MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Malware Removal
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Malware Removal Malware removal forum. Please see the READ ME FIRST thread before you post. Forum is staffed by a small number of volunteers, please be patient.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-01-13, 07:12
bibbis bibbis is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default I can't get rid of the "Claro Search" startpage in FireFox.

I've tried SO many solutions for this...
It was easy to get rid of it in Chrome and IE but NOTHING I do works for FireFox.
It's driving me INSANE!

I've done everything listed in the "READ & RUN ME FIRST".
I had no problem doing any of that.

If someone would take the time to help me get to the bottom of this I would be so very grateful.


I've read a lot of posts regarding this issue here on this forum too.
I've tried all of THOSE solutions that I could too.

A lot of people are asked to use OTL, so I too downloaded it and ran a scan.
I've attached the 2 log files.

I'm running Win7 64-bit.
Attached Files
File Type: txt OTL.Txt (120.7 KB, 0 views)
File Type: txt Extras.Txt (207.8 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 02-01-13, 12:24
TimW's Avatar
TimW TimW is offline
MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The recesses of my mind!
Posts: 46,434
Thanks: 430
Thanked 4,580 Times in 4,334 Posts
Default Re: I can't get rid of the "Claro Search" startpage in FireFox.

Frequently Firefox users run into problems with redirects, popups, unwanted tabs opening, etc. One of the easiest fixes is to Reset Firefox to defaults. See the below link:

http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/reset-firefox-easily-fix-most-problems

Maybe this will cure your problems. But do note that itwill cause you to lose any Extensions, Open websites, and some Preferences.
__________________
Major cake licker.
YCLAHTW, BYCMHD!!

Major Geeks on Facebook

Major Geeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-01-13, 12:51
bibbis bibbis is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I can't get rid of the "Claro Search" startpage in FireFox.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimW View Post
Frequently Firefox users run into problems with redirects, popups, unwanted tabs opening, etc. One of the easiest fixes is to Reset Firefox to defaults. See the below link:

http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/reset-firefox-easily-fix-most-problems

Maybe this will cure your problems. But do note that itwill cause you to lose any Extensions, Open websites, and some Preferences.
Thanks but I've tried that.
I don't worry about loosing any settings or extensions etc. so I have made several "complete" uninstalls of firefox using both the ordinary uninstall thingy and other more advanced methods like using programs like REVO.
(As suggested by YOU to another person also fighting the claro-war, actually :P)
But it hasn't worked. :/

I really have tried all of the more "basic" fixes to this, like uninstalling, cleaning up files in various places manually and with other programs, cleaning things in the registry and running a bunch of different malware/virus cleaners.
I got my hops up while using HitmanPro because it detected and REMOVED a crapload of "Claro" things, but it didn't matter either.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-01-13, 12:55
TimW's Avatar
TimW TimW is offline
MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The recesses of my mind!
Posts: 46,434
Thanks: 430
Thanked 4,580 Times in 4,334 Posts
Default Re: I can't get rid of the "Claro Search" startpage in FireFox.

Please download Junkware Removal Tool to your desktop.
  • Shut down your protection software now to avoid potential conflicts.
  • Run the tool by double-clicking it. If you are using Windows Vista or Seven, right-mouse click it and select Run as Administrator.
  • The tool will open and start scanning your system.
  • Please be patient as this can take a while to complete depending on your system's specifications.
  • On completion, a log (JRT.txt) is saved to your desktop and will automatically open.
  • Attach JRT.txt to your next message.
__________________
Major cake licker.
YCLAHTW, BYCMHD!!

Major Geeks on Facebook

Major Geeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-01-13, 14:16
bibbis bibbis is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I can't get rid of the "Claro Search" startpage in FireFox.

The tool seems to get stuck after about a minute on "Checking Startup".
I let it run for about an hour but when I came back it hadn't moved.

I closed it and restarted my computer and am now letting it run again but the same thing is happening.

Do you know what might be wrong?
I ran it as administrator both times.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 02-01-13, 14:22
bibbis bibbis is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I can't get rid of the "Claro Search" startpage in FireFox.

Wait a sec!
It's moving now.

I'll get back to you soon.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-13, 14:33
bibbis bibbis is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I can't get rid of the "Claro Search" startpage in FireFox.

Okay here we go, sorry about that.
I'm attachin the log here:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-01-13, 14:50
bibbis bibbis is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I can't get rid of the "Claro Search" startpage in FireFox.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bibbis View Post
Okay here we go, sorry about that.
I'm attachin the log here:
My mind is all over the place tonight.
Attached Files
File Type: txt JRT.txt (6.3 KB, 5 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-01-13, 15:15
TimW's Avatar
TimW TimW is offline
MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The recesses of my mind!
Posts: 46,434
Thanks: 430
Thanked 4,580 Times in 4,334 Posts
Default Re: I can't get rid of the "Claro Search" startpage in FireFox.

Did that fix it?
__________________
Major cake licker.
YCLAHTW, BYCMHD!!

Major Geeks on Facebook

Major Geeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-01-13, 15:24
bibbis bibbis is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I can't get rid of the "Claro Search" startpage in FireFox.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimW View Post
Did that fix it?
No claro is still changing my startpage.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 02-01-13, 15:28
TimW's Avatar
TimW TimW is offline
MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The recesses of my mind!
Posts: 46,434
Thanks: 430
Thanked 4,580 Times in 4,334 Posts
Default Re: I can't get rid of the "Claro Search" startpage in FireFox.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bibbis View Post

I've done everything listed in the "READ & RUN ME FIRST".
I had no problem doing any of that.
Please attach the requested logs:
RogueKiller
Hitman
MBAM
C:\MGLogs.zip
__________________
Major cake licker.
YCLAHTW, BYCMHD!!

Major Geeks on Facebook

Major Geeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-01-13, 18:44
bibbis bibbis is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I can't get rid of the "Claro Search" startpage in FireFox.

It took some time for me but I've now completed the scans and here are the logs.

I didn't do any cleanups in any of the programs I just saved the logs, should I let them do some cleanups too?
Attached Files
File Type: txt RKreport[1]_S_02012013_02d2255.txt (2.5 KB, 1 views)
File Type: log HitmanPro_20130201_2347.log (46.4 KB, 1 views)
File Type: txt MBAM-log-2013-02-02 (01-38-44).txt (2.9 KB, 1 views)
File Type: zip MGlogs.zip (280.6 KB, 1 views)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-02-13, 05:26
bibbis bibbis is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I can't get rid of the "Claro Search" startpage in FireFox.

Oh no I'm realizing that I screwed up the logs for both MBAM and Hitman.
I wanted to attach fresh logs in case something had changed on my pc since I first made the scans, so I made fresh scans with all the programs yesterday but I forgot to change the settings for both MBAM and Hitman.

I know it also says NOT to run the scans again but I thought it would be okay since I'd restarted my computer several times since the first scans.

Have I screwed this up now?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-02-13, 14:35
TimW's Avatar
TimW TimW is offline
MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The recesses of my mind!
Posts: 46,434
Thanks: 430
Thanked 4,580 Times in 4,334 Posts
Default Re: I can't get rid of the "Claro Search" startpage in FireFox.

You need to allow MBAM to fix all that it finds. Also the same for Hitman, esp. the PUP's.

Once you do that, re-scan with both MBAM and Hitman and attach the new logs. Tell me how things are now.
__________________
Major cake licker.
YCLAHTW, BYCMHD!!

Major Geeks on Facebook

Major Geeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-02-13, 16:17
bibbis bibbis is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I can't get rid of the "Claro Search" startpage in FireFox.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimW View Post
You need to allow MBAM to fix all that it finds. Also the same for Hitman, esp. the PUP's.

Once you do that, re-scan with both MBAM and Hitman and attach the new logs. Tell me how things are now.
I have now let MBAM clean everything it found, it was 7 PUP things.

I would just like to tell you what Hitman wants to do since the READ/RUN-ME specifically warns about this.
Hitman wants to repair my "hosts" file.
Hitman also finds 1 "Babylon" and 2 "Claro" files marked suspicious/ignore, 19 "punkbuster" files from my Battlefield games' folders that are also marked suspicious/ignore and one additional program called "soundswitch" that quickly changes default sound devices which I've downloaded myself and that is also marked suspicious/ignore.

Is it safe to let it repair my hosts file and to change all the ignore's to delete, except maybe skipping soundswitch?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16  
Old 02-03-13, 14:44
TimW's Avatar
TimW TimW is offline
MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The recesses of my mind!
Posts: 46,434
Thanks: 430
Thanked 4,580 Times in 4,334 Posts
Default Re: I can't get rid of the "Claro Search" startpage in FireFox.

Just have Hitman fix the Babylon and Claro items. The rest you can ignore.
__________________
Major cake licker.
YCLAHTW, BYCMHD!!

Major Geeks on Facebook

Major Geeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-03-13, 19:57
bibbis bibbis is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I can't get rid of the "Claro Search" startpage in FireFox.

Both programs could remove everything without any problems.
Here are the new logs.

I will restart my computer and see how FireFox behaves now.
Attached Files
File Type: txt mbam-log-2013-02-04 (00-23-28).txt (1.8 KB, 3 views)
File Type: log HitmanPro_20130204_0252.log (40.7 KB, 3 views)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-03-13, 21:31
bibbis bibbis is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I can't get rid of the "Claro Search" startpage in FireFox.

I've restarted my computer twice now and changed between a bunch of different homepages and there's NO sign of claro!
I'm going to bed now, I will post here again tomorrow night after having used firefox for a day so that I can really see that claro is gone and STAYS away.

I'll try not to get too excited yet since it might still hide somewhere but wow I never thought I would find anyone who would be able to really tackle this thing!

I'll tell you tomorrow how it goes!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-04-13, 13:31
TimW's Avatar
TimW TimW is offline
MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The recesses of my mind!
Posts: 46,434
Thanks: 430
Thanked 4,580 Times in 4,334 Posts
Default Re: I can't get rid of the "Claro Search" startpage in FireFox.

Do let me know. In the meantime:

If you are not having any other malware problems, it is time to do our final steps:
  1. We recommend you keep Malwarebytes Anti-Malware for scanning/removal of malware. You can uninstall RogueKiller and HitManPro.
  2. Go back to step 4 of the READ ME and renable your Disk Emulation software with Defogger if you had disabled it.
  3. Any other miscellaneous tools we may have had you install or download can be uninstalled and deleted.
  4. If running Vista or Win 7, it is time to make sure you have reenabled UAC by double clicking on the C:\MGtools\enableUAC.reg file and allowing it to be added to the registry.
  5. Go to add/remove programs and uninstall HijackThis.
  6. Goto the C:\MGtools folder and find the MGclean.bat file. Double click on this file to run this cleanup program that will remove files and folders
    related to MGtools and some other items from our cleaning procedures.
  7. After doing the above, you should work thru the below link


Malware removal from a National Chain = $149
Malware removal from MajorGeeks = $0
__________________
Major cake licker.
YCLAHTW, BYCMHD!!

Major Geeks on Facebook

Major Geeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-05-13, 12:36
bibbis bibbis is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I can't get rid of the "Claro Search" startpage in FireFox.

So I've been at it for TWO days now and there are no signs of claro or any other problems!

Thank you so much for your help, I can't thank you ENOUGH!

I think that what you and your colleagues are doing here is amazing.
Taking the time to help people with their often difficult PC problems for free is frickin great.
It can't always be easy to do in writing form but from what I've read here on this forum you guys always seem to greet people with a pleasant attitude, without letting them know how much better you are at this (even though you really ARE).

I may sound too much of a fanboy, but I just want to show you my genuine appreciation. Thank you


I will now go trough your final steps and make sure to follow everything to the letter.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"StartPage" (SSL) the "Safest" Search Engine? grc123 Software 0 08-15-11 01:50
Firefox Popup """" http://ad.yieldmanager.com bismarcktirpitz Software 5 07-16-08 06:05
Firefox Popup """" http://ad.yieldmanager.com bismarcktirpitz Malware Removal 16 01-04-08 15:06
"only the best" "searching the search engines" WIdgetWilson Malware Removal 3 03-03-05 09:23


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:35.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger