MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-04-13, 15:25
gman863's Avatar
gman863 gman863 is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,378
Thanks: 177
Thanked 492 Times in 440 Posts
Default Can't play Blu-Ray - AACS decoding library?

I know Blu-Ray playback issues have been touched on in other threads; however I've tried most of the possible solutions in them and am at my wit's end.

I upgraded a Toshiba notebook w/ Win 7 32-bit with a BD-ROM-CD/DVD+RW internal drive. The computer recognizes the drive and states it's working properly; however none of the following solutions has worked:

* Shark007 Codecs.
* Cleaning the registry using Advanced System Care
* Pot Media Player
* Disabling and re-enabling the drive (suggested in a Microsoft TechNet post)

I tried VLC media player; however it gives me an error message stating "it needs a library for AACS decoding; your system does not have it."

How do I find a library for AACS decoding? The only things I've found in the downloads section are programs that remove AACS decoding for copying.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 02-04-13, 17:18
plodr's Avatar
plodr plodr is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: at my computer
Posts: 14,127
Thanks: 193
Thanked 2,555 Times in 2,369 Posts
Default Re: Can't play Blu-Ray - AACS decoding library?

VLC http://www.majorgeeks.com/VLC_media_player_d4674.html
did you check if you have these files?
http://vlc-bluray.whoknowsmy.name/

PotPlayer http://www.majorgeeks.com/PotPlayer_d7224.html
I never used this so I'm not sure what to check.
__________________
7" ASUS eeepc lubuntu 14.04
Aspire V5 7 HomePremium
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-04-13, 18:33
gman863's Avatar
gman863 gman863 is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,378
Thanks: 177
Thanked 492 Times in 440 Posts
Default Re: Can't play Blu-Ray - AACS decoding library?

Plodr,

Thanks for the advice. Unfortunately, following the steps in http://vlc-bluray.whoknowsmy.name/ did not work - I still get an error message.

Also tried Pot Player, didn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-04-13, 19:56
plodr's Avatar
plodr plodr is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: at my computer
Posts: 14,127
Thanks: 193
Thanked 2,555 Times in 2,369 Posts
Default Re: Can't play Blu-Ray - AACS decoding library?

Then you might have to buy a program to play Blu-ray.
__________________
7" ASUS eeepc lubuntu 14.04
Aspire V5 7 HomePremium
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-05-13, 08:24
mcsmc mcsmc is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,661
Thanks: 150
Thanked 293 Times in 272 Posts
Default Re: Can't play Blu-Ray - AACS decoding library?

Hi,

Not sure which version of VLC you tried, but the "nightly"/beta is the only one that is supposed to actually play BDs. If you choose to install it, I'd recommend uninstalling the version of VLC you currently have installed. I haven't tried it, so I honestly can't guarantee that it works, but here is a download link if you'd like to give it a shot:

http://vlc-media-player-nightly-64bit.en.softonic.com/
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 04-24-13, 12:28
Harald12 Harald12 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Can't play Blu-Ray - AACS decoding library?

I have a question on this topic. I have put KEYDB.cfg file in roaming folder: username/appdata/roaming and the AASC file in program/videolan/vlc folder to play blu ray discs on an external blu ray drive with VLC media player but the player says when i try to load/start G: (the external blu ray drive) :blu ray error (something) missing keys? . I run windows 8 pro 32 bit and i have (i think) downloaded the right 32 bit AASC file, what can i do to make it work to play the blu ray disc? Thankful for answers.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-04-13, 12:38
peterjack peterjack is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Can't play Blu-Ray - AACS decoding library?

You can use VLC to play Blu-Ray on Windows 8, but you will need to download and place the AACS and BD+ DRM libraries and keys in order to play Blu Ray on Windows 8.

There a step-by-step guide from UFUSoft i find on google about how to Play Blu-Ray with VLC in Windows 8 64-bit/32-bit that may help you to play Blu-Ray for free.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-04-13, 19:47
Just Playin's Avatar
Just Playin Just Playin is online now
Major Geek
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: At the bottom of Bass Lake
Posts: 3,828
Thanks: 67
Thanked 303 Times in 263 Posts
Default Re: Can't play Blu-Ray - AACS decoding library?

Some newer movies have BD+ DRM and VLC still can't play them.
__________________
The most dangerous man in the world is the one with nothing to lose.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-08-13, 23:15
techster techster is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Can't play Blu-Ray - AACS decoding library?

I tried the latest version of VLC and also VLC night version 2.2

I installed the KEYDB.cfg file as directed into the %appdata%/aacs folder.

I installed the 64 bit version of libaacs.dll since I am running the nightly VLC (64-bit), but I tried with the 32-bit version just in case and still the same problem:

Blu-ray error:
This Blu-ray Disc needs a library for AACS decoding, and your system does not have it.
Your input can't be opened:
VLC is unable to open the MRL 'bluray:///D:/'. Check the log for details.

I'm running Windows 7.

Suggestions greatly appreciated, since this is getting frustrating.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-09-13, 10:56
Just Playin's Avatar
Just Playin Just Playin is online now
Major Geek
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: At the bottom of Bass Lake
Posts: 3,828
Thanks: 67
Thanked 303 Times in 263 Posts
Default Re: Can't play Blu-Ray - AACS decoding library?

Quote:
Originally Posted by techster View Post
I tried the latest version of VLC and also VLC night version 2.2

I installed the KEYDB.cfg file as directed into the %appdata%/aacs folder.

I installed the 64 bit version of libaacs.dll since I am running the nightly VLC (64-bit), but I tried with the 32-bit version just in case and still the same problem:

Blu-ray error:
This Blu-ray Disc needs a library for AACS decoding, and your system does not have it.
Your input can't be opened:
VLC is unable to open the MRL 'bluray:///D:/'. Check the log for details.

I'm running Windows 7.

Suggestions greatly appreciated, since this is getting frustrating.
Some newer movies have BD+ DRM in addition to AACS DRM and VLC still can't play them.
__________________
The most dangerous man in the world is the one with nothing to lose.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 11-09-13, 11:08
techster techster is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Can't play Blu-Ray - AACS decoding library?

Ok thanks.

That is good to know, but as it turns out that was not the problem I was having.

When trying to write the 64-bit libaacs.dll file into the VLC directory, I was actually not reading this pop up. It started with "This file already exists in this directory, do you want to wite...etc.". I have seen such messages in Windows many times before when it warns you that you are going to write over an existing file. However, after much painstaking troubleshooting, I finally read the popup msg to the end and saw that it ended with "...write it to <another directory>?"

So it was never overwriting the 32-bit libaacs.dll file in the VLC directory because I needed administrator permission. However, when saving during a download, it never asks for that, it just gives the option to write it somewhere else.

I went as administrator and hand pasted the file into that directory and now all is well

Last edited by techster; 11-09-13 at 11:10.. Reason: typos
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My iTunes library won't play following iTunes download BigLes46 Software 1 01-09-10 16:53
MIME decoding DukOfURL Software 0 01-14-09 08:47
IP Addy Decoding seashellgal.com Software 1 06-26-06 14:54
Hexadecimal decoding?? MaxWade Software 2 07-07-03 02:32
Hexadecimal decoding?? MaxWade Software 3 07-06-03 00:54


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:40.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger