Power LED lit on ABIT NF7-S but nothing

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Momadu, Jan 10, 2005.

1. Momadu

Momadu Private E-2

Hello,

Could someone please offer a little help. I am new to the computer building thing. It seems like a great hobby. This site has been a great help for all my computer needs.

So, I started to build my computer I connected the motherboard, graphics card (Radeon 9600 XT), 512 RAM, PCU (AMD Barton 2800), and heatsink. I connected the appropriate power connectors.

When it became time to powerup for the first time I got nothing...No completely.
    The red power LED1 on the motherboard lights up and remains glowing. So poiwer reaches the board however, when I push the power on button on the fron of the computer the green Led2 on the mobo lights and the blue front panel light lights up for about 1 second and then goes dead. I get nothing else. The fans do not even turn. The fan on the back of the case seems to be independent of the mobo. It is connected via a special power connector labeled "Fan only" it does not turn either.

Any ideas? Let me know if you need more info. I appriciate any help. Thanks

2. mcadam

mcadam Major Amnesia

Sounds like your psu (power supply unit) is dead, can you try another one, say borrow one off a friend? Also, you may not have a suitable psu for your graphics card and processor, what wattage is your current one?

3. Toke

Toke MajorGeek

Check with the Mobo manufaturers manual and see if Mobo requires the extra 12 volt connection as well as your ATX multi power connector. The extra 12 volt is a block of 4 leads and you can easily spot connection on Mobo it has a snap clip to hold it there like the larger one..

4. Momadu

Momadu Private E-2