MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-11-04, 16:22
Tomas Tomas is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question ZoneAlarm Expert Firewall Rules?

Hi everyone, I hope I can get some help here with this question, as I'm new to ZoneAlarm and have yet to understand how to create expert rules, and ZoneLabs User Forums haven't helped much. My question is this. I have ZoneAlarm 4.5, and wish to know how to create a expert rule, to say block port 3100 for example. ZoneAlarm is suppose to allow the creation of expert firewall rules to block/open ports, but how is this done? Any help on this would be great, thank you.
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 04-11-04, 22:00
chaslang's Avatar
chaslang chaslang is offline
MajorGeeks Admin - Master Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Northern New Jersey USA
Posts: 80,768
Thanks: 62
Thanked 7,835 Times in 4,253 Posts
Default

I have ZA Pro but I have not played with any settings in this area. However it looks like you select:

Firewall->Expert

and then in the Protocol box you select Modify and then Add. This is where you can define the Protocol and the source and destination ports. Hope this leads you in the right direction. As I said I really have not done anything with these settings myself.
  #3  
Old 04-12-04, 04:15
highly_volatile's Avatar
highly_volatile highly_volatile is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 144
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I to have Zonealarm pro. and like chaslang i haven't played with these setting. Have you used the help option that comes with ZA ?
  #4  
Old 04-13-04, 00:38
Tomas Tomas is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yup, I have checked through that, but don't understand how to add a port you wish to block, I've tried writing one, but it doesn't seem to work, as my test port is still open, though I stated to block any attempts to it. I'll figure this out eventually, lol..
  #5  
Old 04-13-04, 11:23
dsbnh's Avatar
dsbnh dsbnh is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xflat
...I feel your pain man! Sort of a maze isn't it......anyway in the support forum for ZA Pro a person was asking the same question...block a specific port.....this is the mods reply.........
You don't need to set ZoneAlarm to block ports, by placing the network in the internet zone and putting the internet zone slider on high, you block all those ports.

Did you give server rights to programs like Generic Host Processes and explorer.exe? If you did, you should give them X's.
-------------------------
Very useful to know for me as well, thank you. Just give Generic Host Processes Xs to server rights or internet rights as well?
__________________
Specs: P4 2.26Ghz, 512mb RAM, 120GB HD, ATI 9600. O/S: WinXP ServPack 1
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 04-13-04, 21:56
dsbnh's Avatar
dsbnh dsbnh is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sounds great, I will just have to enable at least access to the internet for it when I use windows update (since it doesn't seem to work without it). That's all.
__________________
Specs: P4 2.26Ghz, 512mb RAM, 120GB HD, ATI 9600. O/S: WinXP ServPack 1
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Problems with IE and Firewall reesa Software 7 03-22-04 13:17
I need help with locating XP firewall Pearl Software 13 03-06-04 01:47
firewall for wireless green_newbie Software 3 02-12-04 15:19
Firewall rules ? Vision Master Hardware 1 06-05-03 14:51


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:07.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger