MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-05, 08:34
Bytor64 Bytor64 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Monitor loses signal and computer reboots

Monitor will loses it's signal and the computer will reboot. Mostly it does this while on the internet. Thought I had a virus so I Reformatted the harddrive. This morning still doing it. My first thought was the video card but now I'not sure.

Pentium III 700
256 ram
Geforce 2 GTS
300 watt pwr supply
Abit Be 6 R2
soundblaster live
optiquest 19 monitor
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 01-02-05, 09:48
ardebaran ardebaran is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Monitor loses signal and computer reboots

you must check with another video card... it must be the video card. The video card is AGP or PCI, MB ? You must check your Psu too !!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-05, 13:03
Bytor64 Bytor64 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Monitor loses signal and computer reboots

Replaced video card with an older one I had. Still doing it. : ::
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-05, 13:13
ardebaran ardebaran is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Monitor loses signal and computer reboots

hmmm do you have another power supply, how much time do you have with it? it can be the Psu. too !!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-02-05, 13:16
Bytor64 Bytor64 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Monitor loses signal and computer reboots

I think I'll buy another computer
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 01-02-05, 18:26
Doby Doby is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Central Pa (USA)
Posts: 464
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Monitor loses signal and computer reboots

Could also be a bad monitor, although rare I have seen a bad monitor crash windows 98.

Rick
__________________
Abit KV7,Award bios version1.0,AMD Athlon 2500XP,512Mb pc3200,Thermaltake Volcano12 hsf,Geforce FX 5200,80G Maxtor,40G maxtor,LG 52x24x52cdrw,floppy,Mid tower,Nexus fan controller,Antec true 430w psu,Sound Blaster 16,Windows XP,sp2
--------------------------------------------
Abit KV8 pro,Award bios version 17,Amd64 3400+ Clawhammer,Thermaltake Venus 12 hsf, 1G Corsair pc3200,Ultra XConnect 500w psu,Nexus fan controller,WD 80G hd,Asus 52x32x52cdrw,floppy,Windows XP,sp2
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-03-05, 08:37
angelicus5aok's Avatar
angelicus5aok angelicus5aok is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Monitor loses signal and computer reboots

yeah....that usually fixes the problem. try the screen change first. I had the same problem with win98se was the Video card.....xp found the ulprit 12 seconds after installing it !

if you still want to change, then try
TIGERDIRECT.COM

Get a good deal there, but look out for refurbished. they work, but you may want new.

Barebones is the route to go, may cost a bit more, but worth it.

you can pick your chip (amd XP for me)
your hard drive. Western Digital for myu use (constant switching and gamming)
and memmory....make sure you read board specifications BEFORE you choose memory. you may want to go with a smaller ampount for some (and relly on SWAP for the rest) or if the board allows, 500+ MB, using minimal SWAP.

Sound card, make sure it is compatible with the board as for video card.


Here is a good way to do it (i use AMD so go to AMD and see the board configs and which they work with best.. they are impartial and they give you a description of all the combos posible from asus to Zytech...


last, for partitioning.I found this system works for most users (i do computers for friends who got them from pc richards gateway etc....)
Drive
c: system - about 2.5 gigs for 98 (3.5 for Xp
d: swap - Abotu 1.5-3 gigs (same 98/xp)
e: prorams
__________________
try try again until you become a master.

If that fails, Hire someone.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-03-05, 08:37
angelicus5aok's Avatar
angelicus5aok angelicus5aok is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Monitor loses signal and computer reboots

yeah....that usually fixes the problem. try the screen change first. I had the same problem with win98se was the Video card.....xp found the ulprit 12 seconds after installing it !

if you still want to change, then try
TIGERDIRECT.COM

Get a good deal there, but look out for refurbished. they work, but you may want new.

Barebones is the route to go, may cost a bit more, but worth it.

you can pick your chip (amd XP for me)
your hard drive. Western Digital for myu use (constant switching and gamming)
and memmory....make sure you read board specifications BEFORE you choose memory. you may want to go with a smaller ampount for some (and relly on SWAP for the rest) or if the board allows, 500+ MB, using minimal SWAP.

Sound card, make sure it is compatible with the board as for video card.


Here is a good way to do it (i use AMD so go to AMD and see the board configs and which they work with best.. they are impartial and they give you a description of all the combos posible from asus to Zytech...


last, for partitioning.I found this system works for most users (i do computers for friends who got them from pc richards gateway etc....)
Drive
c: system - about 2.5 gigs for 98 (3.5 for Xp
d: swap - Abotu 1.5-3 gigs (same 98/xp)
e: prorams
__________________
try try again until you become a master.

If that fails, Hire someone.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-03-05, 08:59
angelicus5aok's Avatar
angelicus5aok angelicus5aok is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Monitor loses signal and computer reboots

C: Ststem 98/xp 3-4 gigs (respectively)
d: swap 1.5-3 gigs
e: Prgrams 5-8 gigs
f: games/media 1 gig oper game/ music guestimate needed)
g: downloads


If 98/xp on same drive

c: system 98 3 gigs fat32
d: swap (both) 3 gigs fat32
e: programs98 4 gigs (unless youneed more) fat 32
f: programs xp 4 gigs nfs
g: music 6-10 gigs fat32
h: System xp 4 gigs nfs




Sound card and video card MUST be compatible with the Mother Board, not win98 or xp.....and learn where the shared IRQ's are and do not use sound on shared. Video is AGP if PCI, not shared too.

Install 98 first, then update, defrag, reboot.
Then Install XP separate drive...update, defrag

Then programs 98/ then xp...update defrag.
then games....defrag
then transfer music files and you are one with a kickas home based system


Good luck and print this for reference when shopping.



See ya
__________________
try try again until you become a master.

If that fails, Hire someone.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-04-05, 07:25
Bytor64 Bytor64 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Monitor loses signal and computer reboots

It was the power supply! Thanks again for everyone's input.

Charlie
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 01-04-05, 08:25
Sgtmackenzie's Avatar
Sgtmackenzie Sgtmackenzie is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 90
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Monitor loses signal and computer reboots

Quote:
Originally Posted by angelicus5aok
if you still want to change, then try
TIGERDIRECT.COM
Be careful when working with Tigerdirect to purchase anything. Some prices may seem too good to be true and they are. A buddy of mine and my Dad both got good deals, but it's been 6 months now and neither of them have seen a single rebate.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:30.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger