MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 04-30-05, 18:37
Steak and Eggs's Avatar
Steak and Eggs Steak and Eggs is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Foldsville
Posts: 130
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Folding@Home - Client types Roundup & Tweaking!

running the windows console version on a linux(overclockix 3.7) rig using WINE also seems to be doing quite well for me. 600 point Gromacs only takes about 2.5days or so
__________________
I like to fold :D
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #22  
Old 01-08-06, 20:35
otter_60's Avatar
otter_60 otter_60 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Specifying your Team # if you already have the client installed

For the Screen-Saver version of the client, if you want to change your Team Number (or specify one if you never did - in which case it might be zero), then do the following:
  1. Right-mouse click on the Folding Icon in System Tray.
  2. Select "Configure...".
  3. In the "Team number: " field, change whatever number is in there to 12072.
Happy Folding!

O
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-08-06, 20:49
otter_60's Avatar
otter_60 otter_60 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Specifying your Team # if you already have the client installed

BTW, the reason for my previous post...

I've been running Folding@Home for several years, and I don't really pay much attention to it, except for checking my stats once-in-a-while. I used the MajGeeks site this weekend to help me get rid of a LOT of malware on a friends PC. I saw the MG Folding Team and decided to join. But it was difficult figuring-out how to designate my Team # (since I had installed it ages ago), so when I finally figured-it-out, I made this post.

SO... if you guys can make this information more readily available to Folding-old-timers, you might get a lot more Team members.

Happy Folding!

O
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-18-07, 09:04
Burning_Monkey's Avatar
Burning_Monkey Burning_Monkey is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Middle of nowhere Iowa
Posts: 1,083
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default Re: Folding@Home - Client types Roundup & Wweaking!

Quote:
Originally Posted by goldfish View Post
http://www.bluetentacle.co.uk/dc/fahservice.htm
A GUI to install FAH as a Service without FireDaemon.
This is what I am using to run my F@H as a service. I could use a bit of help on how to optimize my folding at this point.

I have been going along pretty stable for a bit now and feel the need to shake the box up and see what I can make faster :D

Seeing as I am running pretty stable right now, I am some what loath to just throw the hood open and start mucking about on my own, which is why I am asking for the help.
__________________
If Tyranny and Oppression come to this land, it will be in the guise of fighting a foreign enemy.
James Madison

My plans to live forever are going along, so far, so good.
Me
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-07-07, 15:07
jarcher's Avatar
jarcher jarcher is offline
I can't handle a title
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: in morbid fear
Posts: 3,758
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Folding@Home - Client types Roundup & Tweaking!

for those interested. . that page has moved

http://devel.bluetentacle.co.uk/inde...vice-installer
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #26  
Old 09-27-07, 18:58
BCGray
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Folding@Home - Client types Roundup & Tweaking!

Tip sheet that I found on another site, that I feel could be of use to us all

Best Clients

1. SMP client (Native Linux/OSX)
2. SMP client (Windows with Linux under VMWare)
3. SMP client (Windows)
4. GPU no-nonsense console client (Windows)
5. GPU GUI client (Windows)
6. No-nonsense console client (Windows or Linux)
7. GUI client (Windows)

Best Operating System

1. Linux/OSX
2. Windows with Linux under VMWare
3. Windows

Best CPU Hardware

1. Quad Core Clovertown Xeons with 1333FSB
2. Quad Core Clovertown Xeons with 1067FSB
3. Quad Core Kentsfield
4. Dual Core Woodcrest Xeon with 1333FSB
5. Dual Core Woodcrest Xeon with 1067FSB
6. Core 2 Duo (larger cache and/or faster FSB are better)
7. Dual Core AMD Opteron, larger cache sizes are best
8. Core Duo Mobile
9. AMD 64 x2, larger cache sizes are best
10. Core Solo Mobile
11. Pentium M (Dothan) with 2mb cache
12. Pentium M (Banias) with 1mb cache
13. Single Core AMD 64
14. Older Pentium 4 Netburst Architecture, larger cache sizes are best
15. Older Pentium Mobile
16. Celerys and Simper-ons

Obviously the higher the clock speed the better. There will be some overlaps between processor classes, for example a high-end DC Opteron will smoke a low-end Core 2. Similarly, 2x Dual Core Woodcrests will outperform a single Core 2 Quad because of the extra cache and the higher memory bandwidth of the duallie motherboard. Pretty much all of these CPUs can be overclocked; however the Xeons are for experts only.

Best GPU Hardware

1. ATI Radeon X1950XTX with DDR4
2. As above with DDR3
3. ATI Radeon X1900 series
4. ATI Radeon X1950Pro
5. ATI Radeon X1800 series

I haven't tried all of these so beware. 512MB GPUs are more productive than their 256MB counterparts; same is true of DDR4 memory over DDR2/3.

Best Memory Configuration

1. Four FB-DIMMs in Quad Channel mode
2. Two DDR2s in Dual Channel mode
3. Two DDRs in Dual Channel mode
4. Four DDR2s Dual Channel
5. Four DDRs Dual Channel
6. One or three DDR2s
7. One or three DDRs

In all cases you should have at least 1GB (2x 512) of memory. If running VMWare, you will need at least 2GB (2x1GB). With Quad Cores, shoot for 4GB if possible.

Latency matters, the lower the better, but it�s less important than clock speed. DDR2-800 with CAS4 is the minimum you should shoot for if it�s a new build. DDR2-1067 if you can afford it.

Best Client Mix

1. 2x Quad Core Xeons � Four SMP clients and (optional) one GPU client
2. 1x Quad Core C2D � Two SMP clients and (optional) one GPU client
3. 2x Dual Core Xeons - Two SMP clients and (optional) one GPU client
4. High-end Dual Core machines � One SMP client
5. Mid-range Dual Core machines with SLI or Crossfire � Two GPU clients
6. All other Dual Core machines � One SMP client
7. High-end Single Core machines � One Console client
8. Low-end Single Core machines � One GPU client

The above assumes non-Windows SMP clients. You should only consider the Windows SMP client if you can�t get VMWare working, or don�t have enough RAM to support VMWare.

Never mind that Stanford recommend four cores per CPU client, it runs fine on two. Your low end machine (Celery, Simperon etc) still has value and is best used as a mule for a GPU. The X1950Pro is good value, the X1950XTX has the most power. If you have a mid range dual core machine, and two PCIe slots with at least 8 lanes each, then two GPU clients (on two GPUs) will probably outperform one SMP client. All other dualies with one PCIe slot are best used for an SMP client.

Look out for electricity cost. Any of the Mobile chips on a Desktop mobo will save you money. After that, the Core architecture is best, followed by the AMD, with Intel P4/Xeon Netburst bringing up the rear. The best Points Per Day per Watt comes from the Clovertown Xeons and the Kentsfield Quad; the worst is from the P4 Netburst and Celeri.

Last if you are overclocking, don't push it too far. An unstable OC will cost you points and waste Stanfords time.

Now if you want this as a seperate "Sticky" please let me know
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09-28-07, 10:08
shanemail's Avatar
shanemail shanemail is offline
Fold On
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Albany, Western Australia
Posts: 1,803
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Folding@Home - Client types Roundup & Tweaking!

Sounds like good advice, should be a sticky

Well done BCGray you are doing a great job

If you have a spare
Quad Core Clovertown Xeon with 1333FSB
a couple of ATI Radeon X1950XTX's with DDR4
and a quad channel mobo
to spare, I promise to put them to good use :D

DDR4 and quad channel ?
think I've been living under a rock :o
__________________
"destroy the mind-destroy the body-but you cannot destroy the heart" - Smashing Pumpkins
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09-28-07, 10:54
BCGray
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Folding@Home - Client types Roundup & Tweaking!

Thanks shanemail.......if I had a few spare of those Bro I'd gladly give them to any Major Geek Team member, but then I also wouldn't be down at #53 I'd be up there with C.P. and the gang.


Just a note Gang, the Major just went up another point on the charts were at #82 WaaaaaHooo way to go gang
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-05-08, 22:00
discboy321 discboy321 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Madison wi
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Folding@Home - Client types Roundup & Tweaking!

So you have my interest. However I completely have no idea what I need to do to get started. What program do I need to install?

Update I went ahead to this site "http://devel.bluetentacle.co.uk/index.php?page=gui-based-installer" and installed and opened. Seems to be working ....started to ask questions in Dos window , which I did and have it installed to run at start up since I have dsl. Anyone have any more sites I can read on about this?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-05-08, 22:36
Fred_G's Avatar
Fred_G Fred_G is offline
Heat packin' geek
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 8,465
Thanks: 252
Thanked 702 Times in 620 Posts
Default Re: Folding@Home - Client types Roundup & Tweaking!

Quote:
Originally Posted by discboy321 View Post
So you have my interest. However I completely have no idea what I need to do to get started. What program do I need to install?

Update I went ahead to this site "http://devel.bluetentacle.co.uk/index.php?page=gui-based-installer" and installed and opened. Seems to be working ....started to ask questions in Dos window , which I did and have it installed to run at start up since I have dsl. Anyone have any more sites I can read on about this?
That most likely will not have you folding for MajorGeek's team. I would go here: http://folding.stanford.edu/English/Download and download the client of your choice. You need to enter your user name, and the team number you wish to fold for in the Dos window if you use the console version. MajorGeek's team number is 12072.

The Stanford site (see link) has forums and FAQ's. If you have any questions, post them. And even though I fold on another team, thanks for Folding! Always good to get new folks involved.

Oh yeah, what kind of 'puter are you folding on? Some versions will only work on certain computers. Post the specs of your system, and we can recommend the correct folding program for you.

E
__________________
Blessed be the Lord, my rock, who trains my hands for war, and my fingers for battle. Psalm 144:1
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #31  
Old 02-05-08, 22:54
discboy321 discboy321 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Madison wi
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Folding@Home - Client types Roundup & Tweaking!

I built it myself from spare parts I had. I do have a Dell 8400 tricked and modded but no longer dsl connected.

CPU Type AMD Athlon XP, 2166 MHz (13 x 167) 2700+
CPU Alias Thoroughbred-B
CPU Stepping B0
Instruction Set x86, MMX, 3DNow!, SSE
L1 Code Cache 64 KB
L1 Data Cache 64 KB
L2 Cache 256 KB (On-Die, Full-Speed)


Memory Slots
DRAM Slot #1 512 MB (DDR SDRAM)
DRAM Slot #2 256 MB (DDR SDRAM)
DRAM Slot #3 512 MB (DDR SDRAM)
.
Field Value
Computer
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
OS Service Pack Service Pack 2
DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)

Motherboard
CPU Type AMD Athlon XP, 2166 MHz (13 x 167) 2700+
Motherboard Name Gigabyte GA-7S748 (5 PCI, 1 AGP, 3 DDR DIMM, Audio)
Motherboard Chipset SiS 748
System Memory 1280 MB (DDR SDRAM)
BIOS Type Award Modular (08/30/04)
.)

Display
Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 4000 (Microsoft Corporation) (128 MB)
3D Accelerator nVIDIA GeForce4 MX 4000
Monitor Plug and Play Monitor [NoDB] (ETL4908429)

.

Storage
IDE Controller SiS PCI IDE Controller
Floppy Drive Floppy disk drive
Disk Drive WDC WD600BB-00CAA1 (55 GB, IDE)
Disk Drive Maxtor 6L300R0 (300 GB, 7200 RPM, Ultra-ATA/133)
Disk Drive WDC WD1600BB-22DAA0 USB Device (149 GB, USB)
Optical Drive DVDRW IDE 16X
Optical Drive TSSTcorp DVD-ROM TS-H352A (16x/48x DVD-ROM)
SMART Hard Disks Status OK

Partitions
C: (NTFS) 57239 MB (32238 MB free)
F: (NTFS) 286181 MB (110352 MB free)
G: (FAT32) 152588 MB (59497 MB free)
Total Size 484.4 GB (197.4 GB free)

.
.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 02-05-08, 23:15
Fred_G's Avatar
Fred_G Fred_G is offline
Heat packin' geek
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 8,465
Thanks: 252
Thanked 702 Times in 620 Posts
Default Re: Folding@Home - Client types Roundup & Tweaking!

You should be good to go with the regular console program. http://folding.stanford.edu/English/Download

Great job deciding to fold! I would look into your RAM setup, you may not be running dual channel.

From your motherboard's manual:

Support Unbuffered DDR DIMM Sizes type:
64 Mbit (2Mx8x4 banks) 64 Mbit (1Mx16x4 banks) 128 Mbit(4Mx8x4 banks)
128 Mbit(2Mx16x4 banks) 256 Mbit(8Mx8x4 banks) 256 Mbit(4Mx16x4 banks)
512 Mbit(16Mx8x4 banks) 512 Mbit(8Mx16x4 banks)

Did not copy too well, here is a link http://www.gigabyte.co.nz/Support/Mo...l&FileID=15885

E
__________________
Blessed be the Lord, my rock, who trains my hands for war, and my fingers for battle. Psalm 144:1
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 02-06-08, 01:26
discboy321 discboy321 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Madison wi
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Folding@Home - Client types Roundup & Tweaking!

ok Thanks for everyones help. I do not mean to ask too many questions but is there a way to tweak the program a little. Right now its using 100 per cent of cpu and I would like to bring that down to about 75 - 80 per cent.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 02-06-08, 08:11
Fred_G's Avatar
Fred_G Fred_G is offline
Heat packin' geek
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 8,465
Thanks: 252
Thanked 702 Times in 620 Posts
Default Re: Folding@Home - Client types Roundup & Tweaking!

If you are using the console client, you need to re-run the setup and select YES when asked it you want to change the advanced features. You should be able to adjust it there.

Any particular reason you don't want it at 100%?

Oh yeah, here is a link for you: http://forums.majorgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=38418

E
__________________
Blessed be the Lord, my rock, who trains my hands for war, and my fingers for battle. Psalm 144:1
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 06-17-08, 18:17
dnnyo's Avatar
dnnyo dnnyo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: milwaukee,wi./ tucson,az.
Posts: 166
Thanks: 105
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Thumbs up Re: Folding@Home - Client types Roundup & Tweaking!

Quote:
Originally Posted by discboy321 View Post
ok Thanks for everyones help. I do not mean to ask too many questions but is there a way to tweak the program a little. Right now its using 100 per cent of cpu and I would like to bring that down to about 75 - 80 per cent.
I'm only a private, but I say don't worry, it automatically only takes up space that you don't use!... I know this because I been watching my Task manager and when I click on an email i.e. ...the CPU usage for F at H just drops down... and then comes back up to speed while I read my email...
__________________
dnnyo...I have to hurry and catch up with the others, for I am their leader.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #36  
Old 06-17-08, 18:20
dnnyo's Avatar
dnnyo dnnyo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: milwaukee,wi./ tucson,az.
Posts: 166
Thanks: 105
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default Re: Folding@Home - Client types Roundup & Tweaking!

I think I learned you can't put an attachment in a quote?
__________________
dnnyo...I have to hurry and catch up with the others, for I am their leader.

Last edited by dnnyo; 06-17-08 at 18:24.. Reason: attachment?
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 06-21-08, 15:17
dnnyo's Avatar
dnnyo dnnyo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: milwaukee,wi./ tucson,az.
Posts: 166
Thanks: 105
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Question Re: Folding@Home - Client types Roundup & Tweaking!

I think I got stuck? according to task manager, Folding is running good, but the mem usage stat hasn't changed all day, is this normal? I'd like to reinstall, but I don't wanna lose data that's already here. I guess I don't understand when does Stanford collect this data? I'm hesitant about opening files that I don't know what they are or what I'm doing...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg sshot-1task manager2.jpg (57.8 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg sshot-1task manager3.jpg (53.4 KB, 13 views)
__________________
dnnyo...I have to hurry and catch up with the others, for I am their leader.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 06-21-08, 16:25
Fred_G's Avatar
Fred_G Fred_G is offline
Heat packin' geek
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 8,465
Thanks: 252
Thanked 702 Times in 620 Posts
Default Re: Folding@Home - Client types Roundup & Tweaking!

Check your logs dnnyo. When your computer finishes a Work Unit, it will send the data to Stanford's server. Sometimes there are delays, but they will get the data you crunched, give you a new WU, and you will get credit for the WU. Most of the stat pages update every 3 hours, I assume after Stanford updates.

If you think you have a problem, check your F@H log.

E
__________________
Blessed be the Lord, my rock, who trains my hands for war, and my fingers for battle. Psalm 144:1
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Fred_G For This Useful Post:
dnnyo (06-26-08)
  #39  
Old 09-01-08, 02:34
michael1405 michael1405 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Folding@Home - Client types Roundup & Tweaking!

I need a help, and don't know whom to ask. I get malware named "antivirus XP 2008" and when I tried to clean it up my computer failed to start and I had forced to reinstall Windows. After it I can't open any Windows application - massege is saing me that file.exe is not found in DLL. Please, T help me to overcome this problem! Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 09-01-08, 14:26
Cat_w_9_lives's Avatar
Cat_w_9_lives Cat_w_9_lives is offline
Major KittyCat
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,854
Thanks: 19
Thanked 111 Times in 109 Posts
Default Re: Folding@Home - Client types Roundup & Tweaking!

Hello and welcome to MajorGeeks Michael, you will get more help if you post your question in the Software Forum here: http://forums.majorgeeks.com/forumdisplay.php?f=21
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger