MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-08-04, 19:29
plecostos plecostos is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default 2.8ghz p4 overclock

My shuttle mobo came with really crudy overclocking features in the BIOS, even though it said it had better. Updated Bios, no help. all the bios has is a fsb changer, and at about 153fsb windows starts screwing up.

my question: is their a way to manually change things like voltage on the cpu? or is their some software that can do these things?

i know chances are slim that i'll get anything with this post...


2.8ghz D0 p4 @ 3023.522
512mb pc2700
AV49N shuttle
Radeon 7500 (dont laugh)
80gb WD 8mb
420w raidmax
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 09-09-04, 13:45
Strogg's Avatar
Strogg Strogg is offline
5-Star Freakin' Geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Central/North/Somewhere in/Around CA
Posts: 856
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: 2.8ghz p4 overclock

first off, did you lock the pci frequencies? it's important to do so since that may be the key cause for instability. just a thought.

there is a way to manualy change the voltage, and that's by shorting a few pins on the P4, fooling it to getting more voltage. try it at your own risk too.
__________________
everyone go install linux!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-09-04, 14:10
Ironsnipe's Avatar
Ironsnipe Ironsnipe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 189
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: 2.8ghz p4 overclock

Yeah the fsb is about all you can bump up on a p4. Unfortunately the multiplier is factory locked. See if your bios has a vcore setting and do minimal increases in it if it does. Too much at once and you could fry the sucka. Also see if the mobo has a pci lock feature to lock the frequencies of the pci slots to 33mhz or whatever this is.
__________________
2006 Audi A3 2.0TFSi 6 Speed Manual
'Tis my second love only to the girl
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-09-04, 16:06
plecostos plecostos is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: 2.8ghz p4 overclock

all the bios has is a pci lock and fsb frequency.

thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-10-04, 00:57
Ironsnipe's Avatar
Ironsnipe Ironsnipe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 189
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: 2.8ghz p4 overclock

No problem and that's all you need for overclocking until you hit the ceiling of not being able to up the voltage. But that's really dangerous and you need really nice cooling to be able to up the voltage without serious damage.
__________________
2006 Audi A3 2.0TFSi 6 Speed Manual
'Tis my second love only to the girl
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29.


MajorGeeks.Com Home Page
| Admin Tools | All In One | Anti-Spyware | Anti-Virus | Appearance | Backup | Benchmarking | BIOS | Browsers | Covert Ops |
Data Recovery | Diagnostics | Drive Cleaners | Drive Utilities | Drivers | Driver Tools Ergonomics | Firewalls | Games | Game Tweaks | Graphics | Input Devices | Internet Tools | Macintosh | Mail Utilities | Memory | Messaging | Monitoring | Microsoft | Multimedia | Networking | Office Tools | Process Management | Processor | Registry | Security | System Info | Toys | Video | Miscellaneous
|
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger