB and see if it will now run the automatic repair. then reboot without the USB.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sach2 For This Useful Post:
Mariusmssj (10-17-12)
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
win7 won't boot, boot config is corrupt? saru Software 18 08-23-12 23:52
WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG\SYSTEM corrupt, aabarnes1 Software 7 03-07-12 12:06
XP wont boot hardware diaognostics gave me an error code R1ddle Software 7 05-19-10 13:00
W2K-Boot Prob-Config\System Corrupt jaymon Software 2 12-20-07 09:17
Config/SYSTEM file is missing or corrupt! KickMe Software 1 04-08-07 14:38


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:06.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger