SATA Hard Drives

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jughedd, Feb 13, 2005.

1. jughedd

jughedd Private E-2

I am about to format my ATA hard drives (200gb & 40GB) & reinstall WinXP SP2. I have been given the chance to purchase 2 brand new SATA 10,000RPM Hard Drives for 25% of their retail value. My ASUS motherboard has the capability to support these drives in a Raid0 array. I have no experience with these drives & need some advice. Do I install WinXp on them? What about my games? Are there jumpers to set? How do i configure the jumpers on my 2 original Hard Drives? Is one a master & one a slave (like now)? Or, are they both now slaves? Are the SATA Drives now Drive C & Drive D? Or, are they seen as one drive in a Raid 0 array? Are my 2 Ata Drives now DriveE & DriveF or what? Any advice & help will be greatly appreciated. Thank You, Jughedd

2. ~Pyrate~

~Pyrate~ MajorGeek

I know the BIOS needs to be configured in order for windows to see them properly, this is different with each mobo ... and you need to have the SATA drivers on a floppy ,,, then hit F6 when it prompts you when windows loads it's drivers when installing ... and I don't know much about RAID

3. ASUS

ASUS MajorGeek

SATA does not use jumpers, I'd run the OS on the sata, 10,000 rpm I would skip the raid but that is up to you.
    The sata would become C & D, with no raid set up. ( with Raid 0, C & the ata's would be D & E)
    The other ata hdd's leave jumpered as they are, they would become E & F.
    If you load the OS on the sata you will need to set in bios too boot from the sata before ata.
    Windows setup,To load sata/raid drivers, boot order needs to be CD before SATA, once windows is installed set the SATA too boot first.
    If you fail to load the sata drivers or load the wrong ones during windows install, your PC will not recognize the sata drives.

If you do run the OS on the sata, when you install windows disconnect the ata's till windows is installed.